Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected

by ZwodahS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Let me know if there is any problem.

http://zwodahs.github.io/blog/2014/08/25/ludumdare-postmortem/

my run : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szmVDLepoW4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#104Theme3.89
#211Innovation3.63
#297Overall3.47
#314Fun3.34
#358Mood3.23
#552Graphics3.11
#721Humor2.11
#836Audio2.15

Comments

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice idea! I like that ascii art feel.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Neat! I kept getting stuck against the edges, especially in the forest world, but I like the concept of each world feeding into the next. I never really felt much of a sense of urgency, but that's fine. It was still amusing to play around with for a little while.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Was a little confused at the end but I enjoyed the game and liked the art style.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Press (space) to grab the object :D. I just posted a victory run on youtube =)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

A very nice ascii game that blends real-time and turn-based play. I liked the feel of playing essentially a different game in each section, while realizing that any mistakes in one world hurt my chances in another. "Don't get stuck" indeed.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Post Ld version are posted in itch instead :D

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I really liked the concept after I figured out what I was doing! It got really confusing at some parts though.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice job! Took me a minute to get the hang of it, but a nice little game there. I liked the use of ASCII art...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very good mecanics and well made game. Seems really hard though. Good use of the theme. I would have prefered to use arrow keys to move though.

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Version 1.2.2 with key remapping in itch.io :D

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Most clever game yet. A little bugged but still a 5/5 :0

Digiraze says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I enjoyed that. Great job!

suurin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I like that idea, really enjoying gameplay and interesting implementation of the theme!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very good graphics (really, even though they are really simple!). Fun to play!

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I really like this one, good gameplay and the art is perfect for this mecanic.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I was playing and suddenly I managed to lock up all of the controls some time after I got the first lava block to the grass world... Very challenging though - I enjoyed playing. The micro-management quickly becomes intense! (especially with the water world - I was never able to keep up)

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Made a in game menu popup :D version 1.3 on itch.io. The submission version will remain in dropbox I guess.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:10am

very good liked turn based idea and the simple but awesome art style I hope you add some stuff even after ld ends

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]