Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Your world!

by Julgodis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Description =-

Simple war game where you need to defeat those who try to take your world!

The explosions are coming from the towers! (Forgot to add projectiles for them)

-= Controls =-

* Click on the soldier icon to train
* Move your mouse left/right to scroll

-= Made with =-

Code: HTML, Phaser JS
Art: Paint.Net
Sound: Garageband, Sfxr

-= Bugs =-
* The "big guy" doesn't heal other units only himself
* Explosions display position does not consider the scrolling. This makes them out of sync with the rest of the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Fun3.63
#207Graphics3.71
#218Overall3.57
#241Audio3.27
#320Mood3.27
#334Humor2.72
#1005Innovation2.47
#1035Theme2.39

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

This is a fun game with catchy music and neat graphics. I really like your sprite animations and multi-scrolling backgrounds.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Love the audio and the graphs too! The game-play is super different and fun!

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

I liked the Commodore-esque graphics here! Well-wound package all the way, a nice take on the tower defense genre. :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

AWESOME! It's fun, and I like the graphics/sounds! I'd love to see you take this further with more levels, unlockables, and more stuff! :)

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Charming pixel art!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

WINNER! 5203. the music was great. All thoe sounds too except or the sound the castle made when it died, that was a bit loud lol. But fun! thanks!

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

Super fun and catchy.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

Fun game, good consistent graphical style.

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice game :)
And I won!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

I really wanted more than one round so I just kept replaying it, I wanted the 800 gold dudes. First time I got one I still lost, because, he was in front of my castle but they were still hitting the castle instead of him :(

So next game I get it again and man they are awful, what a troll unit lol. Plus they can't attack the little dudes? Whatever :P Good game anyway, really well done and the only problem was the AI was kind of bad + a lack of rounds, I WANT MORE :P

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38am

great graphics and gameplay! I was able to build a killer army of archers hehe

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

"A visual feast!" - The Chicago Tribune

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48am

OMG TOO SHORT ! :D I really want more!

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

score 4953

sam1373 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Great graphics! A bit too short though.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Really cool, love the graphics.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Really cute game. I did get confused at the start as I couldn't click on the icons, for a good amount of time, and then it finally started. Graphics are really nice, parallax was cool and subtle, music was good, and the gameplay was straightforward but fun. You could do a lot more with this :) Nice job!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really nice! I like the "rate entry" after finishing playing.
I think the scrolling is too slow and having several archers makes it too easy to win.

Peping says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I'm not very sure I like this one. A part of me just wants to shout "not another castle defence game". Another part is not very sure this game fits the theme. The visuals, gameplay and sounds are beyond perfect for a LD game, but other than that, I'm not very impressed.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Simple and fun! It was very satisfying to win.

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Really nice backgrounds graphics and fun game! Game was a bit too easy and short, and sound effects could be a bit better :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

That's one of the great entries I've seen so far.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice concept! I really like the happy art style and feeling :) +1 for your username, everyone loves christmas candy! Nice music, but you lose one star since the explosion effect scared the shit out of me.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Leafs moving to the sound of wind over dead bodies of my enemies. Good job :)

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Solid game, not quite sure how it connects to the theme but it was fun

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

1349! Reminds me a bit of CastleStorm! Fairly straightforward gameplay & decent visuals!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Pretty good, although very easy. Nice pixel art and the music was awesome. The theme felt bit forced though, there wasn't really anything related to it.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Fun little tower defense style game. I liked your background graphics like the tree especially and the ent's animation made me chuckle.

Good stuff. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27am

Loved the graphics and the gameplay is fairly entertaining. Good job!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18am

World didn't scroll... Love the derpy leg movement.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

it's an okay game :) the sound killed my ear tho haha

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

+animated background
-sound effects

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

very nice game

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Nice take on the theme, felt a bit unit spam-y at times but that's all part of this type of game, really.

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57pm

From all the reviews I have read, the AI is supposed to be bad but it kicked my ass! Very fun game. I really enjoyed playing it. Great Job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54am

Everything good except innovation and theme. But it still really fun to play! Good job!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Graphics (especially background) is very nicely done!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Actually very fun game and well balanced too , very good work

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Good entry.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Pretty cool dynamic pixel paysage!
Such a fun game =)

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Super fun game! I love these types :D

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very very fun! Probably my favorite game as of now! Great music, graphics, and gameplay! Nothing bad to say about this game!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

The game is very well balanced. It is really addictive. And graphics are awesome.Congrats!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

Nice game, congrats!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Pretty neat, it was not easy to beat and mechanics were nicely balanced. Very fun to play!!

