Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Otherworld

by Malapropos - Jam Entry

STORY:

An evil presence lingers in the forest your tribe calls home. As a shaman, you are able to travel between the connected worlds of the living and the dead and cleanse the forest of the evil within. However, make sure you guard your body well, else you might find yourself trapped in the spirit world for eternity.

Team Cosy Cave:
Programming: Anssi Lappalainen
Art: Catarina Sarmento

RULES:

The stones of the old gods have been corrupted by evil spirits. Destroy them all and cleanse the forest of evil.
Each corrupted stone has several locks. You must destroy them all before you can fight the spirit that took over it. Defeat the swarm of lesser spirits in order to break the locks.
You can only attack the spirits once you leave your body and travel to the spirit world, however your spirit can't travel too far from your body.
Guard your body well since evil spirits will try to destroy it.

Controls:

WASD - Move character
Space - Jump
E - Switch between spirit world and normal world
Mouse - Look around and aim
Left mouse button - Shoot in spirit world
Right mouse button - Dash in spirit world (invulnerable while dashing)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#90Graphics(Jam)4.20
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#305Mood(Jam)3.23
#441Innovation(Jam)2.94
#527Humor(Jam)2.04
#552Audio(Jam)2.46
#587Overall(Jam)2.92
#682Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18am

I wasn't really able to get it to control right, but the graphics and animation are nice

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

I like how the game aligns with the theme. The idea of astral projection for a game is awesome. I was swarmed pretty easily, though, and it is hard to adjust between going out of your body and attacking enemies, though. And I am not sure what to do with the rock, although I only played for a bit. I think objectives should be clearer. I do hope that you make this into a commercial product!

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

One more thing: you should fix the menu where it displays the controls. It makes it hard to figure out what everything does, although I was eventually able to figure it out.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15am

Really cool concept and super pretty! Love the stylistic choices with this

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20am

We enjoyed the use of theme, but the controls are really difficult to learn.

Nice entry anyway !

BitDemon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23am

The graphics and game mechanics are great, but like DerekRumpler said I get swamped really quickly.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

Wow, this game looks great! I had a very hard time getting past the initial level, though. The character moves really slowly and because I can't go very far from my body, it's difficult to develop a defensible position while I'm killing stuff. I was really looking forward to getting farther in the game, too, because your monster in the screenshot looks super-scary! Great character design.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Beautiful designs, but their schedule and the difficulty of the game were unbalanced. There is also a problem of colliders where possible stick to the walls.

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Wow, nice to see a game with a good art style. Especially since it's made in such a short time. Although the only problems I find with this game would be the floaty controls other than that its pretty good.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I like the sketchy look to the game, very pleasing to the eye.

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Really slick graphics, love the style! The controls are a bit on the sluggish side, & I couldn't quite make it past that first big eye-rock :X but i like the soul form vs real form duality. The constantly spawning monsters seems a bit on the brutal side too though. Nice entry :D

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice game with great art. Especially the first boss looked really nice.
I played the webplayerversion and had a problem where when dashing via right-click it opened also the right click menu.
Also some kind of regeneration or healthpickups would be pretty appreciated. :D

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Really beautiful graphics. The gameplay feels a bit unbalanced, you get swapped very fast. I didn't really get how you're supposed to use the dashing, since my main problem was that the evil spirits attacked my body.

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Really nice art style, but difficult to control.

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Cool idea and nice visuals. It would have been nice to have some visual indicator of how far away from your body you're allowed to move, I didn't understand why I couldn't go farther at first.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The graphics are really nice, and the game is pretty good. The story is interesting as well, Well done! :)

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great job.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:58am

Beautiful art and very interesting mechanics. I struggled a bit to aim and shoot. Nice job!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:58am

Absolutely awesome looking! Great visual style, but the controls were pretty tricky. Specifically, that moving the mouse around in regular form changed the camera angle and I definitely wanted W to be the jump button often enough since it is the upward motion button while in spirit form. It also got way too difficult way too quickly given how large the third "wave" of enemies was compared to the first two "waves." In any case, though, this is really cool!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12am

very visually pleasing! the game concept was also pretty great. I wish there was a way to heal between battles :)

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great graphics and I really enjoyed the mechanic with the world-swapping mechanic. Having to protect myself while in the spirit form is a great idea. Great work with awesome visuals!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Only made it past the first stone after a couple of tries, but did not feel like playing further because the gameplay didn't really feel too good. The art and animations are superb, but some background audio would probably add a lot. I heard music in the menu, but the game was silent. I also really like the idea and setting of this. Kinda reminds me of http://myanimelist.net/anime/2246/Mononoke .

So, what I did not like:
- No feedback in the menu
- Spirit projectiles shooting above my cursor, instead of where I was aiming
- I fell from a platform while transforming and was paralyzed after that
- My true form feels too defenseless since the spirits can just travel trough the terrain to get to it no matter how good the position is
- Spammy gameplay
- Controlling the characters didn't feel too good, the transition could've been a bit shorter too
- Hitboxes didn't feel consistant

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Malapropos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Thank you everyone for playing and commenting. We are probably making a post compo version after judging ends. We are going to fix a lot of the problems mentioned here that we didn't have time to fix during the jam.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Looks very nice and gameplay is promising, but then suddenly so many enemies ...

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very good graphics and mood but the game is too hard for me to complete. I'm too much vulnerable, I can't stop spirits from bellow and the shots are not very accurate..

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:01pm

The sfx is not really, like, shaman evil like. A wisp like shooting with particles might be good! Eerie ambient music makes it even awesome

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good idea, great gfx, but i didn't manage to move far, too many evil spirits :(

Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:14pm

It was more frustrating rather than fun. The gameplay wasn't fluid enought.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]