Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Took Ghost Cat's Donut

by Teejay5 - Jam Entry

They Took Ghost Cat's Donut, and now she's pissed.

@_Teejay5

rightfully, though. like I'd be pissed if someone took my donut. In fact, there might not be many things that trouble me more than the thought of someone taking my donut. hm. this has been an insightful chain of thought.

This game controls better with a gamepad; if you have one, BUST IT OUT!

Pro-tip; the fireball is more effective than the laser. spam it if you can't get through. Press space to skip the intro!

UPDATE: The game should be beatable now. Other than tweaking, I added no extra content.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#78Graphics(Jam)4.24
#112Humor(Jam)3.28
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#480Fun(Jam)2.86
#585Innovation(Jam)2.67
#594Theme(Jam)2.59
#659Audio(Jam)1.44

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

There is no game link.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

Visuals and shaders are great, but its so hard. I can't pass even 2nd island.

enderargent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice graphics!!

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:57am

Cute looking game! Pretty difficult though.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42am

Absolutely love the art/colors, so vibrant :D.
Super hard game, took forever just to workout a method to get through the first island and couldn't get past the second but love the premise, that intro scene is brilliant, nice job :).

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Beautiful use of light. And love seeing a bit of cloth too.

I couldn't get very far, somehow hard to sight on those pesky whatever they ares. Can you have a 3rd person camera so you can be behind ghost cat perhaps?

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I GOT MURDERED SO HARD!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Funny, but so god damn hard XD

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43am

some audio would have been nice, but otherwise this was a pretty fun game! :)

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25am

Coudn't do anything against first enemies. Weapons doing nothing.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

It was a bit strange to go with no visibility, but I found the universe fun.
It's not advised to jump when a enemy is pushing you, it's just pushing you in the void so fast when you are in the air.

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Call it 'user hostile' or not, it's just too hard to actually be fun. I like your art style, though.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

Amazing aesthetics! Loved the game and made it through easy version :) The main problem is that it's almost impossible to aim anywhere except four movement direction, but enemies approach from all sides.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice game with great graphics, but very hard.

everystone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

Nice game, a bit short. Loved the brains in a jar, reminded me of futurama

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:00am

Beautiful art style! I didn't hear any sounds or music though. I played on a keyboard and the controls felt a bit clunky. But I made it through. Overall, good work!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Well that was neat, except I just jumped past all the enemies and beat it in ~30 seconds.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Great aesthetic and humor, but crikey this game is tough! Nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Hi there. Got the donut. Like the weapon effects. Shame no sound. Good job!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Like others said, great aesthetic and humor, too bad there is no sound.

You could implement better controls with keyboard and mouse, what would be good for a web game.

@Nooner Bear : your post needs a spoiler tag ;)

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Web didn't work for me. Downloaded Windows.
Got the donut in the second try. :)
Cool visuals, sadly no audio. The keys for the controls are assigned somewhat strangely and I could not find out how to get the fireball working.
But overall, it was fun. :)

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:13am

Huh, is the web version not working for anyone else? It's still up on my end, maybe I didn't share it properly..?

Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:24am

Nice game and pretty polished in some aspects! Good job.

radmars says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice! I like how the gameplay is based on the physics of getting pushed around, would be cool if you could only push enemies off instead of killing them. Great graphics too, and +1 for gamepad support.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This could be a really great entry if it was longer but as it is, it really doesn't feel complete. Even some filler planetes with the same enemies would do.

foodzilla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Interesting! Kinda fun in a simple way

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:43am

Aw, that ghost cat is ADORABLE! I like how she just has sort of a veil that comes off sometimes, haha. The gameplay is a bit on the simple side, but it's still fun. I can't believe you made the laser look amazing, but less effective though :P

Oh, and I really like the graphics - the stylized low-poly look works really well. I'm still waiting for you to make a game with beatboxing music though! And I'm sorry: By the time you are reading this sentence, I have stolen and eaten your donut. It was delicious.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]