Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frank and Gerald

by ming_tea - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Meet Sir Gerald.

A knight of the Overworld Temple, he uses his sacred hammer to banish demons to the Underworld. Tough but not so bright.

Meet Frank.

A demonic janitor with a 75-yard field goal, he steps up his efforts to kick out the Underworld's riffraff. The Underworld is a classy kind of evil, you see.

Use left and right to move, press R to restart. Banish demons while running into them. Space moves conversations forward.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Humor3.05
#501Audio2.79
#600Theme3.20
#778Fun2.80
#829Mood2.67
#957Graphics2.45
#992Innovation2.50
#1029Overall2.67
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I liked how you could play two characters, but I didn't always feel that I was in control of my destiny.

KiAn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Best game :)

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I don't really understand, but its a great game!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Funny entry, really well made. Interesting take on the theme and cute graphics! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Cute graphics and quite fun to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Thats funny! Remember me Shovel Knight.. a little. ;)

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Simple, but the story was funny so I kept playing. Unfortunately, the game is too punishing. I think you should just restart a level when you die.

Good job on the game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:24am

Funny idea. :) Restarting the whole thing from the beginning when you lose on the second part was frustrating though.

Also, pressing space to advance the cutscenes did not seem to work immediately.

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:39am

Cool use of the theme. The sound glitches out a bit when you send the last to to heaven/hell but otherwise no issues.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Hi there. Like the axe animation while attacking and music, stained glass windows also cool. Don't like the instant death on up-arrow to second level every time... Tried 3 times. Needs a bit of level design tweaking. Couldn't get past that point.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]