Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Maximum Moxy

by swinestudios - Jam Entry

Food is scarce in the future, and in the distant future it's even scarcer. Invaders from this great divide are attacking!
While keeping ammo stocked, you must fend them off for as long as possible.
Move your spaceship with W and S; press spacebar to shoot
Move your ammo box with A and D; press and hold spacebar to collect ammo.

Credits:
Art: pigrocket
Programming: TheBlueGamer55
Music: hognip
Programming Assistant: General Templeton
Creative & Moral Support: jr1501

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#168Overall(Jam)3.55
#192Audio(Jam)3.46
#220Fun(Jam)3.32
#261Innovation(Jam)3.24
#363Mood(Jam)3.12
#405Graphics(Jam)3.33
#463Humor(Jam)2.22

Comments

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

Pretty fun and challanging game, not that innovative though but i like the layout

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

Great use of the theme, controlling both sides and having the ship dependent on the resources makes for a tense and energetic game. I also really liked the music.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

It took me a while to realize I need to hold the space bar to collect ammo. I also thought there was a bug in the game because there was no alien coming (did not realize you need to collect 5 ammo first).

However, it was really intense once the alien start coming and it is quite satisfying to pull off a defense. The graphics is nice, the audio is simple but fits the game quite well. GJ!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18am

One of the funner games I've played so far. The learning curve is steep but once you get the hang of it it's really fun!

Leginar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50am

Really a fun game, and a interesting twist on a classic concept.

My only issue is that is can be frustrating to have to hold space, and tap it, when you are running low on ammo.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

Love the music and innovation!

Aevek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40am

Had a lot of fun. Played a few rounds. Love the skill-based gameplay controlling 2 things at once. Cool interpretation of the theme. Really made me want to keep playing to beat my high score.

ItyBity8Bit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:42am

One of the more hole fealing games I've played. Loved the music.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43am

Nice difficulty to this. Music is a little loud.

phaser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45am

I did not catch the way to collect ammo until i saw a comment here. Leaving that aside i really like the game is a fun challenge.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:00am

Did very well with the theme, unlike a lot of games.

locknic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:46am

Fantastic game. So simple yet so challenging.

Axebane says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:12am

I think this is the best game from this Ludum Dare that I have played. I loved everything from the music, mood, and sound effects, to the unique twist on an old formula. Very good job!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Great use of the theme, very fun game. The music is also very good. It runs on Linux, so I don't know why you tagged it 'Windows&Mac'.

swinestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

@eemmbbeerr For some reason when we tested the game on our Linux computer, it couldn't run, so we weren't sure if we should've added that tag, but if it worked for you then that's great!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:25am

Man, that stuff is addictive! lol

Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]