Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unknown

by Harsay - Jam Entry

This game was made with Unreal Engine 4.

==
HOW TO PLAY:
RUN "CLICK TO PLAY" FILE or go to LudumDare30\Binaries\Win32 and run the exe file.
==
Controls:
WSAD and mouse
ALT+F4 to quit game
==

My first game made using this engine.
I wish I had more time (game was done in 1 day)
so I could make this game longer and more polished.

It's a thirdperson platformer. Discover the parts of unknown white world.
Black represents known, white unknown.

Music "Glacial Sprites" by hjhkbn(http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/585803)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#392Audio(Jam)3.04
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#606Theme(Jam)2.54
#638Overall(Jam)2.80
#667Fun(Jam)2.46
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

Just a heads up because I had a similar problem with my first UE4 game...chrome seems to peg the zip as malware when downloaded from Dropbox. I had better results when I used Google Drive to share UE4 zips.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

Cool execution of your concept for your first UE4 game, and nice music. Unfortunately I wasn't able to get past the fourth stair and it was too easy to fall there which was frustrating. Wish I could have gotten further!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53am

Hi Harsay! Just a heads up: I had some trouble running the game due to missing DLLs. In case anyone else runs into the same, I was able to solve the problem by installing DirectX...

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

And also this Visual C++ Redistributable (the x86 version).

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Does UE4 let you do a build that includes these automatically?

Harsay says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

JavadocMD, it doesn't. Thanks for pointing out. I'll add these to download.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

"The program can't start because MSVCP120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."
Not my area but it looks like you need to include the visual studio redistributables.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39am

Posted my last comment before I refreshed and saw the update with the redistributables. Nicely done, challenging, I also didn't get past that fourth stair!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

Interesting game, there wasn't much instructions on where to go, but i think that made it that more interesting. Discovering parts of the unknown world. Good Job : )

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:58am

Nice art style, but MC really needs to have a white outline or marks near the feet or something. Anything. Too much guesswork on his position considering the tight platforming one has to do.

The two fallthrough black boxes were a bit confusing being so close to the start position, but otherwise once things started clicking it was fun.

Overall great concept, great potential.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:03am

It is a really interesting concept, but not having any hint made the game impossible for me, as I couldn't even jump right on the second stair...

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Great concept!

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great concept! I also couldn't get passed the second stair.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]