Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Screen

by varun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Travel between cyberspace and the real world.

Controls:
Real World - WASD to Move, Q/E to Lean, Shift to Crouch, and Click to Interact
Cyberspace - WASD to move, Q/E to Roll, and Click to Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Theme4.16
#102Overall3.77
#112Mood3.63
#125Innovation3.82
#146Graphics3.86
#213Audio3.32
#260Fun3.42
#476Humor2.45

Comments

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52am

I really love the theme and the look...but I'm stuck in the first cyberspace area. When I get to the other end of the passage and click the other cylinder, I just go back to the terminal where I started...

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

Awesome idea. The mood of both worlds are done very well.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very good game, I love what you did with the wireframe cyberspace.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice work with the line-drawing :D

Demorro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

A really creative idea. Love it.

Bemmu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Very impressive work for 48 hours. It's amazing that you managed to model all this given the limited time and include sound and music as well. The enemies even seem to only react when they can see the player. I guess this is what it looks like when you get really familiar with Unity. Attempting this with something like Flash, I would probably be stuck just trying to get my rotation matrix to work for the first few hours :)

To me the game was pretty difficult though. I could get from the computer to the tablet computer on the desk, but from there couldn't proceed anymore as the red spheres would always get me.

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Neat idea! It was tough to tell what areas were wall in cyberspace. The graphics were amazing, did you really design that all in 48 hours?

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Cool game my man

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Wow, that was really well done! The cyberspace part reminded me of playing Descent, so much fun! I was a bit confused on what to do after flipping the two switches, but I eventually made it through to the end.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

I suppose if my laptop didn't suck, and if I wasn't using a laptop, this game would be a lot easier to control. I really lose my sense of direction in Cyberspace.

The music was great, and the overall theme was pretty cool and TRON-ish. The mouse-sensitivity was way too high for a touch-pad, especially on a junky laptop like mine. Great effort and cool graphics!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

Interesting idea. I like the visual queues between worlds, and the old-school stylings.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03am

Oh man that was a cool game to play :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Awesome idea. The mood of both worlds are done very well. Good game ++

phasebeta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20am

Cool concept actually. I like going inside electronics. Pretty impressive for the time given actually.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

Good work :D

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

I'm having a hard time dodging any attacks in cyberspace, So I just keep dieing. Is there really any point to rolling? It just seems to make you spin in midair.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

nice use of the theme! Great work!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

Really nice game. I like it.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36am

Cool concept, name, intro, music, artwork... This whole thing oozed polish. Excellent work.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Nice game bro. Although shooting feels a bit wierd

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44am

Really cool look. I think a game like this could be CRAZY in multiplayer. People popping out of electronics devices and stuff, would definitely be interesting.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59am

Awesome :) really liked the style and atmosphere. Kinda difficult though.

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59am

Sometimes movement is on the slow side, but overall I like the game. :D I love how you can roll! The cyberspace area can be a little disorienting, but it worked fine. Good job on this! :D

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

Really dig the concept, the wireframe levels were a bit confusing at first (maybe some transparent surfaces / depth perception would have helped?), but still really cool! :)

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

This is absolutely fantastic! Great job!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

The wireframe rendering looks quite interesting :)

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

Love the wireframe renders. I would just did not like how sometimes when you switch to the cyber world you start getting shot immediately. The spawn camping is real.

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Really well done entry and challanging, nice job! A bit frustrating to get killed far in tho an not always sure what is shooting at you.

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59am

REALLY NICE ARe you Sure You Made It In 48 Hours????

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

That's awesome! I love the concept and style. Very System Shock.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14am

Absolutely beautiful.
Holding off rating until someone can tell me that this is 100% original work done entirely in the given timespan -- not that I doubt you! Just want to be sure :3

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18am

Excellent visuals each world and interesting game design.
Good game!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Great use of the theme, well done. Quite difficult though, some of the red cones are just immune to gunfire?

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really cool ! The final boss is not that hard but it's ok because that way you can finish the game :D
Loved the game, the infiltration part and the shooter part in the virtual world. It's cool !
I just had some problems to know where I had to go in the real world and where I was in the virtual one but it's ok, you get used to it !

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I like the concept, but would like to have seen more interaction between the two worlds. Looks great!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Wow, this is really cool great work on the visual and sound design. Did you really model all this in only 48 hours? That's great! Smooth controls.

