Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eiradirian Phasejumpers

by blay09 - Jam Entry

=== Controls ===
- LEFT MOUSE BUTTON: Select Unit, Move, Attack
- RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON: Open Menu
- W, A, S, D or Mouse: Move Camera
- ENTER or LEFT MOUSE BUTTON on message box: Next message
- Q: Skip dialog
- TAB: Toggle Camera View

== Credits ==
Programming: Blay09
Writing: Blay09
Graphics: Konrad Knox + Blay09 (+ OpenGameArt)
Audio: OpenGameArt (see below)

Music by Alexandr Zhelanov (OpenGameArt.org)

This game uses assets from the Kenney Donation Pack:
http://kenney.itch.io/kenney-donation

This game uses assets by the following artists from OpenGameArt.org:
para
Buch
Alexandr Zhelanov
yd
sithoius
MetaShinryu
Luke.RUSTLTD
scenna
bart
SpriteAttack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#247Graphics(Jam)3.71
#337Audio(Jam)3.18
#452Theme(Jam)3.03
#473Overall(Jam)3.09
#490Mood(Jam)2.90
#548Fun(Jam)2.74
#593Innovation(Jam)2.64

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34am

Neat, I really liked the graphics, and how much personality you put into this. The gameplay was well done also.

zapaman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Lovely graphics indeed. Sadly, enemies would stack up on each other and I couldn't target who I wanted. Grats on the game o/

Autonomous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

nice one

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Best in the series so far. They just keep getting better. Really enjoyed this, you really improved on the dialogue system. Story was great, even made sense in a non illa setting.

The way you used the theme was fantastic, really enjoyed the medieval stuff. Enjoyed using Konrad a lot too. Only thing I'd have liked to have been able to do is speed up enemy turns (like in Advance Wars). Got very tense at the end, almost lost, but got there. Really good job, nice one.

I am a sucker for tactics games though ;) . And I love to see a good one made for a jam like this.

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I kept dying, nice graphics and music.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Normal game, worthy of respect.

donaldducky says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Good show! Nice music, good job!

chadiik says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Looks like a South Park RPG, I like the graphics :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

If it was a regular game I would say : I'm not a fan of the combat gameplay, it's not very fluid and needs some balancing regarding attack power, attack visuals, and HP and AP. And there is also a bug if you smash your LMB on a ennemy you will attack him below 0 hp... BUT as we are in a jam context, I just want to say bravo for making that happen, it seems so huge to put all that together... 8)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:47am

Cool graphics, should be faster I think :)

kyru says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Neat game, graphics were nice and it was a type of game I hadn't exactly seen in here yet.

kristof says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Neat. A few more explanations would have been helpful. Graphics assortment looks a bit motley, but creates an overall positive feeling.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Wow everything about this game is really good. Lovely graphics, story and tactics warfare. Cheers! :D

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Sadly this is hardly a strategy game, it involves more praying to the RNG than actual tactics. The attack damage has a too wide variance. (from like 0 to 20 damage) Which made everything pretty unpredictable, sometimes I could kill two enemies within one round, sometimes I did like no damage to a single enemy within one round. Since actions are limited (moving, attacking) and AP are shared between all characters, it never makes any sense to attack with the weaker character.
The third (last?) fight was just impossible for me, because enemies would spawn without end and just keep shooting at me and chipping away my health, and I could not do anything against it.

I really wanted to enjoy this, because it looked promising, and I like the setting you created with the splitted worlds and the cool music fading effect. But sadly I only got frustrated. :(

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

This was pretty sweet.

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:05am

There were a few bugs with dialogs I found, but overall, a nice game. Good job! :)

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:32am

I could only get through the first stage. The combat is easy to understand, but difficult to win. Some weapons I couldn't understand how they work or how much damage it does. I guess it's trial and error. Nice work overall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]