Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bipolar World

by havana24 - Jam Entry

A story about a Bipolar boy and his eternal fight between Anger and Happiness.
Play through 14 levels in this Platform with a strange gravity!

- Controls -------------------
Arrow keys to move, "X" to jump.
"M" to mute/unmute.
"R" to restart level.
"P" pause the game.
"ESC" to main menu.
----------------------------

Made with Stencyl, Paint Shop Pro and Audacity!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#14Theme(Jam)4.23
#17Overall(Jam)4.18
#19Mood(Jam)4.13
#20Fun(Jam)4.09
#48Audio(Jam)3.91
#68Graphics(Jam)4.29
#124Humor(Jam)3.25
#157Innovation(Jam)3.49

Comments

Dax85 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14am

Very nice and cute little game =)
Really like how you made it just like a short story of (your?) life!
I found myself stuck in some levels and found that R key reset the level, add it in the description maybe! It's very useful!
Good luck =)

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I like it very much. Have to rate it a bit lower on Innovation though, because it just feels like a single player "Ibb & Obb".

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

First the bad thing, I got stuck a few times on the line with no enough velocity.
Now the good thing, the bad thing listed above is the only thing that isn't great about this.
I played through and I love it. The mood, but first and foremost the absolut perfect mechanics are just great. It was great load of fun floating around and solving the puzzles.
Overall Top 3 for me.

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

AWESOME! This was incredibly well done. A fun, well-polished mechanic. The art was cute and the story was well driven. Nice job!

Elforama says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Loved this game, great job. It was cute, and had pretty tight controls.

There is a bug in level 3. The player can get stuck inside the ground and be forced to reset the game. I read in the comments as I write this that R resets the level. I agree that this should be mentioned somewhere so I don't have to reset the game when stuck.

abeing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

very solid platforming action there. also nice graphic and fitting audio. good job!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The mechanics are pleasant and the quality and amount of level design is excellent.

On the other hand, It's too simplistic in it's treatment of this issue for me; I think bipolar is more complex than just switching between a good happy mood and a bad angry mood. I also thought the piano music was a bit pat, though the way the music shifts pitch is cool. It all reminded me too much of other flash platformer games about mental disorders. The presence of certain other cliche flash game elements (the numbered level select screen for example) also reinforced my feeling that I'd seen this sort of thing before.

That said, I did find myself jumping over the other characters when I was in "angry mode" so that I wouldn't smack them. So I did empathize a bit with the situation. Especially when confronted with the cute cat sprite.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Nice use of the them. The graphics and the gameplay are relly great. Well polished game.

Manou says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

very good. I wish the game was displayed bigger.

lukz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great platformer!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Excellent.

The mechanic's been done, but the thematic presentation of it is great, and good matching the mechanics & level design to the narrative as well. Puzzle platforming bits are all great too, and visual style's cute to boot. A couple of tricky levels, but a quick reset button helps with that no problems.

Great job!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Fantastic little platformer. Reminds me of some of the levels from VVVVVV.

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Really nice game with a really good use of the theme as well! Nice mechanics, graphics and really good sounds as well.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

The music style switching when you cross worlds is a great concept. The clarity in the graphics was well appreciated too.

I kind of wish there was a different solution for crossing the border though, when you get caught swimming in between its a bit unusual.

Nice job.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Really dug it, there is tons of variety and polish in this for a 1 man jam game. Would have liked to know about the R to reset, I must have missed that. But I was happy to see that reloading the webpage saved my progress. Great art, solid platforming, and a great interpretation of the theme. Good job!

Knowledge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great game, but not too original.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great game all around.

cudabear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

A perfect little bite-sized game! It was challenging but not annoying, and the story kept moving me forward. Excellently done!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Yes, the mechanics have been done, but you did it really well! The music on both sides was great, the art and animations were delightful, and the story was solid

bentog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Huh, I always thought Stencyl had no potential, this proves me one. Very nice game, really well polished :)

By the way, my game is also about being bipolar, but it's different. Nice job!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

You've made an excellent little platformer, very well executed

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow, gj, great level design ideas. Even If the concept has already "been made" I really like what you brought with the bipolar theme. The only negative thing for me is the music that is kinda annoying. Otherwise again, really nice entry :D

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Great game! Neat graphics! And I loved the story

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:09pm

It's not that common with games that really has something to say. The story really sucked me in, and even though I'm dead tired and just want to go to bed (slept 2 hrs last night trying to finalize my entry) I just couldn't stop playing this until I got through to the end. This was excellent! Not often you get a chance to see the picture from a bipolar per sons perspective, but I think you illustrated it very well.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

The presentation and gameplay is solid and polished. I think it's a very simplistic view of bipolar though, and I find it odd it's happiness & anger, and not instead happiness & sadness/depression.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Great game!

