Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental

by Aru Nyan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=== Notes ===
- The enemies can be killed, but they take at least a couple of attacks. (Sorry, no HP bars)
- You can die too, though you really have to try to.
- I ran out of time, so enjoy the one full dungeon (+ the tutorial) :)
- Yes, only two of the characters are playable.

=== Description ===
A turn-based dungeon crawler.
There are different elements and realms, with one character per each element.
The dungeon changes in different realms, and so do the obstacles in your path.

Each character uses a different skill when attacking / defending:
STRength / Fire - based on your typing precision.
DEXterity / Air - reflex-based DDR.

=== Controls ===
- Mouse - Movement, interaction

- Letters - the STR battle system
- Arrow keys - the DEX battle system

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#119Graphics3.95
#204Overall3.58
#284Innovation3.52
#320Mood3.27
#376Fun3.25
#534Theme3.29
#573Humor2.29
#580Audio2.68

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

This is a cool little game. Typing based RPG battle system, neat idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11pm

The game system is very good. I would have loved to see this being realtime :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Cool game, but fights are kinda slow.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Wow... that fire boss is HARD!!

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like it a great deal! I love the art. It was a bit confusing to figure out what to do at first, but once I got past that it was great fun.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

cool idea, but the DDR-styled combat feels a little out of place. Maybe I just don't like it because the button timing is a bit too demanding.

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really well presented, very nice transition effects and very fitting colour aesthetics.

I think perhaps the inclusion of lots of different minigames as a different way to play combat through different elements, while cool, makes the game feel a little less cohesive and spread a bit thin. Like it's trying to be a lot of things at once and cater to lots of players and the main thing connecting to the theme (the shifting worlds) doesn't seem like it plays massively into this.

A very solid piece of work presentation wise though!

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Amazing.
I wasn't expecting a typing battle system (and the words are smart too!), AND the second character uses a different system? Neat!

I wish enemies actually died when you win, but eh, it's nice really!

Aru Nyan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Thank you all for your feedback.

Yes, I'm aware that the fights get a little tedious, I was worried about this during the development, but it was too late to change it. (@Tanner)

@Ellian the enemies die, after you attack them a couple of times. There are no health bars, which makes it difficult to see, but, in general, the minor guards take two perfect attacks to kill.

xxmicloxx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

I really like that game! However, I am too slow when typing :(

jas7229 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Nice game, I love the color swaps on change and graphics in general. The typing attack system was a neat idea!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really loving this game! Typing games have a special place in my heart, and this takes the cake by mixing it with classic rpg dungeon crawlers! :')

arttut02 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55am

Very nice game. And got to practice my typing skills. Cool idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Hi there. Love the combat! Great graphics. Bit frustrating to have to use mouse mid-combat to start next turn, but that's a minor niggle. Great job!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

The world transitions are pretty slick. :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Fights can get repetitive since the key presses are very slow and you have to repeat them, but a nice game.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

This game is really good mate. Wish you had more time to complete it but it's not a problem at all. It might be my favorite compo entry till now.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

This is an incredible piece of game for 48 hours. I was surprised this wasn't done by a team in the Jam!

The art is fantastic. I really love the world transitions. The typing/strength battle system is challenging but fun. The arrow key/dexterity system was much harder for me. I didn't understand the battle system at first, and I think it's missing some indicator for enemy health, but it was challenging and enjoyable.

Bug: I can't type "zap" in the strength/typing battle system. Quite annoying when you have to wait for it to go off screen before you can type the next word.

Nitpicks:

- I sometimes have to make smaller movements to reset my action bar. It's rather annoying when I'm trying to get to something far off.
- Maybe it's just me, but the arrow key/dexterity battle system feels off. I'm not entirely sure when I'm supposed to press the arrow keys.

Aru Nyan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

@plash Fixed the bug, was a typo.
You can skip your turn with the hourglass, if you really don't like it.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I didn't read the directions and at the first battle, I had no idea what to do. I was clicking like mad, haha. Once I figured it out, I was good. Fighting the big guy was tough! Made my fingers sore. Nice entry!

c023-dev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cool visuals! And pretty complex. I suck at typing though =( ... but overall it feels pretty complete and solid, I like that! Good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I like the idea and there's a lot of content for a 48 h game,
Gotta say though, the typing way feels much better than the DDR way. (And that's from somebody that played quite a bit of stepmania)
It's also frustrating to not see the health of the enemies.

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

very cool game. i could definitely see kids playing this to up their typing skills. loved the world change mechanic. Great job!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

nice concept and a lot of content some text didnt work for me an combat are so long.....

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

wow this is awesome! love the spelling mechaninc! :D

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really Liked This Game, The Graphics Look Polished, The Gameplay is stable, and is just a great casual game.

granut100 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:33am

This game was neat liked the text combat!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:31am

Wow, pretty sweet... didn't get the typing battle system at first...

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

I'm impressed, it's neat. Took me a while to figure out the difference between attacking/defending though.
The DDR clone seemed off. You had to press the keys right before they got to the globes, plus up/down would scroll the page. Typing was great, though!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice graphics.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:52am

Pretty cool! I didn't realize at first that it was a typing-based game, and was clicking the words. What a dumbass :) After that though it was all gravy. Nice work!

deepnight says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:33am

The art and the transition effects are super cool :) You put lots of efforts in many details, well done.
The game lacks feedback on damages/life, making it very difficult to understand what's going on.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]