Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lucy Dreaming

by Trilby - Jam Entry

It looks like this game has become a first person platformer. (I wanted it to be like Myst.) The aim of this game is to collect all five of those "eye" things scattered around the level.

Use WASD to move yourself and use the mouse to look around. Space is jump and f toggles the fullscreen.

Note: You may have to click on the embedded game first to be able to play it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Mood(Jam)3.54
#312Audio(Jam)3.22
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#577Fun(Jam)2.68
#611Overall(Jam)2.86
#649Innovation(Jam)2.46
#716Theme(Jam)2.00
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18am

I like your art style.

You can jump awfully far for how high it looks like you're jumping.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Aww... I wanted to play this... But it's Unity Web and the Unity Web Player isn't available on Linux. :( Gonna upload ports?

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50am

Maybe. :)

Trilby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

I've made a Linux build for the Linux users. To exit the game at any point, just press f to toggle out of the fullscreen. If you encounter any problems, feel free to leave a message about it here.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very cool game! I enjoyed jumping through space collecting eye. I would have the transition a little slower, and maybe the jump a little farther, I was always unsure if I made the jump. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Pretty cool, bit of a floaty jump though, and that staircase is mighty slow. But nice visuals.

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Really like the music and sound effects. I fell a couple times but finally reached the end. I found it enjoyable.

Also, I like the message at the end of the game haha :)

Nice entry.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10pm

The jumping physics were really off, so even though you can jump far enough to make it, it really doesn't feel like you can. The Dragon Quest-style static-y walking noise is cute, but it needs a jumping sound to match!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34am

Woo! That was fun! :D I had a bug at some points where it wouldn't let me turn the camera all the way to the left or right. To fix I needed to turn a 360. Not sure if that's a linux only problem, but yea. :P

AND THEY WAVE! D'AWWWWWW... :3

And... how did you know I was supposed to be sleeping right now? :P

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33pm

with a longer stairway i would have been able to sleep ;)

Trilby says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

@fil00dl

You should be proud that you've climbed a hundred steps.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:11am

Pretty sweet. Agree that jumps look scarier than they are...Also funny how most people thing of red and blue when doing the two different worlds (my entry included) :)

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice trippy little game. I don't enjoy 3D jumping stuff, and it was hard to get a sense of how close to the edge you were for some reason, though. Graphics are neat, though and I like the little eye-thingies :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:42am

Pretty cool - but I don't really see the theme in it, and the footstep sound was really annoying. The setting was interesting, the scene is pretty striking!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:22am

Reminds me a lot to LSD on the Playstation. I liked the idea and graphics but the jumping felt a bit off and somewhat clunky. Nice job anyway :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Hi there. Best 1st person 3d abstract platformer I've played in LD30 so far. Generous physics around jump, collected the little wavy things and finished level. Good sound, Slightly more texture or something would help on the long staircases. Good job!

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fun little platformer. The jump does feel a little weird, but it doesn't detract from the experience.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Don't really get how it's a connected world but I really enjoyed it anyways. I would've played more levels. Love the fullscreen option.

Trilby says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:53am

@RHY3756547, @RobotFriend

Thanks for playing my game. My original vision is probably more suited to the theme as it involves entering through doors to get to the eyes and each door leads to a different themed world with different challenges. There will definitely be a post compo version of this at some point.

(I was sort of hoping those staircases and platforms are enough to count as "worlds". Lol)

Trilby says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:57am

Thanks everyone so far for taking the time to play my game and writing the comments. :)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:01pm

A surreal atmosphere! The jumping feels uncomfortable, and when you fall, it takes a very long time to come back. Fortunately a figured out the jumping timing after 2 deaths so I managed to collect all 5 things. The footsteps sound is really annoying. The ending music was nice - think you should maybe have used that during the gameplay too! Wasn't sure how it fit the theme for LD though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]