Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Altrein's Portal

by MacronCPP - Jam Entry

Altrein's Portal is a tower-defense game about defending The Portal to Human World, which is about to be invaded by a civillization of evil robots. Your quest is to stop them from attacking people on Earth by building multiple traps around The Portal.

Made for Ludum Dare 30 Jam. This is also BlackCode Studio's first 3D game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#306Audio(Jam)3.23
#533Fun(Jam)2.78
#546Humor(Jam)1.96
#561Mood(Jam)2.76
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#630Innovation(Jam)2.54
#651Graphics(Jam)2.65
#663Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

pusheax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

Awesome music. I like graphics, although I would prefer more readable design. Tower defense lacks attack patterns. I don't know which side to defend more against what kind of enemies.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14am

I like tower defense games! You have a pretty solid concept here. It also seems to work fine, and it's fairly easy to understand. My only complaints are about graphics and UI. I find that my eyes hurt a bit while playing (not in a metaphorical way), due to all the flashing and line thing. Also, I find the upgrade menu to be unusable. I can't see what I've highlighted. It seems to have a dark red color, and I can't see what I've selected for upgrading. Still, with a bit of polish, I see this becoming a really great game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Only thing I don't like is I cant see attack direction of enemy. Otherwise is good!

MacronCPP says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

@SeriouslyCrunchy I made it random from edges of map :)

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Made it until wave 6, fun strategy defend game.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

graphics are nice but some optical feedback for shots/damage would've given a more responsive feeling.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09am

The graphical style was fitting. I think the game could use some work in the UI department. It's really difficult to see what I'm upgrading, for example. The music was good, but super quiet for me compared to the sound effects. I think the game would be more interesting if enemies didn't take a straight path to the portal, and if I could see where they're going to come from ahead of time rather than having them come all at once from all directions. Overall the difficulty was pretty easy up until wave 7 at which point it got super hard. Managed to squeak by with 5hp left, though!

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19am

Nice take on a towerdefensegame. the theme felt a little shoe horned in - i guess you guys weren't a great fan of it.
The music was nice and the graphics pretty ok - all i really missed was the ability to build walls to create paths which is my favorite thing in TD-games. Was it a aware decision to strip that feature or was it that you didn't want to bother too much with pathing? Anyways - i made it through your game and saved the world. :D

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

Oh yeah and i liked the UI to place the defenseplates a lot. It was cool that you could select lines and squares. And that it never added more costs if you boxselected over already placed towers.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice UI. The pace felt a little slow. Trap placement rocks.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

I loved the drag select mode for placement of defenses and upgrades, and how the placing/upgrading of defenses worked once I had discovered this feature. It would have been nice to drag in all directions but overall: you created a good, challenging game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting UI for the trap selection. The controls and purchase mechanics took me awhile to figure out.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Wow, that must have been a lot of work for a 48h jam.
That being said, there are lots of things that still need improvement:
- the build/update/delete being a separate screen is really disruptive to the gameplay
- there's not easy way to identify the level of each trap
- even on the easy difficulty, the game suddenly becomes very hard around wave 6: traps that managed to destroy everything easily suddenly don't seem to make any damage.
And I don't really see the relation with the theme.
Anyway, for a first 3d game, that's something already.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Pretty cool. My only qualm is that I couldn't tell which traps were attacking what enemies. Would have been nice to see something indicating they were working.. I was worried at first that they weren't doing anything. :P (Oh.. and a way to tell the level of the upgrade would have been useful, too.)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Can't play on windows... no web ver?

MacronCPP says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

@jomomomo I can write in C++ - Allegro, SFML, OpenGL. I haven't learned nothing to make games with web wersion yet :(.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

This is pretty good :) Like the build interface.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

The music is cool, but it needs more sounds. More than anything else, it needs FEEDBACKS. I didn't know how effective were my traps against different types of enemies.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Music was awesome.
I was missing a lot information like enemy health, damage, attack rate etc. What does a "fast" attack mean? Something more meaningful would help.
The build view was missing a lot of information too. I couldn't see what trap was at what position and which upgrade level they have. Why didn't you use the normal game view for building, selling, upgrading?

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Phew, finished it on hard! It's fun. In my opinion it would be more fun if I could divert the enemies down a path, as in many other tower defence games.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The music is very nice, the game itself is a very strange towerdefense type. Are tile applying damage when ennemies are on them ? no range ? Because if so, i'm not sure of what good a slower tile can be.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:03pm

I like the simplistic graphical style in general, but it is maybe a bit too simplistic as-is. It's really difficult to understand why some enemies die and others don't since there's little feedback about shots fired or enemy health. Still, nicely done for the time given.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]