Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Links

by esayitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So I made a side-scrolling, randomly-generated shmup. Squeezed in a decent amount of content as well, considering the time I got to work on it.

You toggle between controlling two ships, each of them on a different world, and you need to collect as many "Links" as possible. When you collect a Link, however, you also activate its effect.

Most links cause something to happen on the OTHER world, when you kill something. There are 2 others that don't work that way, as well. So in essence, the worlds are connected by what you do, where you kill things, and the currently active Link :).

The game gets gradually harder, but the difficulty can be reset by initiating a boss fight. To initiate a boss fight you simply pick up a special drop. I had time to make only one boss, and he gains HP every time he returns, so always fighting bosses may not be the smartest idea in the long term.

Whatever your playstyle, I hope you enjoy the game, and good luck on your entries!

Instructions:
Arrows - Move.
X - Shoot.
C - Toggle between ships/worlds.

Made with:
Code - flixel.
Graphics - paint.net.
Sound effects - sfxr.
Music - autotracker.py.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Theme3.87
#156Fun3.59
#161Overall3.66
#263Humor2.85
#274Innovation3.53
#314Audio3.13
#451Mood3.11
#545Graphics3.12

Comments

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

The art looks nice, but I was very confused.

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I like the way you made every collected link mix up the gameplay very cool.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Solid shooter with a nice interpretation of the theme.
A few visual clues would make it a bit more enjoyable though:
- better distinguish the currently controlled ship
- show if shots to the boss actually hit or not (or maybe I never hit it)
A bit 'bland' visually: the colors almost look like CGA ;) (Yes I'm old enough to have known that).
Good entry.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I like the style of the game. Not as easy as it looks first :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Great take on the theme and a fun game.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Little fun game. Interesting concept. Short.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Your game is very difficult, but I really like the random effects caused by the links, it really spices things up. I was impressed by how many of them there were, too.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Unfortunately the game didn't load for me - first got "too many connections" error, after that nothing at all...

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51pm

@Ervin Weird O.o. It's just basic flash. Did you try resetting the browser or opening the page again?

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Broken link, can't play.

Charlie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

It didn't load for me too. I'll try later

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Hi guys, link is indeed broken for some reason, I'm uploading it to itch.io and a new link should be up shortly. Sorry for the inconvenience.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

New link is up. swfcabin was messing up so I uploaded the file to itch.io. It loads faster too. I assume swfcabin failure is a temporary thing, so when it's back up it can be used to confirm that I didn't change anything :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Can't test it, page doesn't load

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice entry, I liked the concept and execution. The gameplay was addictive and engaging, so good job. I also liked the loop and art style. Really great game!

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Really fun and interesting game, I can't stop thinking about how would the multiplayer work on this!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I enjoyed the little pep talks at the game over screen, very amusing!
The game plays well and is very challenging, it is a great
idea to have the links randomly add gameplay mechanics on
the fly. Very original take instead of just letting you
switch and provide power ups. You can never know what to expect when picking up a link.
Recommended!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

The link worked this time, thankfully considering the name of your game. Amazing amazing amazing. Art, sound effects, music, gameplay mechanic, controls, cheesy backstory, everything is top-notch. A+

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

Great idea with the links. Makes it stand out from the crowd ;)

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Excellent use of the theme. I found myself not wanting to pick up links when I found one that gave a good effect, but I know that's the goal. The gameplay was quite solid, but a bit difficult to multitask at 3 am.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

You really nailed the theme with this one, simply a blast to play. The graphics remind me of old DOS games, which puts a bit of nostalgia as icing on the top :)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Once I got a hang of the controls, I enjoyed playing. Good design and fun challenge.

bentog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

The concept is pretty interesting, at least for me it was very difficult. Maybe I'm not good at multitasking. The variety of enemies and links made the game feel polished. Nice take on the theme!

