Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarf Wars

by AxeTheory - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You command the mighty Dwarf Army and must defend and attack the Goblin World. Click on your castles to make units and Click near them to send them flying to the Goblin World. You can defend your Home World by Clicking on Enemy Units.

Instructions:
Click on your half of the screen to apply force on units.
Click on castles to create more units.
Destroy the enemy castles to win.

Tools:
Unity
NGUI
SFXR
Paint.net
BMFont

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#219Humor2.96
#246Fun3.44
#377Theme3.48
#402Overall3.35
#446Innovation3.30
#494Graphics3.18
#690Mood2.83
#759Audio2.29

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

Cool game, it definitely seems enjoyable. It took a minute to realize that I was trying to fling the guys up to the enemy base and stop trying to play missle command!

Craftsdwarf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Not bad for the few minutes it lasts, but still felt lacking, even for something made in so short of time. A few animations would have given it more life, and the difficulty felt lacking: even in the final level I never felt threatened, the AI moves far too slow to be any sort of threat. There found myself enjoying myself most in the middle after I had fully grasped the mechanics but before the lack of difficulty began to wear me down. I also encountered a glitch where my dwarves would occasionally get caught in corners. As for the theme, at first I thought the way you handled it was pretty average, but I'll admit I became interested in the potential details. What causes the force propelling the soldiers? Wizards and Shamans? What are the histories of these societies, so close yet so far? I guess I'm weird like that. But as for the stuff that matters, a bit of polish in visuals, some more interesting level design, and some tightened gameplay could go a long way.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Enjoyable game, u could make a bit more detailed background but nevermind, it presents really nice anyway

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice short game with mechanics that are easy to understand. Might have needed a bit more balancing, because it's actually very easy.
It seems that when goblins attack (or fall from their world), clicking sends them back, which makes it quite difficult for them to make any damage.
Also, visually, it's difficult to follow combats that happen upside-down. Maybe reversing the world would give a different feel.
Overall casual, fun and enjoyable.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Like the gameplay and the clean feel and look.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I like the mechanic - I have to agree the game's a little easy, though. Could potentially be great fun as a multiplayer game if you could figure out a way to make the controls work!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41pm

go, my drawfy minion! this was fun! no goblin can withstand my awesome clicking skills!

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:38am

Hehe not bad. Crazy mechanics and quite original :)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:07am

This was fun with solid controls. Watching the goblins burst was satisfying.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:04pm

This was a lot of fun. I love the high concept of interplanetary warfare executed with such a simple interface. This game is a stoke of brilliance.

sportsquid says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17pm

It was a fun game, but it would have been better if it was longer and harder. It just seemed to easy and was over too fast.

AxeTheory says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:45am

I have added a harder version, only change was increasing the value for how fast the AI can click, enjoy

ajopart says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:31am

Nice concept. Indeed too easy but working perfectly. Congrats

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice polished-feeling little game. Could use lots of complicated levels etc, with lots of potential, but what you have built feels well built.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]