Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

outhack_

by bogdan.tana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Outhack is a trial against time to download data from flocking agents.

How to play:
- move using arrow keys / controller left trigger
- hack nearby agents by holding the x key / x button
- if you move while hacking, operations get interrupted and you have to restart
- hack target data in time to advance to the next level

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Audio3.47
#184Mood3.47
#398Graphics3.35
#641Innovation3.05
#724Overall3.05
#850Fun2.70
#1023Theme2.42
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

the stream was a cool idea, I got to see the game in several stages. happy hacking

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The music's very nice.
Calming pace of gameplay.
Not sure how it relates to the theme.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Cool concept. I liked the Art and Sound. I wasn't sure why my hacking attempts failed a lot of the time as I hadn't moved but I got up to round 5 though :)

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

The music and UI create a great hacker mood. Great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hi there. Strange game, somehow fascinating to play despite the simple moving and standing mechanics.

Lizzip says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Quite a strange one, but I liked it. Not sure how it related to theme, but the UI was really nice and the music went well

xrm0 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice music. I didn't find it too related to the theme.

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:24am

Amazing idea, amazing take on the theme, I really like this game! :D

LuisDC says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice graphics, AI (I like the move of the boxes) and music. I didn't understand the game very well. I was trying to hack and many of my attempts failed when I wasn't moving.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]