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Challenging but I really liked the concept. I also liked the gameplay a lot as it was simple but constantly changing due to the different '?' abilities. Fun game!!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

You took the common two screens/worlds kind of game and you brought it to another level in a very interesting implementation. Collect links to randomize rules of connection between the two screens is awesome. Even if it could be a negative rule, you HAVE to collect it in order to increase your score... It's really cruel! But it's also a very neat game design. Congratulations. 4/5 currently, 5/5 with a solid realization.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

A fun twist on 2D shooters. Links made you stay alert to both screens. I liked the simple graphics. Great job!

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

NIce stuff, innovation but fun too.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Your game is hardcore, maybe you want to sell it in Korea xD.
Good job, it's a complete game.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Wow, that's quite difficult - I really can't multi-task! Really nice concept though and everything feels 'right' about the game. Liking the little humorous touches.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I quite like this. There are a lot of interesting little mechanical experiments, like the difficulty management and the way that changing links is your score. Compatriate immunity is plainly the best, so I just wanted to use that...but then I wouldn't get any more points!

I'm also impressed with the production values. A clean design means that I've found keeping track of which world I'm managing is much easier than in many similar entries that I've played so far.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51pm

It's very difficult, but awesome!! :D

owyoow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really liked the game. Link power-ups are great. Graphics look good as well. It was a bit hard to see which ship you are controlling.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

I liked the use of the theme, made for an interesting take on shooters that make you concentrate more.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

THANK YOU FOR MAKING A GAME HARDCORE GAMERS WILL ENJOY!! this was not easy, boring, or slow. Very nice entry!

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Just a perfect little game :) Great and original interpretation of the game. Just a few bosses and a bit more variation and this would have great replayability

43iscoding says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Very fun game. Great gameplay. It was interesting seeing this game being played on stream :)

DDFranky says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice shmup! The randomness gave at this game a ton of replayability. Too bad there is just one boss. Nice sounds and graphics as well.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I'm so bad at coordinating the ships, it keeps telling me to be ashamed of myself... Good game.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I suck on this one. But it is well done, pretty challenging

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Really hard (or maybe I just suck at shoot em ups) but I liked it a lot. I'd love a windows executable to play calmly offline :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

That felt awesome! Managed to get to the second beast but had the link where both ships control alike and that was it for me :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Good graphics and sound. Loved that the collected links had a different effect but I was not really fond of giving up the current link effect to get a new -potentially less awesome- one (although there's equal chance of getting a better one).

It's a really solid and fun game!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice game, congrats! Very funny.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Cool game! Solid concept. Nice simple art. Good job!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I like the idea, and it controls well. Though I would of liked a stronger visual indication of which ship was in control.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

to hard for my brain!! :-)
+ cool game play idea

Digiraze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very challenging!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:51pm

That was a lot of fun, the mechanics were simple enough and the player-switching was easy to keep track of (which definitely wasn't the case with a lot of games). The boss fight was fun, and it was neat seeing what all of the different links did!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Hi there. Found it too tricky to play pretty quickly, but can see that it would keep an adrenaline junkie flying for a long time. Like the steady buildup of difficulty. Good pixelart and chiptunes. Would have preferred two keys for selecting which ship rather than toggle. Good job!

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:48am

Fun shmup, should be more prominent which "window" is currently focused. Would have liked more interaction/interplay between the two sides.
A few more random thoughts:

Love the autotracker-bu music, make me cry every time. Thank you based autotracker-bu.

Having a big wall of text in the first screen is a good way to make people not read something.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Difficult game. I have troubles switching between ships and handling things fast enough. I liked the idea though.

I guess I would have wanted it to be easier :D
- auto-shooting would have made things easier
- maybe no insta-death but rather take damage?
- "repair" those damages...

Nice retro feel in the art style & sounds.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:06am

Challenging game to play, but I liked the game play, it really fit the theme. I liked that sometimes you could control two ships.

KevRevDev says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:50am

I really liked this entry. I loved how the links changed up the gameplay, and also counted as the score. So if you wanted a good score you had to keep changing how the game is working. The art and sounds were pretty nice too.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Got a whopping total of nine links on my best try out of four or so tries. Too bad that last link was "Great minds" which made me steer into a bullet straight away.

Plenty hard, but not annoyingly so. Nice risk vs. reward thingy going on with those links!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]