Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by YopSolo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The theme made me think of Feelings and cable mechanic.
So I end up with this game, where you have to find your way to true love, using a rope.

For the "big jump" you may fail but you have to go sincerely ;)

* * *
Controls
You move with up (jump), down left and right keys
space is for the rope. ( Sorry only one level !)
press M, to toggle music

* * *
No Flash ?
If you cannot get it from http://get.adobe.com/fr/flashplayer/ you can still watch the video of the game http://youtu.be/f8GeD-kHvf8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#239Fun3.45
#436Innovation3.31
#454Overall3.30
#482Audio2.81
#486Mood3.07
#548Humor2.34
#936Graphics2.49
#955Theme2.59

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26am

nice :)

Yanthir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05am

Nice physics, elsewise kinda poor. Still liked it tho.

Akihidas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

Portal music?

chongdashu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

When the timer ran out, the ending still said I won.

Xenolupus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

Had a lot of fun and got very frustrated when I almost got to the end and then fell...

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

Okay game. I really wish I could see a "ghost" of the next circle while still swinging so that I'd know which way to go. Pretty basic in most ways, but it does work.

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

I love tether mechanics. Nice job! Music was a little too compressed, though

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

I love tether mechanics, too. Worked well here.

I think it'd be nice to be able to see the tether points, though I suppose with a game this simple it's the only way to keep a challenge.

The collision detect on the heart is poor, had to move around a lot until it registered I was there.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

I like this hook and swing, and jump game mechanics. So fun!
Sometimes I wondered where is next hook anchor position.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Hi. Like your rope mechanic, though I found it difficult to time some of the upward swings, good 'achievement' feel getting over first gap - I know... my game playing skills are not good!

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

Sometimes I wasn't able to find the next hook anchor, but I guess that was part of the challenge ;)

There should definitely be more(at least 3 or 5) levels, so we get better idea about the game. However, it's understandable if you defined levels by hand(written by code).

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

I think you have the groundwork for a really cool game. It took me like three tries to get that dang heart jump for a second I thought you made the final jump impossible. That could have been a cool metaphor for how hard it is to find true love though! Or maybe I'm just weird..

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34am

Was fun, but the theme did not stand out very much. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55am

Nice little game, I failed so many time to reach the heart !

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

I really like the physics, but it needs some kind of hint/preview of the next connection point to know where to go. And I think the intro screen would have looked a lot better without the meme. I don't think your simple(r) graphics needs to be excused ... it's just another art style and it was good enough.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25am

good job

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36am

The rope mechanics were well done but did take me a bit to realise you needed to follow a specific path.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Everything seems to be fine. The only suggestion I'd made, is making those circles gradually appear instead of popping out suddenly.

P.S. Okay-okay. You get a 5-humour for Doge :3

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36am

Very fun and challenging, great job! Liked the music too :)

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

I agree with the visible hooks. It's kinda annoying when you let go, but there's no ho0ok closeby
Good conept though!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

Realy good, i like the music and the gameplay. I think speedrunning with this king of motion would be great, you can follow a string of circle very fast.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

Nice physics! I would like to see a longer version of this with more challenges that uses the rope mechanics...

arcym says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Its taking really long to load for me...

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Music fits perfectly to the amazing play mechanics. Really challenging but so much fun to play! Good work! *Heart*

Zer0XoL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Audio from Portal

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

I really liked the game's feel and the music. It gave a good atmosphere to what you are trying to achieve.

The rope mechanics is just beautiful. I only encountered one bug with the rope just before the heart where it was entangled in a weird way.

It was hard to determine the direction I should be going to when rolling from one hook point to the other. Would have been nice to have some kind of hint so as not to restart long sections.

Overall, it was a really interesting game and a really good idea. Although I kind of missed the connection to theme.

Good work though :D

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Good physics, good concept, fun game. Well done.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Loved the swinging mechanic and the music!

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Realy nice. Love the simplicity!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I had a fun time.
The rope is super fluid and I really like the way connection points appear from nowhere. For the first game, it creates some 'exploration'.
Neat idea to introduce points for the replayability.

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice little game! But it feels weird that you stop in mid-air when you release the left/right key. Also, would be easier to plan your way if you could see the attachment points.

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

It's a fun game. It was little bit difficult to find the hooking positions. Physics was smooth. Awesome dogpic.

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice little game with easy controls. Wasn't too hard to beat. :)

Joncom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Reminds me of the rope from Worms Armageddon :D

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Really nice mechanics. Good job! ;)

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

Super fun! Loved the swinging, it felt soo great! good job!

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

i like how you used the physic in this game

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

This was pretty cool :) Nice take on the theme

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

So so so so so good. Really enjoyed finishing it!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48am

Neat gameplay mechanic! I think it would work a little better if you could see where the places you can grab hold are ahead of time.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38am

Nicely done! Could do with more levels/obstacles!

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Interesting, but a bit too simple. Some kind of indication of where to go next would be good.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:03am

Great work on the cool hook feel mechanic and physics. I also like the simple music. nice job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

It was quite disheartening to miss that last jump twice before beating it. A bit short and unpolished, but still a fun little game.

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:45am

Pretty nice physics. I wasn't sure how the location of the grapple point was determined though, and eventually it just stopped working at all.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]