Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Roller-Skating A-List Odyssey

by AnnaGavaldaKedavra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Audio is bugged like always, can't fix that sorry...

up Arrow to jump
right Arrow to dash
X to crouch

i used some images i didn't make, but i needed something to play in my theatre.


If you fail a level you are teleported randomly into another one.

If you succeed, you go to the next level and you can "unlock" the truth.

When you finish the game, it transform into something great and useful !

YOU CAPITALIST ****** **** ** * ********* ***** *** *** **** *** ** ** ******** *****.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#204Humor3.00
#564Mood2.98
#594Audio2.65
#677Innovation3.00
#781Theme2.90
#825Fun2.73
#829Overall2.94
#902Graphics2.53

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06am

Im not sure how to define this...but it is a wild ride all the same

Marcellus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

How could you comment his game 6 minutes only after he posted it ?

It took me more than 30 minutes to finish it !

Simon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

There's something utterly depressing in your game, and I'm not talking about the fact that it's very hard. I guess that's exactly what you were going for, right?

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

I thought it was hard but I kept trying.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

Great original idea! (:
Maybe don't repeat finished level?

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice game! Not entirely sure I "Got" it, but it was pretty addictive! I eventually got stuck on the In/An/Airplane part.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

@Ixeno : How would you have time to discover the truth then?

@Snail_Man : Very well done my friend! A real rollerskating hero! too bad you didn't finish and unlocked the BIG SURPRISE

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice game

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

This is awesome. The way that it's random which world you get to see next really makes is very tricky and absorbing. Very cool.

Majko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I don't get it.

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, but a little challenging.. also on my first try I didn't manage to do anything besides ducking and after 2 or 3 screens the character was gone <_<

frogcheese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

short but kinda fun. Was really troublesome once I got down to only one left...

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This is hard. Too hard, maybe, or the gameplay isn't fitting, I don't really know. Good music, though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

@Takashy87 : yeah sorry that can happen i lost a lot of tiny guys too still don't know where they can be.

@frogcheese : Normaly you have to finish the 12 lvl so you can go to the last 4. But i fucked up somewhere and also it was even harder, so if you just teleport to the 12th and beat it you reach the end, but you'll never know the FUCKING TRUTH! Play again. Or if you finished everything and still find it short it's cause your a platformer genius (i myself finish it in about 3minutes).

@Aomeas : Dude you just suck at videogames. My music could have been great but due to a lack of time it's just shitty, thx anyway :)

deepnight says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

About your comment:
That's really the 1st time I feel obliged to reply to a comment. But there's always a first time :)
I really alwyas do my best to follow the theme. On absolutely every LD I partcipate, I spend hours to simply figure out a gameplay that fits the theme. On this one, I actually started 2 different games before getting the idea for Chipset0 (I will post the timelapse tomorrow)
The actual only time I neglected the theme was on Minimalism, and still, I only think my interpretation was a bit (no ok, it WAS totally) twisted :)

Anyway, you're probably right about the comfort zone thing, and I will TRY my best on next LD to do something really different ;)

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:40am

Really weird yet somewhat compelling. The cyclical nature of the skateboarding makes the somewhat slippery physics more acceptable and the message of the game really starts to come through after seeing each screen over and over. If nothing else it's a breath of originality. Great job make a LD game that doesn't fit the mold!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:43am

Well, this was too hard for me. I tried, tried, tried, tried, I just couldn't get past some of these levels. I completely lost track of which was the furthest, but the hardest one was probably the one with no blue platforms, white background and a ton of red boxes? It felt impossible!

But I think that is where you were going with it. The meta mood of this game was creepy and sad. I don't know what to really say about it. It's the most interesting game I've played so far, by a very large margin so... there is that. It also feels solidly like a game, very polished in it's raw form.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

@mklee : Thx that was the point.

@john : it's the "club" and it's easy, i'll show you : crouch jump crouch jump crouch. (pro-tip : you can crouch the whole time cause i didn't have time to make it last only 0.7 seconds like intended). And for the rest you just won a kiss.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:04am

This is so cool I just wish it weren't so hard. I love how lively the backgrounds are, I don't know how you managed to make them all even with particle effects and things.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06am

Nice compelling game! A little bit too hard for me. One suggestion: unfinished levels should have an higher chance to appear as the next level. It is a little frustrating doing the same levels over and over again waiting for the right level to appear.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

@DDfranky : Yeah i wanted to improve the system but didn't have time, i want you to do the levels again and again so you have time to understand the words but it can be frustrating. (PRO-TIP : you can hit red boxes intentionaly when you understand the order to win some time).

dhargan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:04pm

bit hard but a nice idea. good job mate!

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

I fell through the world on the birthday cake level. I think I ducked right when I entered the screen. Still, it was fun while it lasted. Some of those levers are really tough :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice and hard little game!
Well done!

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Hah, this is great. I very much like this game. Really tough, pin-point precision gameplay, great mood and setting. Reminds of hotline miami a little!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Too difficult/fast for me, but I like the music and graphics. Nice game.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hi there. Interesting twist on the endless runner. Like the visuals, couldn't play it at all, missing platforms all over the place ;) Good job!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Ha ha - I flippin' LOVE this idea - and I love the style and everything: buuuut, woah, it's wayyyyyy to hard: watch someone (who is not you!) trying to hit those platforms... it quickly feels like it's not the player's fault, but the game's fault - need to avoid that!

But please please keep working on this post-comp: the idea is brilliant, and so much potential.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, fast and challenging (very difficult indeed). I believe I got all the levers pushed, and more or less I can reconstruct the meaning of the game. Nice entry.

lasagnegames says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:35am

I like the disturbing feeling created by the words and the background. But it's too hard and tends to become a little frustrating.

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:52am

Mwahaha, I looooove your game. I spent almost 30 minutes on it.
Very very very fun. The concept is awesome, graphics and audio are too fun. I was able to achieve the level DIE (very hard)!! But the game freezed when my character fell in the cloud level. :'( Great jobs. 5 stars overall for me!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:19am

A refreshing different game. I managed to finish it, but sometimes I had the feeling that the controls didn't do what I wanted them to do.
And the message is really ... dark.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]