Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Privilege Escalation

by FlashRocks - Jam Entry

Privilege Escalation is less a game, and more an... "experience". In it, you are whitehat, an (obviously white hat) hacker. It seems that even in the afterlife, people do not understand that your line of work is completely legal. So, you have been thrown in hell.

However, you have noticed that the afterlife uses a Unix-like shell to control the various aspects of the area. Maybe you can use that to your advantage, and spend eternity with the clouds and nyan cat...

WARNING: Please do not exit fullscreen mode, else everything may break!

Team:
FlashRocks (a.k.a: bobbybee): programming
Matthew Petry (a.k.a: fire219): art, music

Controls:
Standard WASD/arrow keys apply. Some scenes do not allow up/down movement. In the terminal scene, you need to click the input box to type commands, and in some browsers, it may be necessary to also click the enter box.

Common pitfalls:
In the control room, the only way out is through the computer. You need to get the passcode through the computer as well. You cannot teleport to heaven from the computer. Once you reach heaven, the game is over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Humor(Jam)3.24
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#409Theme(Jam)3.12
#468Fun(Jam)2.88
#563Audio(Jam)2.39
#604Overall(Jam)2.88
#740Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Interesting concept! Loved the backstory.

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Havn't seen a game like this in a while. :)

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Short, sweet and silly. I like it :)

leondryaso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very nice concept, but I accidentally left the fullscreen mode and since than I can't do anything

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

@leondryaso

You can potentially right-click and click fullscreen, but still.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Loved the hacking experience, I would add a root access. :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

It's funny, and I like the depiction of hackers as cholesterol addled dorks with ugly fedoras. But I just didn't find it enjoyable as a game.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Interesting hacking, and interesting concept.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Quite unique, a different take on the theme. Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hi there. Liked the idea. Found the computer part slightly frustrating, couldn't ftp down metasploit...

brookman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:40am

That was fun. :) Did I finish the game when entering heaven? Why is there another computer there? Can I do anything else?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]