Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by rjhunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE IDEA

Everyone knows worlds which sit on top of turtles or elephants or trees.

You might have heard that some worlds don't ride on top of anything, they just roll around like a ball.

Now you can see for yourself how those ball-shaped worlds get made.

IN A NEW PART OF THE UNIVERSE, WHERE TIME AND SPACE HAVEN'T SETTLED DOWN YET...


A "God game" which plays like an RTS up close, but builds up to something more like Tetris (with very, very large pieces).




THE REALITY

An unplayable abomination. Not even really a game, yet.

The game is definitely not finished. The game ends before the player can connect worlds together to make a big Tetris-style monstrosity.

The initial entry version left in the development-mode "press zoom to win" button. This version removes the "win" shortcut.


COMPATIBILITY

Chrome should work. Safari too.

Playing the original entry with Firefox crashed (decoding audio), but I've uploaded a new version that doesn't crash (just misses some audio instead).

Internet Explorer and mobile devices might work (but probably not well).


CHANGELOG
Release 2:
- "ported" to Firefox (different audio formats)
- removed the dev-mode-only "press zoom to win"
- fixed preload bar position
- game is actually 800x600 now instead of losing pixels to the border (should show up in itch.io frames better)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#674Audio2.48
#910Humor1.68
#1086Mood2.04
#1098Graphics2.16
#1136Innovation2.13
#1144Theme2.03
#1205Fun1.45
#1221Overall1.84

Comments

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Crashes in chrome ...

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

This was too buggy to really get into and enjoy.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I really like the idea of your interpretation of the connected worlds, but it's a shame it is not yet finished - seemed like a cross between populous and some sort of Sid Meier game :).

Assets did take a little while to load (>30s) if that's why others cannot get it to work. Otherwise it works fine on mac/osx.

Wevel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Not really sure what the game is.

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Sounds like a cool idea. I'd love to see more!

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Looks like with a bit more time and effort you could have something pretty good. LD can be super stressful. I almost gave up! Great that you have something though.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Looks nice. Great potential here.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

It's an innovative concept, very interesting, I'm Looking forward for the fixed version.

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Would've like to see where it was going. Game sound effects are very tough to listen to.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Not sure what the game was really about ...
But nice fight sounds !

dhargan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:33pm

are those guys fighting? or pink ones are female an the other ones are male and they are hooking up or something? but I swear some of the blue guys destroyed each other. please continue and add more explanation, this idea has great potential.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Really not sure where this is going.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Hi there. Worked okay for me Chrome/W8.1. So... I launched all the cave people from both caves... waited a bit... nothing happened except some moving around and fighting. Look and sounds are great, so perhaps a good starting point ?

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I could not really figure out what to do :-/ Some instructions would have been cool. But I like the music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]