The game was simple, but really fun. The combination of those nice graphics and the way the story was told made it really cute. :)

Now, although I liked you idea with the music, and didn't like the like the execution all that much... Specially on the later stage, were you flipped a lot through worlds. Perhaps if the transition were smoother it would be nicer...

Great job, nonetheless. =D

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Game was fun as soon as it began! I like the music/sounds and graphics a lot. The player character is cute. Well done.

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02am

I really like the story here. It is a tad comical (and creepy) that the way the character remembers its life is by taking huge pills that are the same size as he is. A very fun entry. Thanks!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47am

Wow what a great job! Fantastic!

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04am

gravity swap works really well, lots of polish for a ld game. great job!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46am

very nice take on the theme, with a nice shift in music between "worlds"

Nice story as well (did your girlfriend tell you to put her in the game? haha)

Great work

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:53am

Great game! :D

NickZangus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:49am

Wow! Very impressive! Amazing entry!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59am

That was really nice

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

It took some time, but I finally managed to get all the pills :-)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Great game, wonderful graphics, congrats!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Great game! Very polished and enjoiable :D

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

AWESOME GAME! super polished too

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cute game :)

Jakub Koziol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:06am

You don't often see games that use game mechanics to tell the story. Your entry is a great, meaningful example. :)

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I loved the two mirror worlds, such an interesting mechanic! Very well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Perfection! Awesome story, awesome physics, great mechanics, challenging too. Great job!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very good job! Loved everything about it. Excellent use of the theme, it plays just right, graphics and music are perfect, it's all great! I especially liked the separation of the music tracks for each side of the world, very nice feature.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Great game, I loved the art and the music. I took my time to gather all the pills, though I didn't notice if there was a completion bonus.

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Pros: Excellent graphics, good story and very fun to play!
Cons: A bit.. small? =)

coleott says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

loved it. super cute. i haven't really seen this mechanic much before—plenty of games, like VVVVV have had gravity-switching mechanics, but I don't recall thinking things like "ok, where in the level can I go high enough to get the momentum needed to make that jump (and, once I have that momentum, how can I get to where the "jump" is without bumping something and losing it)? Neat stuff!

orukinawa says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

So much feeeels man! :'(
Even though the game has a simple mechanic, the whole mood coming out of it makes it awesome. I really like the cute graphics and music as well :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:53am

Very polished entry, though very sad!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I really like how the music switches. The screen could be bigger but that was no problem to play it. Great game!

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:50am

I liked it very much. Only two thing bothered me: the music is quite repetive (but I love how it changes according to the side you are) and the key to jump (it is annoying to switch between the up and down arrow; the space key would have been better). But a great game otherwise!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:57am

This was really cool! The story element was super cool. My favorite parts were the change in music and the momentum you can build up by falling into the sad world. Great job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14pm

This is very neat. You managed to make work all together concept/gameplay/level design in a very good way and in a very short time. Well done.

vinull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Cool game idea - it got too "super meatboy" for me (not my thing) so I didn't get to far but seemed interesting and the narrative was well done with the levels I played.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:59am

THIS WAS SO NICE! and pretty! and meaningful! very well put together! except I did break it right here: http://i.imgur.com/02N9m0L.png
but anyways, yes very nice!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:57am

Nice looking platformer! Love the way music changes when you enter an another "world".

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:06am

Super cute! The momentum of shifting between worlds reminded me a lot of Ibb and Obb. The way the music shifted between worlds reinforced your theme in a nice way. One minor thing: if you make the way you start your game the same as your in-games control, it can be a nice way to ease someone in (so like you had click to start but the controls are keyboard based. Maybe try space to start. The little animations on your character's jump and land and mid-air transitions gave him a lot of character - nice use of your polish time :) The spikes in happy world are a liiitle subtle and can be tricky to see sometimes.

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:08am

Excellent job overall. I particularly liked the theme interpretation and the art. The only major complaint I have was that some of the jumping puzzles felt unfair because I couldn't see what was coming up in time. The difficulty was well paced.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

this is a very polished little game. I like how the music changes between the moods. the art is very nice too.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:56am

Very well made, polished entry. As for the story, I got goosebumps...

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really nice and slick game. A great take on the theme :)

sephyka says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:30am

Awesome well-polished game. Perfect graphics, nice story, great gameplay, good playability...

sephyka says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:34am

P-S: That's cool there are still some Flash entries like ours. :p

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:34am

Really nice polished little platformer.

