Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Political Planeting

by ItsSacraficed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello,

this game is about getting as many residents as possible on each planet.

You might be a bit confused in the beginning, just read trail and error!

BUT if the planet runs out of food you're GAME OVER!

When a planet has enough of each resources for a certain amount of time, the residents will automatically increase.

Planets are clickable, and when you do a Menu pops up, where you can upgrade the harvester on that planet, decide what trade routers and how many of those resources (Each planet has it's own type of resource, so you need all planets to grow).

CHECK HOW TO PLAY (Menu in Game)!

PS. You need to be sure that the food planet (Planet that has the Type Food (Planet ID 2)) send enough food to the other planets so that they don't die!

Hope you enjoy, comments are welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#600Theme3.20
#801Innovation2.83
#897Humor1.73
#950Audio1.67
#1083Mood2.09
#1110Fun2.20
#1126Graphics2.08
#1153Overall2.38
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14am

Game ends far too fast, did you mean to pause while in menus?

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

No, it doesn't end unless you let a planet starve, you need the planet with the food type, to send food to the other planets!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I liked this. I was slightly confused at first... but no more confused than I was playing my own game ha. Nice work!

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Interesting concept (not so far from what I had envisioned for my own entry) that could make a good resource management game.
Too bad the UI is actually hidering play instead of helping it. Being forced to read text for planet types while the game continues in the background is not terribly friendly. Also, warnings about low food on planets could be directly presented in a visual manner, for better reaction.
Anyway, the game fits very well with the theme.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Well once you played it, you will start to know what Planet ID is which resource :), and the reason that it hides it a bit is because the planets and such overlay it so you couldnt read the text. But all valid points tho!

snade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21am

Interesting concept, takes a while to understand it.

There is a bug though, if you click on a planet, the planet will turn a bit invisible but they are still there. if they happen to be above a button then you can't click on the button anymore.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

I tried the Android version, but the game screen was tiny (bugfix?).
See screenshot: http://i62.tinypic.com/25s9xjr.jpg
When I come back home I'll give a try of the PC version and vote. :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01pm

@Snade Well I wasn't able to order the things that rendered, so I made them go transparent so you could at least read the text, and indeed because their on top you cant click the buttons.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

@katanagari7c1 o.O the background Image is 1280X720, and only the background image is small, the rest of the game will adjust to your device his screen size

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:54am

Tried to play in my android phone, but it is not really playable. The game does notresize its graphics based on the screen size, so the font is very tiny and the background does not cover the whole screen.

You can solve both problems by correctly using the Ortho Camera before your rendering pass! Good luck :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

@caranha Thanks, all tho I probably need to rewrite it all so some other bugs are gone as well, thanks for feedback :)

phi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I'm sorry, but even after some trying I was not able to figure out how to do the things you tell me to do. A tutorial text is not very helpful if you have less than 3 seconds time to read it before you lose the game. You should have thought more about whether people who play the game for the first time are going to understand the concept.
The game might be quite cool, and it seems playable, but it needs more work. :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

you have lots of time if you just dont randomly click all the things xD, start with planet with the ID number food and dont click all the check boxes, and you can slow startly

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:06am

Was first confused but once I got it down it was fun pretty nice work in 48

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Pretty good trading game. Went for leveling up the food planet first, and then things started to get going without much of a fuss. Simplistic, but there's no need for that many bells and whistles on a game of this type. Still, would've been nice with some background music or something.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]