Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Through the Trans-Dimensional Window

by Charlie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle-platformer with a trans-dimensional window keeping the worlds connected.

Controls:

Mouse: Move the trans-dimensional window
WAD: Move/Jump the green player
Arrows: Move/Jump the purple player
R: Restart level
Left Click: Trigger levers (green player)
Right Click Trigger levers (purple player)
ESC: Exit game

Install instructions

You need Java to run the game. Get it at https://java.com/download
Then run the game by clicking the .jar file or by console command java -jar "Through the Trans-Dimensional Window.jar"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#158Theme3.79
#211Innovation3.63
#504Fun3.10
#573Humor2.29
#596Overall3.17
#685Mood2.84
#818Audio2.18
#897Graphics2.54

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

I like the effect that the window has.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Wow, that's cool! Very challenging to juggle all the controls and the tiny window, but it's pretty rewarding to solve each room. Unfortunately, I think I hit a dead end on the big stairway room because I sent the first guy through before the second guy was able to get out. Great work!

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Looks sharp and fun gameplay! Nice work.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I like the use of a Fringe reference as the central mechanic. I was a little confused about what to do at first before I realized that the player was the little rectangle. I'm impressed with what you were able to do with the minimalist art and I like the transdimensional window idea a lot.

Charlie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

@Drew Van Camp If you hit a dead end, press R to restart the level and try again!
Thanks guys for all the feedback :)

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea.
Level 3 or 4, I don't know, I catch the key with the window and go to black door, so my first guy don't have any key to open the gate, so, I stuck here. just put an "reset level.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

That was really cool! I wish that that controls had been a little easier, since it felt like I needed three hands, but towards the later levels I got why you did it that way. Also, it would have been nice to have keybindings and/or instructions in the game. I quit and had to restart before I saw the note about using the mouse for levers. So it goes.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Good stuff! I like the notion of running keys over to each other by bumping enemies across.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

This really works well. Nice job!

Cactose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great spin on the theme. It's hard to focus on both worlds, though.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Really cool idea! You should of added good/evil sprites it would have been better but still im impressed!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Cool! Managed to get to the end. I really like those mechanics. Good job :)

Paladin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Mr. Nokeybindings, we meet again. Nice concept otherwise.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice job, though there was a few issues with the next level starting, and had to restart. Great idea to view the other world with the mouse-controlled window.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This game is really fun!
And nice plot twist at the end.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Interesting take on the theme! Pretty good minimalistic puzzler. My gameplay got a sudden end when I somehow lost the dimensional window somewhere outside the game area and couldn't move it back to the gameplay area anymore. Some button to reset it back to the level or something could be useful.

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Great use of the theme!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Cool and interesting, but could use a few more explanations on how things work, since I was quite confused about what I had to do and how :X

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59pm

window doesn't show up on linux :(

I might be using the wrong java version. which one should I use?

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25pm

@mess110 Try Java SE 7 http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Neat game :)

Especially interesting when I had to have an enemy pick up a key in one world, and send it to the other one to use it!

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

great theme interpretation! good level design and nice color choices.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Sorry, no Java.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

@Endurion No problem. Next time I'll use HTML5 or Flash but Java was the best tool for me and for this game.
Thanks! :)

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Works great on linux. Cool concept. Don't have headphones or speakers so I couldn't rate audio if there is any.

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Great concept. Congrats

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I love the idea, and the window's visual effect is pretty cool. I liked the interactions between the two worlds.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Very nice game!

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Great idea, basic on the general principal of two world interaction but the window and the flow of this one, create a powerful game feel.
Some mechanisme are hard to understand, but the look/sound are so great that we could play hour.
The switch between the deux controllers is the weak part of the game, because it's build for three hands (two control and the mouse).

But what a great ground to make a powerful game grown.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

That was fun, pretty nice job

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:12am

I was so lost...I was the fucking rectangle I am so dumb lol nice work

Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Love the concept! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ljAqElzAd_Q

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]