Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our World

by Loren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A procedural generated world, explore it :)

Be the first to discover and complete slices for.... Bonus Points!

This world exists as 32x20 slices of 32x20 nodes for a total world size of 409600 nodes. The general idea is to go from your starting position on the left and reach the pink arrows on the far right.

This is a pseudo collaborative world as your actions are stored and can be seen by other players.

Controls:

W - up
A - left
S - down
D - right

You have points! You accumulate points by picking up coins which randomly spawn on dirt and grass tiles.

You use up points by changing map topography!
To change map topography, attempt to access a tile that is not dirt or grass. If it's higher up (mountain - grays), it will be lowered until you either run out of points or it is a grass. For water (and lower) tiles, it will raise up until it is a dirt.

As an explorer, you have the opportunity to be the first one to discover a slice and complete a slice. These come with points bonuses to help with MORE DISCOVERY! \:D/

Have fun everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#130Innovation3.81
#446Overall3.31
#724Theme3.00
#771Graphics2.77
#840Fun2.71
#853Audio2.10
#854Humor1.87
#965Mood2.46

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Difficulty is hit or miss depending on the level you get, but it's a nice concept & I really love the graphics & terrain maps. Nice work :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Interesting way of reaching destination.

Martoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice work! The procedural map generation is quite good.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30am

Really beautiful map generation and the exploration feels really nice

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31am

Can't... stop.... exploring...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41am

Really great game. Although I would have loved the different "world" to be more deverse.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Addictive! I wish there were stats both at the user and world level (so distance explored in one run, for example and amount of world explored in total by all users). Then again, I'd probably never stop if there was...

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I'm working on a current world status thing to share with the public, but I've been sharing current status on twitter: https://twitter.com/LorenBednar/status/504307587018686464

It's fun to see how the world is being changed :)

Thanks so much for checking out the game everyone! It's hard to predict what will happen, things could change at anytime

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Neat. I completed 20 slices. The persistence is a clever touch; I'd like to see a world map or something.

Nitpicks:

- The player position is sometimes difficult to spot.

Decept404 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Weirdly addictive :) I wish I could just hit a key to continue/restart though, reaching for the mouse is so tedious ;)

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really interesting concept, nice work :)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25am

Super addictive :O

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice map generation and aesthetic.

Eigen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Such a unique concept. I like it! I completed quite a few slices and it was fun being the first in some places. Your world generation algorithm seems pretty nice. Sound effects were a little sub-par. The pickup sound was just too loud and annoying every few seconds. Other than that, awesome work!

3CGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Great idea, I love it.

Shivur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Interesting concept!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Gorgeous game, super relaxing and the exploration is fun :) The style is simple but it works so well here, I love the subtle colour shifting.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

I loved this. Took 3-4 games to get into and reading the instructions a second time. Once it clicks that you are raising/lowering terrain and color matters, it becomes a very cool little puzzle game. I reached the other side after maybe 10-12 tries? I felt like I was learning and getting better each time which is the hallmark of a well made game. Great job.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

What an interesting idea!

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

A really nice little puzzle game. :D It took a few rounds to begin thinking in the right way then it was really fun. I ended up completing at least five slices. Well done! :)

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Interesting idea, I like the little item bonuses when you restart. Wished i could just hit space or a another keyboard button to restart it.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice idea. I like exploration games, reminded me of noctis and curiosity. I felt like the starting points were too low - often i could at most dig one tile in front of me per iteration. I might have missed something, though.
- qualia

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

Rather neat :)
At some point it seemed like slices were either too hard, or too easy to cross. Not much in between.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Hi there. Really fun idea, good to play, looks great and fun. Creative always good and this eases that in there brilliantly. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]