Halfbus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fun game, i love that graphics

RookMage says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Love it! Would be great to see multiple levels and more units. Very impressed.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

Good game! I had a hell of a ride, at first it looked like I was winning easily but then somehow the enemy turned it around?!
I then was in danger of losing but spammed footmen (60) and archers and was able to fight them back. Thinking my defending army is now strong enough I made the advance... only to be smashed by the enemy's troops yet again.
Then I summoned the (800) creature. I have no idea what it does but it died horrible at the hands of a mob consisting of enemy farmers.

In short: I had fun with this :D

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:52am

Realy fun game to play! it was a little bit to hard, i batlle wave after wave after wave and still couldnt finish it, i also tougth it dindt quite fit the theme...

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

love the pixel art and the parallax background but the gameplay is a bit repetitive and the magic/explosions felt unfair and were too loud when it triggered on groups of soldiers. Maybe the connection to the theme would have been stronger if the enemies were coming out of portals instead of another castle. good compo entry

lxd1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

could play for hours! great game,

Rehacked says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Good game and gameplay But i didnt see theme in gameplay. Goodjob

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very fun and beautiful! Now I'm tired of clicking. ahha

_Rilem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Great fun. It took me quite some time to destroy the enemy, once I spawned the robots they went down quickly though :D

handkor says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:00am

Those tree in the background are really well animated.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Well done. I would have liked to see more unit types and get info on their strengths. I ended up having a tie with the other party and eventually closed the window. I felt I don't know how to beat the damned enemies :D

This isn't new genre, so would be interesting to see something surprising & new in the field.

As an 48 hour feat: great job. Congraz.

psychonull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I liked the graphics, and details like the trees moving in the background. I found the sound effects a little bit annoying towards the end, but it was cool anyway.

I was winning with a lot of archers, but like other commenter said, the game turned around suddenly.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Fun simple game. My score: 4866.
I love the art and the music.
The AI could be a little smarter. I had fun with it overall.

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very fun, nice graphics (specially the background). An enjoyable game. It's true that Tower Defense games are way too many nowadays, but it's good to see a balanced one. If I distracted a second from the recruiting panel, I could lose lots of terrain.

Nicely done.

tchem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

Fantastic !!!! i love the graphics and idea.

imdigitaljim says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:29am

This is really freakin hard. Good game though

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:52am

Well done, you have to continue!

OFF says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:18am

One of the most addictive game i've seen.
That's a simple tower defense like, but the music and even the background animation make the game really fun.
It lack of some variety (upgrade, level, unity) but it's a real good base.
Only the portal/castle look ugly compared to the other sprite.

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great Game!!! 18000+ points :DD

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Hi there. I enjoyed placing some warr/wiz/ranged for a bit. Screen didn't scroll to the left once battle had shifted that way, not sure if Chrome/W8.1 issue or game. Needs a bit more for player to do. Liked the sounds. Good job!

EpiphanyG says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

At first I assumed this was a jam entry. Excellent work under the compo constraints! :)

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nicely done, beautiful graphics and catchy sound, though I couldn't work out why my guys would randomly take damage, although I can only assume it's the tower damaging them?

alhvi says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:00am

Wow, I really liked your game. I didn't understand how to scroll first, but then I got it. Great Job!

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:06am

I liked it :D
Almost lost once but managed to turn the table heh
The background is awesome, as well as the animations. I just disliked the castles sprite, specially the player's one. I think it didn't fit the scenery :X

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:54am

Took a while but finished this. The only thing I didn't like were the explosions, they seemed random and unfair. Other than that, very enjoyable and just loved the pixel art!

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:21am

Cool graphics, soundtrack, and loving the animations on the clouds and trees. Really effective and well thought out game!

S0rax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I love this gameplay, and the sound is awesomee. It's a very good entry !

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The game is very fun. I like art style and gameplay. Congratulations!

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Well put together. Although I'd say the tie-in to the theme was a bit slapped on. Good tower defense game though!

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Great game! That big guy unit is a scam tho.

ajopart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:25am

Great !

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Fun game, not the most original but fun to play.

gladers says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Very fun, and really well balanced

ZYXer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Score: 29127 (Not sure if that's good or bad)

Great game idea, graphics and sound!

Sharkxx says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This game is really fun, the sounds are fine even tho the fighting sounds are getting a little annyoing.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:56am

The graphics are nice, though the theme is minimally connected. The random explosions killing huge waves of your units seem completely unexplained, annoying, and unfair. It seemed to happen near the enemy base, and I did not see any explanation for it mentioned ingame or on the page. It was also difficult to see what sort of units were strong against what, and the AI units seem to be able to mass on top of each other and do nearly unstoppable rapidfire attacks.

Is there a way to use your own random explosions to take out huge waves of enemies? The only explosions I ever saw in my favor happened BEHIND all my troops, on top of my own fortress.

