Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

byepolar

by bentog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Having two souls might not be as bad as it seems, but it can get difficult.

Controls are in-game, just pay attention to the notes.

By the way, if you manage to complete the game, please say so in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#12Theme4.29
#23Innovation4.21
#23Overall4.08
#41Mood3.94
#143Fun3.61
#190Audio3.38
#263Humor2.85
#315Graphics3.49

Comments

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Very interesting concept! Good job on integrating the theme so well. The first person camera is also finely tuned :)

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20am

THIS. Is awesome!
It's really hard to sift through the good and bad LDs, I hope a few more people come by and vote well :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36am

Amazing concept with a crazy mood. One of my favorites. Bravo ++

7i2i4n says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

Liked it :)

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

What can I say, insane! I like it! How did you get those sounds? :D

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really well done!! The game's mood and concept are amazing. The game's mood reminded me of Antichamber, a game I really enjoy.

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I really liked this entry. Very unique gameplay opportunity you took here. Refreshing to play a good LD game. Well done!

jawm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

really good game. brilliant use of the theme. challenging but very fun!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Super crazy, in good way, game. Make my brain to think more than usual :) and this is good. Enjoyed every step I took. Twice.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

AMAZING!!!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Very nice! A pretty simple idea but one I haven't seen much. The puzzles were well designed. I did run into a few problems while pushing blocks, but the levels are short enough that reloading isn't annoying. Great job!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

An interesting idea (reminded me of another LD game called Soliloquy http://ratking.de/2011/12/20/ld-22-soliloquy-post-mortem/)

Unfortunately the visual and puzzle design is hard to parse, which is a shame, especially with the amazing sound design and the strength of the core mechanic.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Loved it! Interesting mechanic, reminds me of what a lot of 2d games have done (controlling multiple characters simultaneously) but in in first-person 3d, which was a nice twist. Great integration with the theme as well!

AtsK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

A very interesting facet of the theme to look at story wise and a cool mechanic as well. The puzzles were a bit too "physicsy" at times, but other than that a lovely entry.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

Nice... neat puzzles! Made my head hurt a bit =D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

The core mechanic is well executed.

The dots started to hurt my eyes after a while unfortunately, but nonetheless this is very good.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Very nice game, the puzzles are a real brain twister.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really fun, definitely challenging. Not sure if dots was the right way to go, as it sometimes more things more confusing than it was. But that was part of the fun, right?

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

it was.. trippy!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Wow! nice abstract concept! Great work :D

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Max innovation. A bit of a mind bender; definitely something that could be developed into a larger project. Nice work!

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

It was great. Very challenging puzzles. I got stuck on the room where it read "some boxes have two souls but the red one likes to mirror the white one"

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Hi there. Interesting take on the block-one/move-one puzzle. Like the presentation.Found the graphics a bit too deliberately 'hard-to-see'. Nice almost-empty sounds. Good job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:16am

Nice concept, you see this kind of game a lot with 2d games but it's the first 3d game that I've ever seen to do 2 characters with the same input. Neat change of perspective.

The environment was a bit hard on the eyes.

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:41am

Crazy concept! It's awesome to bring the well known concept of two worlds controls at once into the third dimension. I had to say it was insanely difficult for me :) Great work.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:45pm

This was really good.

Tosic says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Extremely well done - the take on the theme, the humor, the mood, the sounds, good job, I also love it requires some thinking! I am so glad this is the 100th game I rated! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]