Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Looking for the Hacanap !

by Silii - Jam Entry

Dear hero,
This game is a virtual "book which YOU are the hero". I hope you like it.

PS : Welcome to my 5th and first Ludum Dare !
(It was my first Solo ludumdare after 4 LD Jams with @yacodo)

So, i'm not only graphist / Gamedesign this time ! I'm the developper too !
i will do in few days, an article with several screenshoot and text who explains how i do my game-book ! See yah, and i fun on every ludumDare Composition !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Humor(Jam)3.33
#492Audio(Jam)2.75
#531Mood(Jam)2.82
#554Graphics(Jam)2.94
#557Overall(Jam)2.95
#660Innovation(Jam)2.42
#686Fun(Jam)2.39
#749Theme(Jam)1.79
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Script was weird but funny; enjoyed the game but having to start over constantly from death screens got old; not really much connection to the theme though.

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice text adventure. Like the above comment said, this does not have too much to do with the theme (or I couldn't get it). And there were some small typing errors (like 'I' was typed 'i'). I like the graphics and audio, though.

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:01pm

This actually has a pretty complex story behind it. Plus it's funny, nice music too. :D.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Got to the ending. It's is funny, but kinda anticlimactic. I mean, couldn't you include drunken sex with a dragon or something for the ending? Nice overall presentation, easy and fun to read and that music track is really fitting. You kill the player too often and too easy, but it seems to be the point. Also, the forest-wandering part is frustrating and unnecessary, since choices give no result and I was starting to think that the game has glitched. Still, one of the nicer vn's at this ludum. Great job.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice to make a adventure game like this. But I still locked in the forest...

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Hi there. Nice design, liked the music to start but loop a bit too short. I died multiple ways without leaving the start city - a bit frustrating that the upcoming deaths are not signalled, difficult to play very cautiously. Enjoyed the writing I got to read.

Silii says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:03pm

For the theme, I explain at the end of the game.
In the complete history of Hacanap you could use its power (Open / connected worlds) to kill the Lords of evil also seeking the artifact. (Seems like "Portal", you can open gates to change place and go find them. (A map find on mercenaries help you for that.)
At the real end of the game, you (after killing the evil lords and handed the Hacanap to the Wizard for work on it) unlock an object made by the sorcerer that simulates the power of Hacanap and return to the main chapters of "Looking for the Hacanap"

I really thought about a complete story but... really didn't have time in a LD for write it.

Was my first LudumDare "solo" and i misjudge the time for developpement. (For my 4 other participation in Jam, i was only Graphist / Lvldesigner.. )

Anyway, thanks all, I read in the comments you like my (funny) story :)

Silii says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:04pm

The theme was incorporated in the story. But i didn't finish to write it so... :/

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like the storybook-esque presentation and the music seems to fit pretty well.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Graph paper aesthetics was neat, and the story wasn't too taxing. Reminds me in a way of playing 13th Age with my friends.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]