Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GAMUT - Hidden Color Worlds

by jurnacsr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GAMUT - Hidden Color Worlds pits you against a newly resurgent enemy equipped with more ships than ever! Pilot the new ship GAMUT, slip between the Color Worlds, and restore your ultimate weapon, the Breaker Beam.

v1 - There is a bug in Firefox. If you can, please play in Chrome while I get the bugs squashed!

v1.01 - Firefox bug gone! Firefox doesn't like zero'd args with a canvas. I'll make sure to remember that in the future! If you can, still - please play in Chrome. The audio is sometimes odd in Firefox because of the number of sounds playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Fun3.42
#465Audio2.83
#552Graphics3.11
#604Mood2.93
#654Overall3.11
#934Theme2.63
#1005Innovation2.47
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:25pm

After the message 'Starting the Game', the icons (health, etc.) on the lower screen disappear, only the ship is visible (and disappears then, too).

IndexSizeError: Index or size is negative or greater than the allowed amount game.min.js:51

Also you should not log (in config.js:55) because logging slows the game down.

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Always something..thanks for reminding me about the debugging stuff. I will fix the errors.

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I was able to replicate your problem - its not working in Firefox. If you can play it in Chrome, please try that while I iron out the Firefox issue. Something about not giving the right number of args to a javascript function...

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I have everything working now - no errors!

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

It's hard to tell the difference between good things (power ups) and bad things (enemy missiles) so i tended to avoid everything.

The Shift mechanic was explained earlier, but when I got to that part I forgot how it worked, and had to figure it out again.

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11am

Can't go wrong with a side scrolling shooter, nice work!
What was the reason for the colour worlds though? I just realised when you change it, it just changes the enemy colours?

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

You get different powerups from different colored enemies. Red enemies drop wepaon power upgrades, green drop health upgrades, etc.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very classy shm'up. HUGE MESS onscreen :D Like in childhood

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

nice shooting action!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

How cool is this?! I loved first level, and then more mechanics were added! Amazing.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

Nice combinaison betwenn keyboard and mouse. Graphics are cool and funny. Well done ++

dhargan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:59pm

very good game! idea of using mouse to target in a sidescrolling game is really nice. good job mate!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Good job, liked the graphics. Felt pretty easy though and to me that became slow and kind of boring, I think upping difficulty and rate of color changes would make a lot of difference! Nice entry though! :)

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Didn't work in Safari, worked in Chrome. I want to shoot things with the breaker beam!!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

straightforward shooter with nice graphics and sounds, and a twist on the theme, very nice :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Hi there. Impressive pixel graphics. Particularly like the background objects parallax. Also like the generous provision of restore health. Nice full screen of moving ships, gunfire and explosions. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]