Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WORLD WARPER

by CogComp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WorldWarper is my contribution to LD30.

I wanted to make a game that wasn't sprite based
(or 3d triangles for that matter).

Your mission is to survive on screen as long as possible.

Your habitat is the current green planet.

By click on another planet (spheres) you connect a warp-tunnel between the worlds. (Connected worlds, yay!)

Click again and you're transferred to that planet over a small period of time, dependent on the distance to the planet.

Cubes disturb the warp-tunnels so time your jumps carefully!

Good luck!

Check out the video if it doesn't seem to make any sense.

(You'l need the VS2013 x86 redist for the Windows version).

Used to make this mini game:
* C++
* SDL 2
* Gimp
* LMMS
* Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#339Graphics3.46
#350Innovation3.43
#423Audio2.91
#444Theme3.40
#494Mood3.06
#565Overall3.20
#585Fun3.00
#679Humor2.15

Comments

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10am

Cool game! Got 3318 on it :)

Would be nice if you only had to click on each sphere/planet once to send your colony instead of twice.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nice concept and great execution, but I stumbled upon some bugs. Sometimes I would traverse to another node, just to be set back to the old one.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Cool little minigame :D

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Lovely graphics, very cyber, good music. Very creative theme interpretation and gameplay, made me happy to see. Wish there would have been more content.

p.s. thanks for mentioning, had to install the VS2013 x86 redist to get it to work

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Little fun game. I like this cool visual.
Twice click to move is offen cause miss second click.

dweebster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very nice and addictive game. You need to try it a few times until you learn how it works. But its very tricky and fun once you get into it!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice idea. Cool game.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

cool graphics and cool little game. what a bad ass soundtrack!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26am

couldn't get it work, as it's not "win32 application" :( but i want to play this game so bad

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice concept, good job.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Can't play windows games :-(

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Epic idea! Really nice audio, different graphics (good!). Great game!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Can't play windows games...

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Cool graphics! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

arhpositive says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Cool idea, nice execution. Sometimes the game responded weird to my mouse clicks and didn't understand some of them, though. Other than that, it's fun to play it. :)

chowee says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Cool game !

I like the graphics on this one, and the gameplay is very addictive !

Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Graphics were kinda cool, but they made obstructed the gameplay by being unclear, which is a huge no-no in my book.
Good fun for a little while though :)

pansapiens says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice one ! Kudos for trying something a little different on the technical front too - doing everything with 'pixel fields' looks cool (feels like something from the 'demo' scene). Oh, also pretty fun to play, and I love that (abundant?) thumping background music :)

udo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I like the graphical style, and the game idea definitely has potential. I wish there was more going on than hopping from world to world, but it's a pretty good compo entry overall! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]