Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Warehouse Connection

by Jesper Oskarsson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It all started when I was moving some boxes around the ol' warehouse. I
discovered some kind of glowing statue in one of those crates marked "fragile".

Suddenly the statue started altering its color, like some kind of code.

There was someone on the other side...
-------------------------------------------------------------------

The Warehouse Connection is a cooperative multiplayer game for 2 or more players. Each player plays in their own unique room where the only thing that connect them to the rest of the players are the mysterious statues. They have to work together to get further through the game.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

HOW TO PLAY:

* For optimal experience, get a friend or two on Skype to play with. (Only the first 4 levels can be completed solo)
* Approach statues and use the left mouse button to interact with them.
* When the gate is glowing, walk through it to get to the next level.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Cheap ass trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bny7WAfgkm4

If you can't find someone to play together with, add me on skype: jesperredien

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#334Theme3.55
#340Mood3.25
#365Graphics3.41
#369Innovation3.41
#454Overall3.30
#585Fun3.00
#818Audio2.18
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18am

I can't get the web link to work :(?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22am

It doesn't load at all or does the game not work?

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

The yellow cube makes it impossible to clear without friends, and that is pretty disappointing. It's cool that the game is multiplayer, but I hate it when games tell me I don't have enough friends to do something. I wish the was some way to clear solo even if it was really hard.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Oh, haha, didn't read the post first so got a bit confused by the yellow cube before finding out it was meant for multiplayer. Gonna rate later on when I can get somebody to play the rest with me!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

I really like this concept which is very original and fits great to this theme! I like the puzzle design, and I don't mind that it is multiplayer only. The simplistic look feel just right and has great colors. The experience would be even better with simple sounds added. Could be something like humming sounds originating from the pillars, which would as well guide the player towards them. Different kinds of pillars can be humming in different tones perhaps. And maybe the humming can be altered in some way, e.g. getting more intense, when the pillar is activated to further indicate that something happened.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

shico: Yeah I know what you mean hehe, but it's probably a good idea to make the game playable solo as you suggested. I'll have to think about how to do that!

Vavassor: Sounds good! :D

Robinerd: Another good idea there with the humming! :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I only played it alone and I really liked the style. The movement of the glowing pedestals, the motion of the door. The colour scheme was also interesting, although the warehouse as a whole felt pretty desolate.
I imagine that makes it better during coop.
I also really like the application of the theme. Where you and your friends inhabit the Connected Worlds and have to cooperate via voice alone.
Great Job!

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Game looks great - although I recommend that you add some instructions, or perhaps always display a crosshair that then changes colour when you are in a position to activate the shiny objects? I spent a good five minutes walking around in the room trying to figure out what I was supposed to do before I realized that I had to aim below the shiny cube in order to activate it (I had previously tried to aim directly at the cube (instead of below it) while spamming clicks and random keys).
Also, in level 3 (I think) where there are 3 cubes near each other, I first activated the one at the bottom and then one at the top, but when I activated the one at the top then both of them got activated - I guess this is a bug? It doesn't really affect gameplay, just wanted to let you know :)!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Hi there. Like the look and feel, mouse capture seemed weird (not recentering or something ?) might be me... Nice sounds for portals. Didn't try multiplayer -did first 3 rooms, have bookmarked for later. Cheers, Good job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Good mood. Like the details of the level. Nice portals. Good gameplay :) You need to put more challenging stuff into it. Good work. I like it

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Join game not seem to be working :/

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I like the style - the mist feels spooky and the design of the statues and portal adds to the creepiness. However, I didn't know until I quit and came to enter comments that the game was meant to be multiplayer-only. I spent a few minutes trying to figure out how to get the yellow statue to stay on long enough to get through. You should add a disclaimer, preferably within the game itself, that it is a multiplayer-only game. Adding some simple matchmaking would also go miles.
Great concept though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

It wouldnt let my friends connect, but it looks cool :) I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Well, the warehouse is rathe climatic (if a bit empty), and these pedestals and cubes are rather stylish, too...
...but it's still walking to buttons and then going to the door! >.<

Really, the most challenging part is finding someone else to play the game with. ^^"

(also, I take that the level when the gate is glowing from the beginning marks the completion of sorts?)

uprightpath says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Honestly had difficulty with this one, though that was more of a hardware issue since I use a laptop. The touchpad likes to stop working when keys are typed (Perhaps as a palm detection thing? No idea). Got out my mouse and played it.

I loved the graphics. Except the ceiling. And then it was more like I hated, but loved it. It creeped me out to look up and see the movement up there more than ANYTHING else in the game (Not that I played far). I blame the fact that I love the SCP project stuff so much.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Neat concept, I liked having the talk it over with my friends to play. It seems like I ran out of levels with content, and we were just walking straight into the doorway for a while. Still, I'd like to see more in this vein.

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Solid game logic. The crates hide stuff well, but I could always find the next tower if I went to one that I could see, so it stayed pleasant. No music and single player ended with yellow. It's off to a great start! I wish I would be teleported to somewhere other than this warehouse... kinda starts to make you claustrophobic like the intro to Portal / Portal 2 in their initial chamber. I could see this becoming a fun platform for a capture the flag sort of game. Add weapons and opponents and you've got base defense / capture the flag?

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I really like the idea of this game! Maybe the "multiplayer problem" could be somewhat solved by implementing a server list and chat (or Journey-like "pinging")? Of course, that might lessen the value of the core gameplay idea.
The warehouse is pretty atmospheric, and I would have loved to hear some more ambient background sounds/music completing the experience.
As the levels are quite vast, as they are based on exploring, I felt that I sometimes did a little too much unnecessary walking. Maybe utilising the height of the rooms more (when designing the levels) would allow for faster traversal while still retaining the exploration aspect? Super cool idea, would love to see it fleshed out and made more accessible somehow. A multiplayer game within 48 hours is super impressive btw, cool beans!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]