Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rage: Destroyer of worlds

by SwiftIllusion - Jam Entry

Rage Destroyer of worlds

Sincerely sorry for how bare bones this may seem,
I'll go into detail once I've stopped dying trying to get this submitted in time. I hope you enjoy the experience I was able to get you within the 72 hour Jam.

Controls:
Movement with W/A/S/D
Left attack with left mouse button
Right attack with right mouse button
Spacebar jump

Aim:
Survive the arena of enemies on randomly generated worlds.

Credits:
Built with unreal engine 4
Character concept by Woestjin
Design and development by SwiftIllusion


[[Personal thoughts on completed project]]
Regrettably it's not close at all to what I had planned to develop for the Jam. In the end 72 hours still wasn't enough time to develop a project with my current experience using UE4.
My original goal was to develop a Dynamic fun combat rogue-lite-esque project, where you conquered the surface of the planet and then entered its core to defeat boss battles and continue downward to the next connected planet.
It was developed to be quickly scalable development-wise, and diverse gameplay wise where you could customize your left/right attack with upgrades from enemies, enchanting there individual traits and abilities from increased knockback, lightning sparks damaging areas of enemies, and even changing how the weapons ability functioned, for example changing the right attack slot to have a group of swords spawn from underground. Everything was built to stack and spiral your combat into a unique experience each time where you could pick paths to take with it and discover how combinations worked.
With this also the enemies could generate all those combinations too, so development wise progress on the character was also progress on the enemies-short of AI development.
Ontop of the difficulty I had with new areas of Unreal Engine 4 I hadn't gained experience with yet though, I underestimated how long it took me to animate each attack style-so I ended up only being able to the 2 attacks here. I also had to scale back the design to be just an arena of enemies because I didn't have time to design the system to enter the planet core (it's actually modeled in there under the center cap but didn't manage to get to it in time).

Regardless though I hope you all enjoy the short experience I was able to achieve. The core systems are in place so it's now easy to scale the project up if people enjoy it and what it can potentially become, so if you like what you see or would be really interested in seeing it developed further, please let me know :).

---

Also a shout out to our awesome concept artist Woestjin, who has had the opportunity to be in an art book (Didn't get to do her concept art justice within this time frame but definitely check out her work if you have the chance, it's amazing ^^) - http://woestijn.deviantart.com/art/Wow-such-preview-477379506

---
---

Developing an updated version of this project for a Post-Compo release, WIP videos can be seen below.
(If you wish to vote on this submission please do before watching the video-I don't want your opinion of the LD48 Jam entry to be influenced by seeing a more complete version as it would be unfair to others)
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7C-zCQHYasQ
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QF3woJ2OdM
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_f_N2LnK8c
And here's a post describing some of the progress, including a demo to try out.
- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/14/progress-with-rage-destroyer-of-worlds-post-compo-and-demo-available/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#213Humor(Jam)2.88
#308Graphics(Jam)3.56
#450Mood(Jam)2.96
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#546Audio(Jam)2.50
#618Innovation(Jam)2.57
#657Theme(Jam)2.30

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38am

Clicking on the "Web" link asks me to download a file.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17am

@Accidental Rebel
Sorry about that, the way it marks the web area as a required field in the submission form I thought it was necessary for entries that require downloading files, to also have the link in that area. I have fixed that now so it only has the Windows download option, thanks for letting me know.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39am

really nice art! Didn't really see any connection to the theme, but I do understand you had to scale back some.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

@Teejay5,
Thank you very much :)!
Yeah regrettably I had originally planned to have you travel down multiple worlds that were connected through the core and then end up at the sun of the 'solar system' as a final battle, but regrettably had to pull it back to submit in time so the theme didn't end up as strong in the release, thanks you very much for being considerate of that.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

Best character designs I've ever seen in a ludum 3d game. A well-made battle arena with them would be awesome.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Love the artwork

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Biggest fault right now is the lack of audio for me. Otherwise the art direction is very good, and I didn't mind the lack of theme right now because I can see the direction it is heading. Runs very smooth. Stick with this in the long term and I can definitely see something great coming out of it. :D

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

@Kibertoad,
Thank you very much :D, really glad you liked the characters and that you wish to see more :).

@Mechabit,
Thank you ^^.

