Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

disconnected_worlds

by cardboard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

move: arrows or ESDF
interact: SPACE or ENTER

once a character thanks you for playing, the game is over :)

-------------
known bugs:
- the hole is able to be entered after you clear the 'guard', but is a bit wonky
- the music in the android version does not loop (I can't fix this)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#33Graphics4.30
#50Mood3.87
#81Audio3.68
#88Humor3.41
#161Overall3.66
#327Fun3.31
#609Theme3.19
#663Innovation3.03

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

I love the graphics and the style of the game, it has a very unique feel to it. I got stuck after the balloon part, what did I have to do at that point?

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

An intresting game, confused by esdf, so I used arrows. Great music too!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

That was very charming! I love your artwork. I stopped when the guy told me "Thanks for playing" and I couldn't find anywhere else to go, but I wasn't sure if that was the end?

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

That was really some nice art in there. I liked the general feel of the game and the music too was really cool.

The controls were simple so nothing complicated and it was easy to figure most of the puzzles out.

I would have loved more of the game though :) know more about the characters and the octopus I am flying (but I understand the 48 hours restraint).

Well done!

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

@AndyBrown yeah that's the end :) I probably should have made it more explicit.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Incredibly charming game! I love the art style and the wacky characters. My only suggestion would be to prevent the character from floating in certain areas, or just have the shadow move behind objects, to give a better illusion of depth.

Keep up the good work!

remmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38pm

loved to play this game and your whole art style :) music was charming too and for 48 hours it was fantastic!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Aesthetically this is amazing, and the puzzle design is actually quite intuitive for the genre. I did sometimes feel a bit confused about what was going on. I'm still not sure how I got that bucket.

I think that I see the relationship to the theme, is the idea that the inhabitants of both worlds want to keep them seperate?

That world is absolutely charming!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Nice little game, very enjoyable.

plash says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

This is so cute! The music is perfect. The graphics are consistent and charming. The interaction sounds for characters have the right inflection, but it doesn't feel like they fit the characters or the world.

Nitpicks:

- The text is hard to read at times. I think it'd work a lot better if it were either backdropped with white or a world-contrasting color & thicker.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

Another lovely game :)
Music was just right, art was just right, writing was just right.
I felt the text was a bit difficult to read, and sometimes it went off screen, but I think that's my only real complaint.
- qualia

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:51am

I love the art style. This is gorgeous - I really mean it. It was so lighthearted. And that tiny font. I thought it was really beautiful. Also good score.
It often seemed rather random to me what to do?
I still liked it tho!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:27am

What an original art style holy shit dude!! game was also very fun

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:39pm

A different art style, but fine for me :P
The music is good, setting a fine mood for the game.

Jedi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:06am

Wow, you're so creative with your art style! This game is really just kind of fun to look at :) Not unlike your LD27 entry! (Now I'm going to have to play the intermediate two)

It could have felt a little more interactive with some juiciness upon picking up items. I felt the "can't take action" sound was a little too harsh. I may have ran into a bug because I had to spam the space bar above the hole before it would let me crawl down. Not sure what that was about.

It has a really great mood and overall, it's fun to play! Good job!

Managore says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:30am

Such a gorgeous game! The slow sprite cycle looks so damn nice! I had a lot of fun with this.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Liked the graphics style a lot, great job capturing something so joyful. The music did wonders as well :D

Anti says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The graphics style was amazing and it had a pretty good mood!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:48pm

REally liked the style of graphics. Played it till the end - all actions were logical.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:54pm

hey thanks for the comment didnt realize my download links were all dead I put them back up if u wanna play. thanks again http://www.filedropper.com/holidaynightmare1

mess110 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:03am

cool art

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice little game, I rather enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]