Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holodeck Adventures

by rejooh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome Ensign!

I made this very little "Point and Click"-Adventure in 48 hours. The game is pretty self explanatory, just start into it and you will get the idea. Try to pick stuff up and use it. There is no goal given put once you helped every crew-member you are pretty much done.

You are also able to walk around with WASD or your arrow-keys for no purpose what so ever!

Have fun!


PS: I advice you not to look into the source, it's a real mess and breaks with every OOP-Paradigm I can think of.


----------------------------------
I'm sorry for all the trouble, I added an OS-X Version using jre 1.6 instead of 1.7 and edited it to conform to OS-X paths (see comments).

If you are starting the app from the terminal, make sure to change your path to the path containing the .jar, /res and config.ini.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#31Graphics4.31
#49Humor3.69
#217Mood3.42
#319Overall3.45
#375Audio3.00
#403Theme3.44
#430Fun3.19
#875Innovation2.75

Comments

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05am

love the art and dialog, really cute!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

I wish you had the time to make some complex puzzles or make use of the walking :D really nice art style and funny characters!

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Just stopping by to say I am jealous of your pixel art skills. Really cool stuff.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

It sadly doesn't start up. :/ Only prints "Error: No property file found for level!" into my console (Linux/Debian Wheezy/64-Bit).

The graphics are looking absolutely fantastic, though, voted 5 stars for them already.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I'm sorry for the inconvenience, but the game looks for its resources relative to the path in which you are when you execute the .jar. Just change your directory to the directory you extracted the holodeck.jar, /res and config.ini into, before executing the game and you should be fine. :)

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Loving the art. It's cute and fun.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Doesn't start up in OS X
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: holodeck/jar

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

The screenshots look amazing! I would love to play it!

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Let me quickly check on OSX.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

If there's Star Trek in any game, that that game is the best. THIS game is awesome.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very cute game!

I managed to find out what to do for every place except for the earth country side.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

That's nice! As was said before, great pixel art. Also, funny dialogues. That bored guy in blue made me laugh. And while I couldn't really help all of them (the first guy's still in the water, I'm afraid), at least the one on the roof has a fish now.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

App quits directly after launch.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I have no idea how to progress in the game, BUT I LIKE IT!

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Thanks for the bugreports, added a OSX-Version. OSX doesn't support '\' in filepaths, only '/', that was my mistake.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Best point & click Trek game since the 25th Anniversary!

I have one Star Trek reference in my entry, can you find it? ;)

Enzo42 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Quite fun, great art, good fitting sound, had a hard time finding the items haha

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Fantastic pixel art!

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Great art and the dialogue gave me a good laugh! The transition animation between the locations was really cool too. Amazing job!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

That was... absolutely excellent.

Not much to the game, but hilarious pixel-art & dialogue.

Couldn't help Wesley though... Poor Will Wheaton...

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Good ,, i like that... congratulations

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

Pixelpicard makes me laugh XD

swich says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Treat for hardcore Star Trek fans! A bit hard to control and figure out (it took me a while to figure out that it is not point and click).

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Fuck yes Star Trek! :D Funny with nice graphics. Good job!

smizmeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47am

Super cute game. I'm a Star Trek fan so I got all the references ;) I will say, though, it was hard to find the rope.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Can't play either: http://hastebin.com/qasamalazu.hs

Drop me a mail at rnlf (at) base13 (dot) de

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Worked now! Thanks for your mail. The art is really impressive. Cool Trek references.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:28am

anything star trek is awesome in my mind! Art work is perfect while being cute at the same time. I can imagine buying plushies of these characters haha!

Great work

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Art is incredible! I cannot believe you actually made it all in 48 hours! Amazing job!

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Design is great, dialogs are good, but there're only few of them. And I dadn't manage to finish the game. It was quite fun though

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Great art. Great Star Trek references. You can tell who the characters are, etc. Was neat to run around the different levels looking for stuff. Could see this expanded into a nice little adv game engine.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice and funny game. I also love the art. Congrats!

draxov says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Made me laugh a few times, got stuck on the Spot puzzle though, I thought I'd figured it out but nothing happened. But other than that a star-trek nostalgia-rife game!

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This is fantastic. Finally a game that teaches you important stuff, like how to attract pets with fish, pick up chicks with berries etc.

Thoughts: The fact that the captain is the only constant in the different programs in the holodcek must mean he is the only real human there. So all these worlds are just where he goes to unwind? He has a whole world devoted to Wesley drowning for instance. I love it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]