If you build an 800-cost troop, the enemy can apparently spawn an entire wave of 10-20 archers, behind their fortress, completely offscreen, which will do permanent rapidfire until you lose.

Am I missing something obvious? Most people seems to be winning easily, but the only thing I finally found that worked was endless spam of archers and small units.

I tried not building the 800-cost unit, and the AI got a synchronized group of green punching units. Nothing seemed to kill them, and when they got near my base, once again the explosions appeared BEHIND my base and did not touch any enemy units at all.

One user interface detail -- the "highlighted" color is the same as the "recharging" color, which might make it confusing about when a unit is available.

If the explosions happened near your base to simultaneously kill big waves of enemies, like the enemy can do to you, the game might be less incredibly frustrating. :(

Katamori says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:07am

A little bit unpolished,but plays and looks well!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Favorite game of the contest so far! Beat it with 16811 points! Great job!

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I was doing fine until they spawned like 100 archers and instantly overran my entire force :(

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:41am

pretty game! and super addicting haha. I thought it was gonna be soo easy at first, but boy was i wrong

lotusgame says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice game ! I really like your pixel art. It's neat. Very good job for a 48h entry !!

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:59am

This was actually a lot of fun! Love these kinds of games. Took quite a while before I was able to beat the enemys base too. Got 16000 points :) Great entry, man! Well done.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:56am

Loved the pixel art, the trees especially. Gameplay worked well, felt like there were waves of difficulty. Nicely done.

Sogomn says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Cool game. Not sure if its really done in 48 hours tho.

eLLectron says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:04am

I have a liking for your entry :D Graphics are lovely and it's really fun !
However I found it a little bit easy and it doesn't sound that great... But it works so well !!! GG
~ YoPox

ra4king says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:37am

Fun game, I loved how it kept going back and forth where I would be winning then the opponent would be winning then I made a last push and won the game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I liked the way to scroll the game left and right. Not very attached to the theme, but it was very fun to play.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:04pm

like the gfx

EndingChaos says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:58am

Great job! Very fun and rewarding! Love the art style

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Cool game. The parallax effect was really cool and I liked your sprites and their animations.
Had some really tense battles where I didn't quite know if I would win or lose, but in the end, I did it. ;)

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Quite enjoyed this game. Got quickly overwhelmed.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:35am

The funniest entry I've played so far! Reminds me of King's Arthur World on Snes, really great entry!

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:59am

Wow, that was intense. I finally won, very captivating and entertaining, although i did not really get the dynamics of who is best against what. Anyhow, very good game!!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

nice graphics!

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Such a nice graphics there! Very addictive game!

CogComp says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Wow I just kept on playing and playing. Wasn't expecting to get so hooked. Great tune as well!

recursor says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

Pretty fun game, and not too easy to win either. Nicely done.

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:02am

It gets pretty frantic! Very fun.
Great job with the controls! I can just hold the mouse button down instead of constantly clicking on each button to summon a guy.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:09am

Fun game! I ended with a score of 14,446 :) The music and graphics were fun, you even took the time to animate the trees in the background.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Graphics are neat, but gameplay itself should be more balanced. Won just by overcoming enemies. And if there was gold income upgrades that would make it much more interesting :)
Anyway, great job!

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:46am

Really liked your game
Played through my android and spent some good time :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Awesome game. The balance is quite neat!

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Very impressive artwork for 48 hours!

racarate says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:54am

neat! my perception was that i had to slowly build my army, slay creeps for gold and decide when (and whether or not) to buy that 800 gold unit. i felt like i was on the field of a faraway fantasyscape, with a maxfield parrish sunrise illuminating the final battle.

i learned from your game that only four units is enough to stop and think about what kind of shopping to do. it's interesting that so much dillemma can come from so little.

great sprite art, but by putting the build user interface at the top left my eyes were away from the action of the game. also i noticed 'hover over' an icon had the same treatment as 'building' an icon which was a little confusing.

the music was nicely intense, but it was a really short loop. the sfx, i probably would have thickened up a bit (or brought down in the mix).

overall, very nice game. oh, and my favorite part was the text THE WORLD CONNECTORS.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:51pm

ETC (from Creative Sectors):
I am a fan of the 80s games (Atari, Commodore, Sony, Nintendo, etc.), so I was touched by it's graphics. I had 16651 points in the end. It's not so original, but I like the parallax background with the animated trees.

Frankus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Really fun game. Won with an giant army of archers :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I loved this! It reminded me strongly of Swords and Soldiers. The unit selection was nice. The Golem creature was expensive but you can see why when you deploy it! The AI really ramps up so make sure you attack fast and hard! Great game and one of the most enjoyable LD games I have played

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:19pm

fun game. nice remix.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Really beautiful and fun game! Would love to see it enhanced further with more unit types. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]