@Blindfox,
Yeah I at least had music ready for it and would also have been able to get sound for it but regrettably ran out of time/had to prioritize what gameplay I could get finished.
I'm really happy to hear you like where it was going :D, means a lot. Thanks to the positive response so far I feel motivated to at least keep pushing forward with it throughout the rest of this week to at least get the sound in and add what additional mechanics I get time to.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17am

Hey! When I click "request download ticket" while trying to download your entry I get this error "the server this file is on is currently offline for maintenance, try again later, please contact support if this issue persists". You might want to host your files else where.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50am

Filecloud? ^^U You really really should try another filehost ^^U You could use Dropbox, for example.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:14am

download doesn't work

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:45am

Gorgeous artwork!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Terribly sorry everyone, thanks a lot for letting me know the issue with the download, I've just reuploaded it onto dropbox and added it as a mirror :).

@OxyOxspring,
Thank you ^^!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

The animations in this game really kept me amused. I can't quit giggling!! Theme was sort-of far-fetched, but I thought it was a lot of fun! Good job!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

@nerd burglars
Haha yeah I was really happy with that animation, that was the reaction I was hoping for so glad you enjoyed it :).
Yeah I'm really disappointed that I couldn't get far enough with the intended mechanics to properly envelop the theme, but I'm hoping if I can get the latest Unreal Engine 4 release to build my project properly soon enough I'll be able to expand it for a '1GAM'/post-LD48 build that resolves that, even though it won't fix this entry.
Really happy to hear you had fun with it :)! Thank you ^^.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Too bad you didn't hit your goal, but you should keep developing it. The models and textures are interesting.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:58am

I've got a MSVCR120.dll missing :/

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:10am

@ninjascript,
Happy to hear you would like to see more of it ^^, I'm indeed hoping to develop a post-compo release of it thanks to the feedback here :).

@Pierrec,
I googled that and it sounds like an issue that would be on your end. You may have a broken MSVCR120.dll file, which you'll need to delete from your C:\windows\system32, and then download http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 and install that (if you don't have that file in system32 it means it's missing and you'll still need to download/install that). Hopefully that resolves the issue for you.

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

probably the concept was too ambitious for a game jam, yet the models are very cute :3

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

@SkyWolf,
Yeah I ended up running into issues with the Unreal Engine I hadn't expected that cost a regrettably large amount of time, thankfully though it was built scalable so while I didn't get to complete it, it was still something I could submit (where as my ideas for strategy games/etc would have been broken unless they were fully formed).
Glad you enjoyed the models :)!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice art! Like the concept that you explained it looked promising. Keep it up!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:11am

@DragonInstall,
Thank you very much ^^!
Have updated the description with a link to a video featuring the project further developed if you or anyone else would like to see it :).

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:50am

They are so cute I felt bad for killing them. :(
Great design, congratulations!

By the way, when your life runs out you don't die. Instead, your life "orb" starts growing inverted. Mine got so big it covered the entire screen.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:38am

@Tex Killer,
lol glad you like them.
Thank you very much :)!

No idea how you managed to have that happen, but I fixed what I believe could have caused that as well as a few other things and updated the links :).

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Loved your character design, modelling and texturing. Really well done for a jam entry :D
Hope you manage to finish it :)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:07am

@Chaoseiro,
Thank you very much, really glad you enjoyed it :)!
^^ I hope so too, thank you for the encouragement.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:11am

It's really sad you didn't get to work a bit more on that, seeing that it's already fun as it is.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

@dancingmad,
I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with it :)!
If you'd like to come back to it for a more expanded experience I've decided to continue working on it for a post-compo version - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/03/rage-destroyer-of-worlds-progress-towards-post-compo-release/

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice art style but not very funny to play

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:24am

@apiotrw
Glad you like the art direction :)
If you think you might like the game if it were more expanded you can check out a video of the latest Post-Compo release and try a demo of it here - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/14/progress-with-rage-destroyer-of-worlds-post-compo-and-demo-available/

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:32pm

ah a dll missing error

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:18pm

What dll is missing Rehacked?
It may be a problem with your computer rather than the project itself like not having a necessary distributable that various projects require. It's built with Unreal engine so might require Visual C++ redistributable found here - http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 (because I have all this installed it's impossible for me to know what you may be missing)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]