Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Outer Body

by vanZeben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Built in pure Java in 48 Hours

Instruction:

Going into cover will make your spirit invisible on the other side. You can temporarily reverse your polarity to move your spirit out of limbo... But this takes a lot of stamina to control, which you can replenish by hiding. Baddies will attempt to eat your spirit so watch out!


Controls:
- Space Bar to start game... Tap space bar to hide in open doors/go invisible
- W or Up to reverse your polarity...


I streamed most of the game over on my twitch page @ http://www.twitch.tv/vanZeben

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#88Graphics4.03
#92Theme3.93
#125Audio3.55
#178Fun3.55
#217Mood3.42
#218Overall3.57
#273Humor2.83
#350Innovation3.43

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

Another ghost game, cool! Hitting the least popular final round theme as well as the chosen one, a great way to go. Made it maybe 1500, then died a terrible spirit death.

fissionmoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Fun game, I really like the artstyle and music. One thing though, after I closed it the music just kept playing until I found the process in the task manager and killed it. You might want to add a quit button or something that closes the game properly.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

I've seen this concept before, but the graphics and mood is awesome :) Good job!

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

For some reason it's not working for me on Linux. Throws exception: "javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: line with format PCM_SIGNED 44100.0 Hz, 16 bit, stereo, 4 bytes/frame, little-endian not supported."

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

Fun little game with some unique gameplay. I like the simplicity in the controls and the pixel character's walk cycle. The music has that perfect "spooky" vibe. I think if there was one thing that could be improved, it's the interface. There's text going off the screen, aligned funny, etc. But overall I enjoyed it, got around 1800 points!

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Sweet job! The graphics, idea, and sound are all awesome! Pretty fun too :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

Great game! Solid concept and graphics are awesome (:

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Nice simple game :), great graphics and the music adds that nice "spooky" tone. Great job! Although the game does not close properly, music still plays but thats only a minor complaint

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I scored 2000, great work! the concept is original! it would be awesome if you added more stuff but its ok :D Nice!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Fun little runner. Could have been a bit more challenging up front.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Clever game, great use of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]