Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tropical Transit

by Moist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your trusty boat to provide transport services for inhabitants of two tiny tropical islands. Gun down enemy ships and watch out for sharks.

CHROME BLOCKING DOWNLOAD
Go to "Settings" -> "Show advanced settings..." -> "Privacy" and untick "Enable phishing and malware protection".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#59Fun3.84
#147Humor3.18
#281Overall3.49
#317Graphics3.48
#320Mood3.27
#461Audio2.84
#632Theme3.16
#641Innovation3.05

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

I can see this become addicting for me. Nice job.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

I really enjoyed this! Artwork is good and colour choices and contrasts were good. The dual mechanic between ships and sharks was great. Only suggestion is to vary where the pirates spawn from after the first wave, they were only coming from below after a time. Otherwise, great job, and nice to see a fellow GameMaker user :)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Chrome says this file is malicious so I will not be playing your game. I'm sure more people would play if you fix that.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Good game. It is kind easy when you realize you can shoot like crazy to the bottom, where the boats spawn. You could make things harder if the enemies could spawn from any corner.

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

code error: in vertex shader compilation
shadername: sh_Hit_Effect
d3dxcompile failed

breadstix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really enjoyed this game. Fits the theme well and the audio was good compared to many of the other games I have played. Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Hard to play with a laptop mouse but super fun, really enjoyed this one!

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I had a lot of fun, with this. Big humor points for when the people try to swim back to the island. It made me giggle. This game has a lot of charm.

Potential area for improvement? I think the music could be changed a little. Perhaps something a bit more up-beat and arcadey. But that is just one man's opinion.

Overall, I really liked it. You should be happy with this submission.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Yep, Chrome wouldn't let me play the game. Really want to try it, looks really fun

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This one is really good. I liked the use of the theme and the feel of the animations of gameplay.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very cool! The composition of the sounds and the animations really impressed me. Very silly.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Why you no Mac?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13am

This was a ton of fun, even though I was terrible at it! Loved the little people falling off the boat effect/animation, made this game quite entertaining.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Fun and cute but very hard for me !

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Poor little guys. I loved the sharks eating people. I guess I'm just a very bad person ^_^

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

So cool and addictive. Nice art and music

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Was really an interesting take on the concept and I liked the action in the game. Although it gets crowded quite fast and starts to get quite hard to do anything.

I liked the over all feeling of the game though and the art wasn't bad at all. :) Good work!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Haha, a sweet idea here!
The reflections in the water are a nice touch, and I love the way the dudes all bounce into the water, adding some humour to an otherwise frustrating situation.

(I would like to suggest making it a little harder to accidentally restart a game, I often never got to see what score I got because the game restarted immediately)

kyru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Fun action game, gets hard fast.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Haaaaa sharks eat my people !!! ;) Nice game !

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice game :) ! It's really fun. Maybe too many boats in the beginning, making the game really hard to play, but good job !

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21pm

These guy have the worst commute EVER!
(or is this a game about feeding sharks?)
It's pretty hard, but quite fun. Well done.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

awesome fun, the difficulty wavers a bit though. at one point nothing spawned for 20s, another it was armageddon :o

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

Very fun and addictive! This definitely works as an arcade game but I wouldn't mind seeing stuff like specific goals to reach and different levels if this was ever expanded on. Really like the concept and overall gameplay, great job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:34pm

It is quite colorful and fun

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Really fun game!
Simple and stressful...
I apologize to everyone I have let in water...

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20am

This game was a lot of fun. Totally addictive. Nice graphics with the ppl falling out of the boat. Arrrgh!

ponk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really fun to play.
I've felt sad for those little pixel characters who have been eaten! It makes the game intense

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Nice job. I really like it ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]