Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ICCC

by 44D Again Again - Jam Entry

POST-COMPO: Download links have changed to itch.io, but it's the same game binary

Work for the (I)nternational (C)ommunication (C)onstruction and (C)onsulting!

Use communication to spread your political agenda by connecting the world with the internet and shoving your message down the pipe! Beware of your demanding company, bankruptcy, and easy to piss off locals!

I know I put it in the README but I feel guilty not putting the music credits here:
"Mining by Moonlight" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

(HINT: having inactive hubs [not connected to a power source] on countries annoy the residence because you're promising services that they aren't getting! If they get too mad you may be sleeping with the fishes...)

(HINT: you make money by having hubs connected to power sources)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Humor(Jam)3.42
#114Audio(Jam)3.68
#157Theme(Jam)3.64
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#206Mood(Jam)3.42
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#318Fun(Jam)3.14
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

Hey, communism is back in the game! I had a good laugh when I was assassinate all of a sudden :D A bit hard to handle. The tool-tip on HUD doesn't help to aim and I get more error messages than I perform actual game actions.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

The map looked cool and I liked the music.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really liked the map, setting and music :D
Is there a way to not get killed? :P

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53am

Cool Game. But, I cannot see the HUD because the screen is too big for my monitor.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

@Chaoseiro: Having inactive hubs on countries eventually leads to death. I added that as a hint in the description because it's not explained elsewhere and seems important. Thanks for playing!

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00am

the music and writing are snarky and nice, but the way the tooltip covers the cursor make it so difficult to tell what's going on! the text that pops up comes and goes so fast i have no idea what it's saying either. i'll play some more (+rate) but just wanted to give first impressions.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great Job. I really got into it once I got the hang of it. I couldn't figure out how to make anybody happier though. I was only able to keep them.. not killing me angry.

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

ok i gave another few but i can't not get murdered! i usually placed hub-things on the green country because it had the highest contrast... the way hubs faded out made it a little difficult to see on the darker countries. also, i didn't see where the date or anything was: just the numeral 60 floating in the upper right corner.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

How do you earn money? I'm very confused.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10am

I think I missed something here... Is there a way to get a positive income?

It's a fun quirky game, but yeah... Until I can figure that out I can't make much progress.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12am

@tehskull + @LemmingSurvivor: The more hubs (cyan circles) you have connected to a power source (blue circle) the more money you get

Aevek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03am

Funny, and quirky. Loved it. One (possible?) bug that I used to my advantage a lot was apparently the line being too long didn't matter as long as it completed a connection. Just something you might want to look at.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:07am

Oh. Ooh... Yeah, I was just building power sources on everything. Turns out you really only need one. Oops.

So yea, took me a couple tries, but finally won. Hurray!

Last couple countries took forever to convert, so I wisely used that time to build a line linking east and west. Note to self: once I'm an interplanetary tycoon, make sure I teach my agents that planets are round!

Anyway, good job! Game turns out to be fairly easy once you're out of the early bottleneck (mostly because of that "one power source for the entire graph" thing), but still enjoyable.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Really liked the idea and the music. But I don't get why my pay started to drop when I connected power sources, according to the hint it's supposed to rise that way.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52pm

@eemmbbeerr: Power sources are not hubs and don't generate money (in fact they take money to maintain). Hubs are the smaller cyan circles which need to be connected to a power source in order to generate revenue. Thanks for playing!

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Interesting game, takes a few tries to figure out and get going.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

OMG, it was so funny when I got assasinated, nice idea, cool sounds, I like the game! :)

arazim6 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Liked the music very much

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:03am

Awesome! Very inventive concept!

After being assassinated a few times, I accidentally converted the whole planet to communism, haha.

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Good concept, but it was unplayable for because everytime I build a power source and connected Hubs, I was either assasinated or bankrupt in 10s flat. Also I couldn't read the messages that popped up, because the other display was blocking it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]