Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Paperboy

by Aaants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of a rocket and partake in that noblest of tasks: delivering newspapers.

Blast your paperboy through space with the mouse and click to launch newspapers from the ship. Hit planets to score points. You get one try at each level and your career score is tracked.

I have edited a little disclaimer when the game loads (none of which affects the game/gameplay) for the sake of my own sanity.

-Ant

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#54Graphics4.20
#56Audio3.75
#98Overall3.78
#112Mood3.63
#171Innovation3.71
#175Humor3.09
#218Fun3.49
#227Theme3.70

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

nice, very impressive for 48 hours.

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

I like the spaceshippin' around, feels good once you've blasted off. The controls to aim the ship make it a little difficult to pick where you're going though.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Cool job, fun having to plan the sling shot manoeuvres.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

Very polished and fun game! Lovely graphics and audio!
Level restart would have been nice instead of restarting the whole career.

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Looks great :)!

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Like the polish of this game, feels complete. Love the graphical details and the trail of the ship. I didn't like the launching mechanism though, launching was just a guessing game for me, I would have liked to see a predicted trajectory. Also if you crash and not deliver anything it takes you to the next level anyway.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Great gravity simulation

lantto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

Best graphics I've seen so far! Very polished overall and fun gameplay with satisfying physics. Amazing job. I find it a bit hard (keep crashing into planets straight away) but I will give it another try now. Very fitting music as well. All I'm missing is some rockety sound effects. Again, amazing job! I'm impressed.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

The mechanic is great, very clever. Although it took me some practice to get the hang of delivering the papers with the gravity.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12am

Fun game and nice art and polished game .
well done :D

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

A little bit difficult, and being reintroduced to each level every time is a little odd.
But excellent everything. Graphics, Audio (the cymbal crash on death is brilliant), great use of the theme, funny.
Best game I've played yet.

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

The graphics are phenomenal! I personally hate how slow the game is, mostly due to the transitions between levels.. Other than that it's a super solid game! Well done! :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

One of the best I've played so far (not too many, but still). Very nice presentation and those slingshots work surprisingly well. Looks like it would be the perfect smartphone App.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Absolutely love the gameplay, I wish I could restart each level separately so I could train a little longer. Otherwise amazing work !

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Interesting game, I didn't like the fact that you continue when you fail at first, but I actually think it's a good idea for a game with a score system. Maybe a way to improve on that is to let the player choose to either continue or retry the last level - instead of having to restart the whole game. I like the art style a whole lot, but the game wasn't as fun for me as it was visually appealing. Still a pretty cool, and very well polished game, with impressive physics.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

nice polished entry (though I died a lot :) )

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Yeah very fun game ! Graphics clear and colorfull.
A level selector would be great !
(I died a lot and I couldn't replay the level...)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Hi there. Love the graphics and sound. Found the game itself pretty hard to start with - kept rocketing the nearest planet... but settles down once you aim to miss ;) Good job!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:16am

Holy crap that's awesome. Quick, add a level selection screen, give people one to three stars... this needs to be on my phone. My kids would like it more than angry birds.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Wow! That's impressive music for 48 hours!

My main complaint is that you don't get a chance to retry levels when you fail, but it goes straight onto the next one. I think it should be that if you die/don't deliver all presents you automatically restart the same level

IMO remove the disclamer though! You don't need it

It would be nice if the game could be resized, as it's a little small on my hdpi screen (perhaps that is just newgrounds though)

Also as far as LD etiquette goes, it's somewhat rude to have your main link to a version of the game with ads. I'm pretty sure I missed them because of adblock, but just so you know

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:09am

this was a great game. The mechanics were cool and I love the idea of delivering the papers. Very neat.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:02am

Very well polished game. I'm impressed for a 48h compo entry ! You should add more storytelling and make a mobile version ;) Congrats !

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:32am

The most fun gravity based game I've tried so far. Thumbs up for having a (non-intrusive) tutorial. The controls are clumsy, though. Angry Birds style dragging would work much better.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Adorable, I loved pretty much everything about this. Aesthetics were great, physics weren't frustrating, gameplay was really fun, and the whole space paperboy idea is unique and charming. I love the jazzy music too.

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice game! Fit to the theme

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I'm really sorry you got unfriendly comments on newgrounds, because I think this is one of the best games I've played so far.

The graphics and the physics are great, the game is just really hard. :D

And this game als reminds me of my own entry (which - unlike yours - is bad).

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I kept crashing!!! XD I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]