I feel a bit uncomfortable with the subject mater; the treatment feels superficial.

That aside, super good mechanic.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:51am

I like the way each level tells us a bit more about the story.
The dual melody was enjoyable, almost funny when the player was oscillating between both worlds. Characters are cute.

I would have enjoyed some harder puzzles, maybe in a extended version? :)

brookman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:02am

Ladies and Gentleman, we have a winner!

Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:18am

Very nice game!

mtrc says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:44am

Eventually got stuck. Thought it was a pretty polished game - good ideas, solid mechanic, good level design mostly. I thought sometimes the story was a bit inconsistent, and punching the girl wasn't very nice to encounter - perhaps there was another way to make your point, like arguing with her? Good stuff though!

jpmit says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:57am

Well done.

A bit like my game, but better in every way.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Beautiful art style !

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very atmospheric game! Game mechanic too trivial but level design rescue the game. It's pretty interesting, as storyline that I like =)

Naytron says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Really well put together gravity switching platformer and nice clean visuals.

As other people have stated, I appreciate the inclusion of story/commentary but found the exploration of bipolar disorder in the game a little trite and threadbare, and as a result I found it hard to sympathise with the character.

Katamori says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Great! Simple concept, yet original! Love it!

EthanWebster says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:54pm

I see that you used this game as a gateway to express yourself, and that is fantastic. Well done!

martim00 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very nice game and great connection with theme!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Wow. I can't believe you did this in 72 hours. A fantastic job!

It's an awesome depiction of what it's like to live with bipolar. Particularly, of constant, often severe "mood swings". It's obviously too simplistic, but I don't see how anyone could do much better with a 10-minutes-of-play game.

Love the graphics, love the mood, love the gameplay, love the stark openness. Thanks for making this!

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very very nice game! Great FEZ like graphics and two sweet soundtracks. Really well executed!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

+ polished game
+ graphics
- get stuck because not enough velocity

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Absolutely LOVE this entry, my favourite game of this LD thank you so much! From the awesome graphics to the superbly tuned controls, the music popping in and out as you pass the two worlds, the interpretation of the theme, the level progression and the way the story builds - simply sublime 5/5

Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:19am

Quality game with a great mechanic and emotion.

Resonious says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:39am

Really good, man. Nice interpretation of the theme, and really smooth gameplay!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very nice game.Goodjob.liked the idea very much

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:16am

This is very good. The puzzles increase in difficulty nicely. The story keeps you wanting to play, as do the fun mechanics. The animations, graphics and audio are great. Very good entry, and keep doing more of this!

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Very nice entry! I think the gameplay mechanic is used quite often these days, but the execution is really well done!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:57am

Nice implementation of the theme, through both the story and the gameplay! The gravity mechanic was a lot of fun and used to its potential, and was strong enough to have driven the entire game. The levels were varied enough to keep the game interesting all the way through, and the added challenge of getting the pill in each stage was a nice touch that let the level design really shine.

The art style is cute & conveys the right emotions, and the happy/angry music (although a tad annoying after a while due to the MIDI keyboard sound used) was fitting, especially since both halves of the song were synced! Nice! The story was a great way to emphasize the theme, too (plus, I love happy endings <3). Great stuff!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:42pm

really cool game, love the feel of it and the message too!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:11am

You see this mechanic quite often this LD, but in this case it was really well executed. Good job. And i liked the music, too.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:42am

Haha, liked this little game. Nice graphics, mood and story.

dhargan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:47pm

this game is too good for a 3 day jam :P it made me remember Braid. good job mate.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:17pm

great !

marvalgames says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Wow!
That was fun

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Solid game all around. My only gripe with this was the fact that hitting the sides of the spikes killed me a bit too easily.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

sputnik says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Excellent entry. Found one collision bug somewhere. But really good overall.

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:00pm

The mechanic is old but the execution is good. Too bad that at the end I found out the pills were basically for nothing. I wish I had some sort of score. The story of the game is a bit.. how do I say this right. It's as if the game was done, and then you added the story. I barely see the 2 connect. It's as if you added the story for some mood points. Now I'm not saying you did, maybe you just wanted to add a nice little story to your game, but I'd like to see it connect better to the gameplay. But overall, good job!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I'm really glad I played your game. The whole thing, the story, the feel, the mechanics and puzzles all fit into a lovely game.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Very sweet game :)
I Loved it. The interpretation of the theme is really spectacular, I was moved in the end of the game.

LudusPactum says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Fantastic game! I loved it. Beautiful art, well polished mechanics and a deep-but-well-done story. Congratulations

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]