Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seminecata

by kacperski1 - Jam Entry

In Seminecata you play as Clarence, a boy who is trapped in a world featuring an alternate reality.

It is a short point'n'click style game with hand-drawn graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#90Mood(Jam)3.78
#210Theme(Jam)3.54
#240Graphics(Jam)3.73
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#525Humor(Jam)2.05

Comments

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

Very cool and I liked the overall aesthetic.

trackglobal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

I don't like it at all. You should definitely improve your drawing skills, they're just dreadful. The idea was not that bad, however the lack of skills....

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45am

Pretty creepy but a nice, short experience. Great work.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

weird game... I like it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I really liked the game! It made me want to play it again to see if there was anything I have missed. I also like the hand drawn style, because it really surprises you if the picture changes, especially when it is kinda poorly drawn like that.

It could use some more polishing and bug fixing but I know time is short ;)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

This is one of the most fun games I've played on ld 30.
I liked the drawings and how the alternate realities
interact with each other. This concept can be worked on
to a larger scope and seeing an extended version of this
game would be awesome.
I believe this is one of my higher scored entries, well done
with this great little game!

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

The drawings are lush and lovely, but the animations could do with a bit of polish. However, for 72 hours it is admirably pretty -- and creepy.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This game had the creepiest vibe out of that I've played so far this LD. That said, it's obvious you are very creative and were successful in making a great game. Just wish it was a bit longer :)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very nice to play :)

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Really good game. Unique.

Tosic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Creepy and uniqe, not bad!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

nice "pencil" style, others have said they didn't like it, but I actually found it quite charming.

simonnaus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I like how you implemented the theme in two ways.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Also liked the art style - it adds to the atmosphere.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Actually, the way it's drawn is more then appropriate. Expected more from the ending, but visually it might be one of my favorites. Puzzles are simple, but fun to solve. Also good job with animating the main character.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Creepy! I liked the audio a lot and the hand drawn art was a great idea.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really liked the art style. Sound effects were great at creating an atmosphere. Very creepy (in a good way)!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Awesome art. Very creepy!

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Nice graphics, interesting atmosphere. You could pull out a really creepy game from this environment.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Interesting concept. I would like tp see what more you can do with it.

shasharala says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Interesting art assets. It's nice to see something hand-drawn in such a short amount of time.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:58am

I wish I could give more stars for mood. That was fucking terrifying. The story didn't make much sense to me, though, and sometimes Alex's big head was in the way of stuff :< I want to know... was there more than one ending?

waynaul says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:47am

I tried to open the game on my PC, but it would quit after the loading screen. I'm using an old computer with Windows XP though, which may explain it.

I left my ratings as N/A so that it does not affect your scores. Good luck

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:47pm

@Victory Garden - No, there are no more endings unfortunately. I'd add them if I had more time. BUT if there is a sequel to Seminecata in the future, It'll for sure have multiple endings :D

@waynaul - I'm sorry you couldn't play it :( We've tested the game on few machines with Win 8.1, Win 7 and Win XP, but they were quite new and we didn't have any problems with running it. Thank you for leaving the ratings empty :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Just, wow! Creepy!
Really nice concept, and I liked the hand draw style for the jam entry. For a complete game it might not work.
The way the worlds connects is well done.
The only thing I missed was some kind of feedback from interactable things, specially in the eye-door scene, where I failed to click the hole many times :X

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]