Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Through The Wormhole

by psychomonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there.

First thoughts about the theme: "Yeah easy going!". Wrote a design document, then I started to develope. After hours I recognized that the game was not funny... cause it was crap. Then I started to think about alternative ideas. After a few minutes I started working on PlanB... a few hours later... damn... game was crap too. I decided to give up...

After playing one or two rounds of COD:Ghosts ambition was back again. Cause time was running, I thought about some really simple ideas.. basic gameplay, simple story, some challenging elements like achivement, a highscore and a progression indicator :)

Here it is: Through the Wormhole

Controlls: up and down keys to move the spaceship

What to do? You are flying your ship through a wormhole. In the wormhole are some gravity cascades you have to avoid. For every cascade you will travel one lighyear... If you traveled a special count of lightyears you can see wich star (reale ones, you can find them on wikipedia) you would have reached... There are many stars, nebulars and blackholes to discover... start your engines and play :)

If you want to play the most performant version of the game, you should download the windows version. The HTML5 Version is visually a little bit different (some animations removed)... use Chrome or Firefox please :)

Used Tools:
GameMakerStudio + htlm5 module
Photoshop CS3
GraphicsGale FreeEdition
Audacity
VLC converter (.it to .mp3)
Python Autotracker ( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/08/simple-frontendautomator-for-autotracker/ )
sfxr
Chrome
Firefox
Filezilla

Hope you'll enjoy the for a few moments. It was a cool weekend again. I'm excited to play your games. See at your comments section :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#473Audio2.82
#611Humor2.24
#661Fun2.92
#715Graphics2.87
#882Mood2.60
#940Overall2.80
#1014Theme2.44
#1171Innovation1.90

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Always good to meet other developers using GM :) Really liked the backing soundtrack to this. Controls handled well, spritework was good, especially liked the parallax background effect. Well done :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Man, this is awesome! Simple and fun.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Fun game ^^

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Hi. Played fine on Chrome/W8 in browser. Found it very hard, barely enough time to get through the holes!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

@mrexcessiv: Thanks for the feedback. Yeah it is hard. This is part of the challenge. I wanted to create a game like flappy bird or timberman... what was your highscore?

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Pretty good, but the sound gets a little annoying after a while

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

So simple yet you got the urge to play it! Well done!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

18 lightyears!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

@DaanVanYperen: good job ;) Thanks for playing
@Bendix: the so called engine sound is way to loud... sry man

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

It's fun but the sound is veeery loud :D

Fera says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

great idea to keep up with the theme!
its really challenging and i love the retro soundtrack. :D

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I enjoyed reaching different celestial bodies. The move noise was too loud compared to the cool music...

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

A classic concept =)
It was a nice touch to add the planets the player reached while playing.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice way to link the genre to the theme :D

While I liked the backing track, the sound that the ship makes was a litte too noisy for my own taste.

The game reminds me more of Delta (Commodore 64) than Flappy Bird, which is a GOOD thing! Of course, it is not a shoot em up, but still.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Controls doesn't feel right.. in 90% of the try I died because it shifted of 2 when i pressed up/down only one time..

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Good game, the moving spaceship sound was too loud but apart from that solid. GJ.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

@LostTrainDude: Thanks, nice to hear this kind of comparison.
@elkiwydev: I know there is a lagging problem, causes the arrow keys to fire an movement event... Windows Version does not have this bug... Maybe you should try this version. Thanks for giving feedback

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

That movement sound was grating, but great job on the graphics

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Good game.

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37pm

A basic but challenging game. The graphics are actually quite nice at fix together well, I just wish I didn't lose all the time! :P

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

I loved the graphics, and yes the sound of moving the spaceship was kinda loud but other than that a pretty solid game.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Nice game. Simple, but fun. Also quite hard on first few tries :)

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

the spaceship is cute ! The gameplay is hard at the start and then we start to masteries it. Anyway I enjoy it and the sound "tieww tiewwww" is very cut and rythmic too :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

a realy nice space flappy bird style game

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Surprisingly addictive and fun this. You'd think the stepping motion would make it easier but apparently not! :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33am

@hexagore: Haha the gaps in the obstacles are exact as big as the player sprite ;) So stepping movement is way easier as a mouse movement or a pixel based movement in generell ; Thanks for Playing and rating :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Pretty basic, but plays well. I like the tile based controls, makes it a lot less frustrating than it could have been.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Loved the music but the sound effects were a bit too heavy. Simple gameplay that works. Good job :)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

There was certain charm in overall animation jerkiness and graphics roughness. Discreet movement of a ship provided a surprisingly different experience to usual smooth navigation.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice little game. Feels really good

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

Exactly what it is to expect for a 48 hours JAM : simple gameplay yet addictive. Working prototype, effective graphics and (maybe to loud) sound. Congrats

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

A funny little game that is! I like especially the music which is driving but not annoying. Well done!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Loved this, minimal and fun :)

Rehacked says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

simple and fun and hard .Good job

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

You know I hate when nobody posts their score in the comments of games like this. 236 is my best. Game's fun and simple, only thing that bugged me was the volume was too high with no option to reduce from ingame

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

@Otopkin :D Nice score ^^ Yeah was streaming and redecued the sound at the boxes on my desk... never recognized that it could be so loud ingame ^^... sry for this

Thanks for the nice comments so far :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

It feels like an evolved version of flappy bird, would love to play this in my mobile phone. Great game!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Wine did not want to run the exe and the web version did run a bit slow. Fun game anyway!

Maybe if we could see occasionally a world that we are passing by or on the game over screen, it would 'feel' more connected to the theme.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:00am

@DrCicero: Hey there. HTML-Version of the game is a little laggy cause the walls of the wormhole are all active gameObjects (accidently)... I will fix that after ld cause, it would change the feeling of playing that game... jam is over :D Thanks this feedback... planets in Background wich would have been reached is a great idea!

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

Great job! The controls worked well, but maybe forward arrow could be used to accelerate? Cool sounds and graphics.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Kinda like flappy bird without gravity :). Nice work.

caranha says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Very neat little game - the graphics are decently done, loved the parallax background. Also the gameplay is on the sweet spot that will make me do the "just one more try" dance.

The collision was a bit iffy, I often died when I "thought" I had cleared an obstacle. One thing that would be cool would be to make a sound every time you clear an obstacle . This would be the beginnings of a rhythm game :-)

There is also a small visual glitch. When you go to the bottom lane, the entire screen slides down and you can't see the top wall anymore.

Thanks for the game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]