Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sungates

by ThijsTak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry for the ludum dare compo. It's a mini 4x game where you need to conquer the galaxy. A few thing to note:
- I forgot to add in the ingame manual that you can right click to close the command and buildings window.
- For some reason the difficulty selector doesn't always work in the web version. Switch a tab and it will respond as normal. I'm not sure what the problem is.

Everything is explained in the game manual, but a quick summary:
User the WASD or arrow keys to move the ship and the mouse to aim and shoot in battle.
Click on worlds to interact with them.
You can't get resources without construing a sungate on a conquered world. This is the only building available in the build menu on those worlds.
Don't forget the fill fleet button to replenish your ships. See manual for more details.
Pick easy if you want a quick game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#444Theme3.40
#465Audio2.83
#625Innovation3.07
#651Fun2.93
#694Humor2.13
#746Overall3.02
#788Mood2.73
#1020Graphics2.31

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Building a planetary 4X game in 48 hours is quite ambitious! I'm impressed that you managed to pull it off.
However, the interface feels awkward and buggy. The art, while passable, brings it down a bit.
This is something that needs more time and work. You've made quite a lot of ground in quite a short period though!

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

One of the best games I've played so far! I really love the music!

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

I won! This was an interesting game to play. I don't know if there was anything I could have done though to lose.

Well done on getting this done in 48 hours! It's impressive!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

I hate interface.. But everything else is really neat! And that epic space battles! Nic work!

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

Ambitious project. And you finished it.
But the controls are tedious. For example, the game could show the Planet "Info" in smaller font size in the upper left corner just when selecting or hovering over a world. And the names of the planets could be shown permanently on the map.

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

I like the ship battles, but as for the strategy, tl:dr... But seems good! :)

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23am

This is incredibly ambitious and impressive! I'm afraid I got stuck inside a build dialog box and couldn't get out of it though :(

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

I love games like this, so I had fun for a while!

Horridgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I Liked it. A few minor bugs here and there but overall a good game. :D

-GV

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

Great entry.

nilstastic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50am

Pros: Nice graphics (ships), and very impressive on creating a 4x in 48h. =)
Cons: As others have said, the interface hurts

Budaniel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice concept, and fun to play. Once I conquered a few planets and expanded my fleet, I didn't have to do much fighting myself.

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

The ui was confusing, but i liked the concept of it

Vytheros says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Idea is pretty good, although the UI is hard to navigate and the art is meh.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:01pm

i like the game concept. the space fights were funny to. but i felt like the interface could have been way better in introducing to the game and giving feedback about your possibilitys.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Fun little strategy game; and I love strategy games. Controls and interface could use some work, and the transition from battles back to the map is very jarring, but the gameplay is otherwise fantastic. Nice job.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Hey this game is great ! I had a lot of fun playing it. And I also learn what a "4x" game is btw :). I jsut regret the arcade part is too easy : You just have to flee in opposite directio nwhile shooting and you get more range than ennemies this way

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Like all other commenters: UI and art need improvement.
But a really fun little game!

someone says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

That was great. The battles were awesome.
The fill fleet button didn't seem to work all the time.
The interface definitely needs improvement. It would be nice if you didn't have to click twice to get to the build menu, and more info on the build menu is definitely needed. It also took a while to figure out right click closed the menus.

ThijsTak says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Thanks for the encouragement and constructive comments everyone, I really appreciate it. It's pretty unanimous where the weakest link is for this game. It is definitely something I'm going to work on for the next ludum dare.

I'm a bit on the fence on whether I'm going to expand this into an actual game or not. I guess only time will tell.

I'm glad most of you enjoyed it.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Hi there. Crashed my Chrome completely almost froze computer. First time this has happened this LD. Not rated.

mechabit says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Can't rate because the webplayer has the context menu on so I can't right click to dismiss windows. (You can create no context menu webplayers in player settings)

ThijsTak says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:23pm

@mechabit
Thanks, I didn't know that. I'll have a look at it.

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice game, congrats!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:16am

The interface could do with some work, as there were times that hitting on info meant restarting the game as I couldn't do anything else. Interesting take on the theme. Well done!

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Super fun! really enjoyed managing my troops and conquering.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]