Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Me And My Ghost

by jahlgren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions:
Press mouse button to jump / fly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#16Graphics4.43
#43Audio3.81
#43Overall3.94
#83Fun3.78
#144Mood3.55
#169Theme3.77
#286Humor2.82
#468Innovation3.27

Comments

the says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33am

Pretty original flappy-runner combination with nice graphic, good job!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

one of my favorite game in the LD!

ThisIsSoNotMe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice game!

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I really like the aesthetics so far, will definitely play that later today!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Amazing graphics and audio! The progress bar was a great inclusion.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

nice :)

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Excellent, graphics, animations and gameplay and polish. 5/5.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Super good! Great animations and state transitions on your characters. Feels super responsive.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

This is my favorite so far. Fantastic graphics, tight mechanics, and a few surprising twists in the level design. Solid job!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Kinda addictive one

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Fantastic game! The graphics and audio fit together really nicely, and the transitions between menus are beautiful.

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

two one-button game in one, cool.
and nice gamedesign, very hard but good.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05pm

This is a great runner! Love the mechanic-switch :D

jijaweb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great music and graphics. I really liked this one.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great idea! Would love to see where the puzzles go in a longer version!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Awesome graphics.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Gorgeous little runner. Fairly simple but a good spin on the basic idea & implements the theme quite well. Some of the returns are a bit unfair in their spike placement, but the levels are short enough that it's not too much of a bother :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Man that is an awesome game! I love runner style games and yours is top notch!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41am

i like the bumping-into-the-girl animation. if you ever consider making this a mobile game, you could add an endless-mode with randomly generated levels ;)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very good game!
Looking pretty polished. I liked the world swapping mechanics. An dvisual effects with menu.
Can't beat level 5 because it's sadism on second part.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37am

Awesome. Fantastic music and art. Top marks for style. Short levels make replaying them not too painful. Great jpb. Feels done.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Awesome artwork and transitions! I liked the combination of the two games in one, I enjoyed the game a lot! :)

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58am

Awesome game! loved everything about, I have nothing to point out or complain about :D

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

this feels unoriginal and original at the same time

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Dammit. Had to ragequit on level 5. After finally managing to get past the spikes-on-a-block TWICE in level 4 and finally jumping over the many-spikes-on-a-huge-block in level 5, when I saw the passage between two blocks was only one block wide... no thank you, I'll keep what's left of my sanity.

This game is way addictive. Like flappy bird on crack. The art just looks amazing (I love how the hero runs and jumps!)

After about half an hour of going crazy, I had to restart the browser to get rid of lag that was building up more and more. Probably a flash problem, but maybe you can do something about it, no idea.

One of the coolest games in this compo so far! (Oh, thanks for the mute button, even a great soundtrack like this gets annoying after a few million times ;-))

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Great game!
can be fit perfectly to mobile :)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very well made! The controls felt really good. I thought the ghost world could've used more polish.
Good use of audio as well. All in all very solid!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Great game, man! Love the artwork/animations and it's just polished and nice looking overall. Didn't make it past level 5, got pretty intense, but I'll definitely give it a shot later. This would be perfect on appstore with more levels. I'd buy that shit it in a heartbeat!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13am

This felt pretty polished!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice!! Relally enjoyed that.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40am

Very fun good job!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice polishing :) A bit repetitive though.

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Really good graphics and animation. Music is quite good, too. Well done :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Cool concept and it is very well done. The art and animations are gorgeous. Also, the gameplay is very interesating. Great work! ;)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Excellent graphics and audio, and a nice interpretation of the theme as well as an original take on this kind of game.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

Just loved it. Very impressive. Just a note regarding level design : I found level 3 insanely hard! After the phantom quick apparition I either get stuck on the wall, or fall into spikes=> 26 tries. Seems to be almost frame perfect input...!

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Amazing polish!

I really liked the graphics and the music, but it really lacked sfx... =X
Nonetheless, great work! =D

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

Masterfully constructed levels. I was surprised how much this forced me to play with higher and higher precision and more and more focus. Really loved that entry. Great job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

One of the visually best looking games in the compo version, feels really polished and well made!

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Pretty obvious theme elaboration but what a realisation! Very, very cool and self-sufficient game. I could've buy it for a mobile platform as a solid runner

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Awesome game! Very fun to play and an original take on this type of game. I love the music and graphics too, really cute pixel art.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

A little bit slow paced for my taste. I loved the aesthetics and pixel art style.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Hi there. Lovely design and sound, great animations. Particularly admired good jump physics and good buoyancy physics also. Good job!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:24am

this was really great. It was quite a shock the first time you switch (as the color palette totally changed the mood) which was really great.
Solid "runner" game, it needs a few pickups to get high scores though haha!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:45am

Excellent graphics. The character swap mechanics are great. A little hard, though. Had some cheap deaths.

Split82 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:41am

Excellent graphics, jumping and overall feel. Only problem I got was that some of the transitions from water to ground were pure evil and you couldn't predict what will happen :)

ehtd says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very polished

Aske says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:42am

Great with a gamepad!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:46pm

It's the details that make this such a fun experience. The zipper effect on end of level, the particles as you run, the crosses in the ghost background... All show enormous care and attention. The music is cool and fits the beautiful pixellated style (excellent colours selected, great work), of course sound effects would have added a lot to this but the difficulty ramped nicely and I really enjoyed the change of pace between alive/dead.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]