Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A New World

by jpcote - Jam Entry

In "A New World", the player control a god that want to save his people from disaster.

Their homeworld have been flooded and they need to move to a safer world.

Control are mouse-based:
-Camera pan while holding RIGHT-CLICK and moving the mouse.
-To build a structure, select it in the footer and click again on the level to build it.

Save as much people as possible on each level.

All Graphics and Audio are from Kenney.nl crowdfunding asset package.
All the rest was made by me : @_jpcote_

Thanks for playing !
I hope you will like it, it was super fun to create !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#179Fun(Jam)3.41
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#255Audio(Jam)3.34
#289Graphics(Jam)3.59
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#629Theme(Jam)2.45

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08am

Great job! This has quite a good level of polish for a jam game. Easy to learn, easy to control.

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Great theme, love the idea the jump SE was my hylight ^^.
maybee if your considering continuing progress id suggest maybe putting indicators to show you can move the screen left
my ignorance lead me to ignoring the clear control's on your page and for that i am sorry.

Twittle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

This is a really good game ! One of my favorites!

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31am

Fun game, lemmings is great!

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Well done. Good use of the core game mechanics, the difficulty is built up slowly. It could probably use a few more levels to get a bit more difficult. Overall a good game.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Very nice, cool looking game :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

Really cool, I like the lemmings feel to it. Nice and polished too except for when they jitter on the ladders :P, nice job!

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

I really enjoyed this one. Fun game.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

Fun game with good progression. One thing I noticed is that you can accidentally waste a prop easily by clicking the button for the other prop. The characters clipping each other also looks kind of funky, but not a big issue.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

It was easy to control, although I would have liked some music with it too! But overall a job well done!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

I really love indirect control of units! It would be great to have more control elements besides "jump" an "ladder".

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

This is neat! The addition of the rising water to the basic Lemmings gameplay was a good idea. I'd appreciate more complicated level design, though, and maybe levels that could be solved in multiple ways. I also had a bear of a time using the ladders. Characters would get stuck on them or ignore them quite frequently--like in the 3rd or 4th level, when they had to jump onto the ladder and ended up just getting stuck there like flies and not moving. I tested this multiple times... just didn't work.

Thank you for the game!

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

This is a really happy game! Nice art and well polished

Halfbus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Love those assets. See they worked for someone

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Hi there. Looked really nice to start with, but the ladder placement on first level seemed to be bugged. They'd climb right up to the green level then just fall back down. On Chrome/W8.1

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice game. I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]