Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trust Music

by Fonserbc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play with sound!!!

Resize the window at will, you may have better frame-rate.

WASD to move, mouse to look around, SPACE to close/open eyes, any key to play a chord.

I didn't have enough time to put all I wanted! But at least got 3 levels.

Made in GooCreate https://www.goocreate.com/

Accessing the source requires registration on the site.

@fonserbc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Innovation4.23
#20Audio4.04
#32Mood4.00
#139Overall3.70
#267Graphics3.58
#327Fun3.31
#514Theme3.32
#551Humor2.33
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

Running chrome on Win8 I was unable to see anything. I pressed space to open my eyes but the screen stayed black. While pressing keys, I could hear music.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

@bobrocks fixed now!

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Cool concept and graphics. Looks kinda glitchy sometimes, and is hard to control. My mouse sensitivity was super high so I would often spin and get lost

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Game looks really cool, but there's lots of rendering bugs on my end. Chrome on Win7, everyting is always flashing in and out of existance and appears unsorted. Dunno why this is, but it's pretty hard to play like that :\

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

got lost...but very nice :D

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very nice! I loved the maze in level 2, but after that level 3 seemed really easy. I also liked the little details like the guitar notes as footsteps :)

There seems to be some weird flickering that occurs when I'm looking in certain directions, that and the FOV is way too low. Apart from that, pretty solid entry!

ViKing Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I loved the concept and graphics! Obviously, the sound was well done too.
However, I could sometimes see the walls disappearing before my eyes finished closing, especially at the maze and onwards.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very cool sonar-like mechanic. I kept wishing I could rapidfire pulse with my eyes closed though. Maybe have the burst linger and 'reflect' off surfaces or something so it doesn't fade so quickly and see how it plays. Nice work!

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nice idea and the mood. You have my vote for something fresh after looking at all those space games with planets :D

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Cool game but the graphics flickered like crazy for me, couldn't seem to fix it on my end. Playing chords gives a cool effect though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice idea, and I liked the audio. I found the mouse sensitivity a bit high, and managed to fall down a hole, but I like the concept of a world seen through sound.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

One of my favorites so far - 5 stars. Really loved the concept and execution. Great chord sounds. The walking sound eventually got old, though I liked it at first. The only other thing was I wished my eyes would close faster! When I was switching back and forth rapidly it felt like a lot of waiting. But those are minor critiques to an otherwise awesome entry. I'm proud to say I beat it!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Very high marks here! Sound got a bit stuttery for some reason, but the game concept itself is superb. Got to the end and was well chuffed. :) (no flickering issues here on Chrome)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

Love the concept, and the graphics are great - good job, Fonser! :D ~Del

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Augmented the FOV and lowered the mouse sensitivity

albertnez says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Good job! I loved the idea, and how everything matched so nicely. Glad to play games with original and new concepts :P

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:00am

Really interesting mechanic, shame how the game glitched out a bunch, because it looked super nice otherwise.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

This was a great entry! Unfortunately, the graphics flickering gave me a pretty bad headache--and I'm pretty sure it wasn't my computer, since I built it less than a year ago. Everything else has already been said... other than that it might be neat to have the *base* state of the game be to play with your "eyes closed" and the screen black. You might be unable to walk while playing guitar or something like that. Then I think that the opportunity to see would be even more exciting!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really nice audio, and neat effect when revealing the world through music. Nice entry. :)

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25am

Love the "radar" effect of the eyes-closed mechanic. Great idea overall!
I would have put some sort of transition between levels, the change is too sudden! haha

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Hi there. Love the lighting effect when strumming chords in dark... that's great. Good job!

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I couldn't move with the mouse but I was still able to get to the point where you play chords... That was awesome.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:06pm

lovely <3

psychonull says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Nice idea and well implemented ( I didn't hit any issue as described in other comments). This game with more levels and some extra puzzle elements would keep me plugged a good time! Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]