Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE

by xk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use WAD to move and Mouse to shoot in this fast paced world collision saga.

Destroy spawners and collect upgrades!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Graphics3.93
#418Overall3.34
#436Theme3.41
#443Fun3.17
#519Humor2.38
#588Mood2.95
#729Innovation2.93
#900Audio1.92
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

harko12 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06am

Nice Art, and cool Idea

suyoku says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

Love the art and the gameplay feels really smooth, great job!

xk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12am

Thank you guys <3

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

Love it! Perfect theme implementation and it looks great and is fun! Only flaw is perhaps the difficulty ramps up pretty fast!

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

That was hectic :D Would've been nice if there were more sound effects though. The camera shaking makes it feel really solid, and makes the lack of sound effects stand out more.
But yeah, other than it's pretty top notch.

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Sweet!

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

Cool graphics and camera shakes!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Great art style ! The game was fun to play, I gets rapidly impossible to protect your base. Great job !

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Visuals are good but too simple gameplay for me =(

Conk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

Awesome art! Game would be really good if extended.

sportsquid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

works well, and the first game I played with sound.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

Great game! Perfect use of the theme and I LOVE your graphic style.

Luin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The shakes of the camera are very cool ! The gameplay is smooth so it makes it really agreable. Too bad that there's no sound effects for the gun, it is one of the most important sound in a shooter. It makes you powerful ! The greed is here although.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Great graphics, the idea is nice.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Cool game. I was starting like... alright this is pretty chill and then was like well this escalated quickly.
The graphics are cool and the gameplay is pretty fast. I like the different types of enemies - took me a while to understand that my guy couldn't be damaged by them. It was like BEING the last turret in a towerdefense game which was ultimately setup to lose. Well done. :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This has a great look and I like the core mechanic very much.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

It gets pretty overwhelming pretty fast. Fun though, and the graphics are incredible. It would have been nice to have the upgrades be a little more noticeable.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

great art, I like the way the concept of the turning world

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Hard, hard, this game too hard! I chanted those words right through, until I lost, at a score of 10. The next waves game too fast and I couldn't even destroy a spawner before more came. :\

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Hi there. Cool graphics and sound. Like the constant stream of powerups. Nice explosions. Like the rotation to flip worlds. Generous amount of play before death. Great job!

Managore says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Gorgeous graphics and a really nice use of theme! The game really felt alive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]