Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

E.T.I.T.

by BinaryPie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD, and a success! I'll definitely be back for LD31. Made with Unity, GIMP, Blender, Audacity, and a few content gen tools. Enjoy the game.

Description:
As a member of the ExtraTerrestrial Information Technology department, you've been assigned to connect some planets in your area to the Galactic WiFi network. You'll need to fly around to the planets and place antenna so they may connect to the network. Good luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#41Theme4.07
#246Innovation3.57
#299Fun3.36
#317Graphics3.48
#324Overall3.44
#340Mood3.25
#610Audio2.62
#694Humor2.13

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06am

Controls are much tighter than when I tested on IRC! The puzzles were challenging enough to be interesting, but not enough to be frustrating.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46am

Galactic wifi XD

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Cool take on the theme. I agree the controls were nice. I'd have maybe made them a touch tighter. I got stuck after planting the first antenna though! The game didn't prompt me anything new, and when i flew off it told me i was lost.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

Cool use of the theme with fairly intuitive gameplay.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

You definitely did a good job with this entry. The theme and innovation were 5/5. My one massive complaint is the sounds. I absolutely hated the connection sound. Why is there a series of coins being collected or whatever that was when the game was completed? The other real complaint I have is that I couldn't find a way to stop building if I accidentally pressed B on the wrong planet. Still, overall a 4/5 from me.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

The idea is very clever, and the worlds look nice!

The asteroid-style controls were a bit frustrating however.

I also discovered that pressing 'N' at any time skips levels, though that might be on purpose.

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

Very nice mechanics :)

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Wow! Had a lot of fun playing this. Especially the antenna mechanic, it was cool to use and cool to see. Was sad it was over so soon!

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

very nice
think I accidentally pressed N once and it pushed into next level without completing actual one..

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Very nice

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Really cool puzzle game. Would be nice to see more levels in the future.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Great puzzle game with many dimensions to take into account. Well done!

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

Nice job! I like the concept, and I thought the mechanic of rays getting more focused as the reach increases was very clever. I think I would have enjoyed a more puzzle-focused game, without having to worry about the actual flying, or if the fuel was abstracted into a mechanic of simply clicking to travel different distances, but that may just be my tastes. I also would have enjoyed it more if there was more of a challenge. Great work, I liked it a lot!

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23am

This was fantastic! I have no constructive criticism.

But I am so happy that this theme has brought about great space games like this.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

Hi there. Great idea, really like the mechanics, visuals and sounds. Great job!

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46am

Very original game mechanics, good job.

No real complaints except that the sound effect for when you completed the level feels a bit closed and loud. Perhaps you could apply a small reverb or echo to it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Very interesting and fun concept. Would make a great iPad game!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Lovely entry, really enjoyed this. Great mechanics, audio and very fitting of the theme! :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great use of the theme, and fun as well! The way signals focused as they got larger was smart. The spaceship driving feels a bit unnecessary but was enjoyable all the same. Good job!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:40pm

1967 points. :) Very nice entry with a cool mechanic. More levels with some special antenna types and harder situations would make a solid game imo.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Liked the controls, gave a great sensation when flying in space. Did end up just flying around on the first level for a bit and seeing if I could make it back to the planets. Also nice use of the theme.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I like this game, Well done. I love it when Im almost out of fuel and just miss the last planet and I am screwed.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I really liked the game. I only wish the gravitational forces were a little bit stronger far away from planets, so that I would be able to do some cool G-turns :) anyway. Good game!

hungyg says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really fun game! Controls were well balanced, I especially loved that I didn't have to be a rocket scientist to land on a planet (it didn't matter if I crashed into it, like some other space games here) It wasn't clear sometimes if I could pass the signal through some of the asteroid clouds, it was mainly guesswork, but other than that it was a great game.

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Fantastic work, especially for a first LD! I found the controls a bit challenging, but I liked the puzzles.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

haha i like a lot the physics! maybe if u find some sci-fi sounds and music to put on top of this could add much more mood into the game! ;-]

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

A very solid puzzle game entry. Flying mechanic needs some tweaking but apart from that it's a good basis for a future development.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea! The control scheme made me think of the film Gravity, where they're trying to hit the space station with little or no fuel :)

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Love the idea not the controls. Graphics are alright and the sound does its job. Pretty good, you should continue this.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20am

This was a great entry. Awesome controls, nice use of the theme. Nice graphics. Very high marks here. Great job.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Very good gameplay. But imo the too greenish background ruins the atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]