Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

New Ludum Dare Game

by Crowbeak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's unfinished. Read the "not ready" branches; those are finished. Made in Twine, so it should be playable in just about any browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#95Humor3.37
#657Mood2.87
#879Innovation2.74
#918Fun2.62
#959Audio1.63
#1093Overall2.54
#1105Theme2.18
#1172Graphics1.87

Comments

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

I swear, there aren't that many earthquakes where I live.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

I'm from Alaska. Even big earthquakes don't really scare me. Our buildings are built for them, so minimal damage occurs. It was just the first thing I thought of and could easily implement before going to work. xD

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

So meta!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51am

(y) <- nuff said ;p
Did you start making game before theme announcement xD?

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

As already stated.
Such meta.
Such short.
Very funs.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55am

Thank you for the kind words, folks. :D

fcpfoof: No, I didn't. xD But I definitely wasn't prepared due to other obligations.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

It's sad you weren't able to finish it, would have been interested to see more. :)

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really cool!

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

I enjoy the spirit of the game -- but like others, I wish there were more of it. Still, it's good that you entered and what is there is definately fun to play through. Other things get in the way of completing, I completely understand and was nearly in that position myself. Can we expect a post-compo release maybe?

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

Definitely has a good mood to it. It's very encouraging and heartfelt.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I don't know if I'll do a post-compo release. I feel like it would be appropriate; I wanted to have a whole bunch of things crop up during the game -- significant other wants to go to a movie, work calls, etc. Basically, have other areas of life all coming down on you while trying to Ludum Dare. More meta! :3

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19am

a really cool idea, with the potential of being an introductory game to Ludum Dare and/or twine.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37am

Hmm. Introductory Ludum Dare game. You know, I hadn't actually thought about that.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Cool concept, too bad my story ended quickly :D

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

It would be cool to see a post-compo version of this game as a motivation for other game devs for the next Ludum Dare :)

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Your words are so smooth, it touches my heart (LOL I DONT KNOW HOW TO COMPLIMENT WARNING! WARNING! WARNING!!), but I wished you had finished it, would like to see more of it! ^^

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

Very cool idea. I'd love to see a more completed version of it.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Fun and simple. love it.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

With the idea of it being an introduction to Ludum Dare game, I probably will continue it. It won't go the original direction I planned, though. xD

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I would like to see this expanded :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:52am

Interesting start. I like how you replace the text for multiple "no not reallys" with some humor. I kinda wish the end was something positive instead of earthquakes :D

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:39am

I had a nice chuckle. Good use of Twine.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Hi there. Real shame you didn't have time to finish - in a self-referential way, I suppose you should have not finished deliberately. Great promotional piece for LD!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

But... but how is my snake? D:
(quite meta, clearly unfinished; not that there are many earthquakes in my area... ^^")

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

EARTHQUAKE!!!
Short game, nice writing. Would have been great to be able to play a more complete version. Keep at it, this should be the official pre-Ludum Dare game! Make it happen!!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Would've liked to see more, but it was an interesting experience.

oranebeast says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:53am

Y know, it was a great sounding board for all my problems. It got me out of depression. (Just kidding, great game btw. Which hang out in irc worked)

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

IF YOU SAY CROWBEAK THREE TIMES WHILE PLAYING THIS GAME IN THE MIRROR THERE IS AN EARTHQUAKE AND CROWBEAK CLIMBS OUT OF THE GROUND AND MAKES YOU A CUP OF TEA

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:07pm

well, great you managed to submit a game

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Cool game, I liked your take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]