Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The game of potato connection

by alaslipknot - Jam Entry

The Game of Potato Connection :

When i started the design of this game i wanted to make sure that the player can clearly see the transition between the two worlds

More info and better explanation of the game concept :
http://alaslipknot.tumblr.com/post/95727036836/ludum-dare-30-72-hours-jam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Audio(Jam)3.79
#103Fun(Jam)3.58
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#258Graphics(Jam)3.68
#313Theme(Jam)3.32
#324Mood(Jam)3.20
#549Innovation(Jam)2.74
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Is that slenderman haha? This game is sogood yet it is one of the least rated, well done and good job. I like the music aswell.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Very cool idea. Only thing I didn't like was the camera movement. Needs to be a lot smoother, was making me a little motion sick xD nice one!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Took a while to figure out what was going on, but after a few cycles I noticed how it worked. The shooting section is pretty tricky (Those turrets are mental :p) but actually quite a nifty take on the theme. Music's fun too.

Easimer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I didn't expected the fourth part :DD

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Thank you All :D !!!
@modbox actually i was thinking about Hitman (agent47) when i created him :3

@SuperSquareBoy i was going to make a smooth camera following but then i just stoped lol, i'll make sure to add that asap

@DragonXVI am glad you like it ^_^

@Easimer lol i didn't expected either :D !!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Nice game. A little hard though. (note: somehow shooting with B didn't seem to work for me)

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

@Pinqu thank you :) and how are you actually shooting ? you are supposed to keep smashing the B button(up and down) not press and hold

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I like how the worlds are transitioned between! The art is nice too. The pace of the game is a bit too fast for me, though it's just a personal preference.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The shooting button is not reachable while jumping and running... maybe I need another arm... Bute the gamneplay is nice... it is fast and challenging...I like the music and the double jump :D

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

@iSamurai thank you :D !!! and maybe this is a good chance to try some fast games ^^ SuperMeatBoy is a must-play if you didn't already :3

@psychomonster thanks a lot !!! and for the jumping, are you playing with the controller ?? i'll make a quick update and allow you guys to shot with the triggers ^^
and for the keyboard you can shoot with anything lol
(left mouse, left ctrl, X, up and down arrow)

Thank you all and please show the game to your friends, it really feel good to see all this comments ^_^

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29am

Nice submission. This potato seems to me very angry.
Well done ++

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

Hi there. Nice chiptunes and visuals. Sprites remind me of "fairly odd parents" for some reason. Nice platforming mechanics. I'm bad at reactions, so didn't get far, but looks lovely! Good job.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49am

@Geckoo1337 well not very very angry, just a little :3 thank you :)

@mrexcessive lol am glad you like it and yeah the game is kinda very hard for now, i will work on a longer version soon where the first level doesn't play like hell ^^

FGM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

Fun game. Art and music are awesome. The shooting controls are a little uncomfortable though. I thought there was really no need for the mouse.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41am

@FGM Thank you !! and i thought that too :D !!! that's why you can shoot with X/Left Ctrl/ Up arrow or Down Arrow all of these works ^^ !!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really liked the visual style, as well as the ending of course. :P Nice entry. :)

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

@zkenshin Thank you !!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50am

Frenetic rhythm, stress and fun lots of fun. Really really really great job. Thanks for that!

Unravel Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:14am

Really enjoyed playing this game, music and art blends really well, the shooting part was definitely unexpected but added some fun,the added effort for the ending was really cool. overall smooth fun game.

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:28pm

@MechanicMoon // @UnravelGames

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!! this is making me very very happy !!

InfectionTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Awesome! This could be really fun to speed run with a bit more development and some highscores. Finished it in 100.03 seconds on my second attempt, not sure if that's any good though xD. Transition between worlds is super slick, and I like the fact that accurately timing your shots with the turrets works far better than just spamming bullets. Nice entry, well done :)

alaslipknot says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:12pm

@InfectionTeam Thanks a lot :D !!!
and 100.03 is very good for a second try ^_^

"I like the fact that accurately timing your shots with the turrets works far better than just spamming bullets"
Am a big fan of the NES MegaMan games :3

I really hope i can find an artist to join me and finish this game, thanks again man

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]