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Really cool concept and the cyberspace is trippy.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Cyberspace is a dangerous place! The guards voices were extremely difficult to understand but the art and concept are awesome!

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Managed to reach the end. That was a really solid game! Good concept and execution. The cyber enemies surprised me a few times because they were positioned right after a transition, but for the rest the level design was great. Nice work!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Wow.

Laddo D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

very clever

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Really nicely done!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Great game, really difficult tough. I had the impression that shooting stuff in the cyber world didn't have any effect. I really liked the roll feature though :)

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Great game and great idea. I couldn't get very far in it, but a solid idea and it looked great very trippy.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

The cyberspace wireframe world was occasionally a bit tricky to navigate, but picked up the mechanics quick enough. Didn't manage to escape though, couldn't figure out what the switch did in the closed room. Nifty idea though, and interesting dual-gameplay mechanic.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

This is the TRON game we deserve

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

One of my favorite. Graphics are great ++

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

Great idea. Lot of work for 48 hours. I like the wire graphics.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Nice cyber world :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Interesting world! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Wonderful combination, reminded me of Descent and System Shock

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

WE WILL FIND YOU!

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice job, we gave lots of feedback in the stream which I will not repeat here because it's long but hopefully it was helpful :D

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33am

Woooooow!

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very nice idea, reminds me of the book Neuromancer! I found the virtual world graphics a bit confusing but they matched the "mood". Great job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I love how you used the theme. The sneaking aspect was done well and the movement (including the footsteps) added to the suspense. You had crouch but it wasn't really used, I guess it's okay or even fun?

The blue color designating the screens was smart in virtual world.

I like the enemy design of the cones, but the strategy for everything seemed to be the same in virtual world.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:44pm

It's hard to figure out what's going on in cyberspace at first, but then it becomes quite fun :) Well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

so awesome! great job! cyberspace is awesome!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Nice stealth game. Voice is a bit hard to make out, but really good presentation. :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool concept. Glad you had some checkpoints in there, that helped a lot. Didn't figure out I could hold down the mouse button till the end :) click, click, click, click, click, click

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Really cool mechanics, and it felt pretty awesome in 'cyber-space' great job!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Sweet game, I really liked the overall style and atmosphere a lot. The sound effects for traveling between areas were a lot louder than the music, which was too bad because I really liked the music! In some areas it felt a bit confusing and difficult to navigate, but in a way I felt it fit the mood of the game. I'd definitely like to see more from this if it was ever expanded on! Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I love the idea (and the graphics), but the controls feel a little unresponsive.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really impressive. The cyberspace part was a bit disorienting for me, but like another commenter I'm using a laptop and tracker pad.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice concept and quite good execution. One of the most polished 48h I've played so far. Nicely done!

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I thought the wireframes were a really nice aesthetic touch, and the whole game has a great atmosphere to it! My only criticisms would be that the movement is a little slow, but apart from that, this was a fun game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Difficult to get a sense of what's around me in cyberspace what with the completely transparent walls, also I kinda got lost after going in and out of it a couple of times.

On the other hand, the wireframe style is a very cool idea. Maybe the walls could be semi-transparent in the same color as the wireframe pieces?

Also, the enemies react very quickly and sometimes you enter cyberspace and they're right there, so they can be a little tough.

Generally though, the idea of a sneaky fps + cyberspace Descent/Forsaken hybrid is very cool, could definitely turn into something excellent. The "directionless" movement is very cool.

The real world models are also quite nice, and I like the music.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Cool wireframe effect, but hard to navigate because hard to see. A map screen would be nice, like in the old Doom game. Strafing up and down also needed. And a speed boost key of some sort. Excellent graphics and great idea for game.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Excellent. I want to see a post-compo version, because I want more! :D Cheers!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great concept and look!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:25am

Great idea, I like it ^^

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Hi there. Love the cyberspace design/models/combat. The sounds are spot on for the time. Couldn't work out how to get to final part of cyberspace map. Good job!

Tom Gardiner says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Takes a while to get used to, however I really like the wireframe graphics! I'm not sure if the difficulty was a little to high though

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Very cool idea, the cyberspace needs some visual love though - either add some transparent textures to the walls or make the lines fade out in the distance, it was hard to get depth perception and very easy to get lost...

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Interesting concept ! Too bad that cyberspace hurts my eyes so much X).

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Great idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]