Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Karma Cycle

by atrodo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After discovering that she's a witch 30 days ago while eating potato salad of all things, Mao and her new familiar, you, are about to be defeated by the very powerful WitchZ. Since witches can't fight directly or leave their protected planet, all fighting is between familiars who use their witch's power to fight, and whose injuries are felt by their witches. Because of this, you would give anything to save Mao's life since you assume the full responsibility of Mao's impending defeat.

---

Familiars are represented by the outer circles, witches by the inner circles on the planets. Everything is mouse driven: Select a planet to travel to, launch an attack at or prepare to defend from. Select your current planet to help another witch attack or defend. Done enough you can convince witches aligned with WitchZ to join you. Not every familiar will attack you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#723Innovation2.94
#776Humor2.00
#808Theme2.87
#987Audio1.47
#1112Mood1.75
#1185Graphics1.76
#1204Fun1.48
#1209Overall2.06

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hi! I wasn't able to play the game. This happened: http://puu.sh/b6N1m/d53954982d.jpg

Maybe it's just me though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

Didn't work for me in Chrome on a Mac

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Hey - I wasn't able to run your game. I got a blank play area with a few buttons that didn't work when pressed. Using latest Chrome with Windows. Screenshot: http://imgur.com/iFYMKUE

atrodo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

I have patched the game so it now works in Chrome.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Interesting take on the theme :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

I'm just having too much trouble figuring out how to get anything done. The game doesn't really provide sufficient feedback.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

After playing for a while moving between planets and attempting to attack, I have no idea what I'm doing. You've got a great backstory, but a complicated and confusing user interface.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

I got the game to run, but even after reading the instructions several times, I still don't get how to play. A better tutorial would have been helpful.

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58am

Interesting mechanic. It's a bit confusing, but once you figure it out it's interesting.

Ramperkash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

I couldn't figure out how to play. I try to attack other witches or familiars, but always get a message saying that it was unsuccessful. I don't know how to convince other witches to join me either.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

The game was too hard to understand for me :(

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13am

This game needs either a longer instruction book or a tutorial. Or at least something to show that I'm doing it right.

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17am

that was really confusing! i liked the flavor text about the witches, but it was so strange that i had to look at the text to see whether or not i had selected a planet. i got pretty close to planet z but then days reset for some reason i don't understand.

just to learn, i repeatedly clicked on DEFEND FAMILIARS while hanging out on my home planet and it seems the other familiar just randomly wanders around without threatening my witch. also, determining which planets were connected to which other planets was impossible for me, not sure if that was intentional or not.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:23am

I spent 10+ minutes, and I still have no idea what's going on or how anything other than moving works.

scottyb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

I don't understand how to play I am sorry. Perhaps a visual tutorial would help.

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:35am

I'm afraid I have to agree that this is really hard to figure out. It took me a few tries to even learn how I could move around, and even after that it was often hard to see which worlds were connected because the lines overlapped... and I never discovered what determined which familiar would win in an attack. Too bad, though, I'm always curious when someone makes something board game like :)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:02am

Interesting idea, but a tutorial or on-screen guide would help a lot and make it more enjoyable.

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:22am

A little bit of a help on screen might have been good. A little confusing figuring out whats going on at times.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Hi there. Moved familiar around a bit but lost outright in first combat despite defending... not sure how this is supposed to be played, an example 3 node level or something would be good. Shame no sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]