Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Split//Maze

by sol_hsa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Single player split screen maze race. Controls control both sides at once.

Win32 binaries only. Sources are available for the adventurous. The sources are a mess, as you might expect.

**EDIT: now a emscriptened web version is also available.**

Launch with a parameter for windowed mode. Controls are wasd or cursors, or you can use a gamepad. Plug in the gamepad before launching the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#96Audio3.63
#164Fun3.57
#204Overall3.58
#215Theme3.72
#440Mood3.13
#460Graphics3.22
#479Innovation3.26
#805Humor1.97

Comments

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice game. I really like the feedback and sounds, it almost has a flipper table vibe to it. :)

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Very good. I like the music, it gives it a great mood.

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

I really like the execution of this. Level progression seems a little slow at first, but very quickly picks up.

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Nice mechanics! Consider mobile version with accelerometer controls.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice music and gameplay :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice visuals and good, fluid gameplay. The game would certainly benefit from one or two additional gameplay elements, but other than that it's already pretty cool.
I kind of like the way the music changes in the menu. :>

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Great game feel and sounds, I got to level 9. I made something similar but turn-based puzzle.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Prety good, visual is great ! Timed race is a bit hard, and ask for a good and fast memory. I like the small green dot being the most important thing to figure out the path. Good job.

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Excellent game. I really like the graphics.

The design decisions of highlighting the blocks you collide with and the HUD showing in which direction the exit is are really clever.

Good job!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13pm

That was more fun that it has any right to be :]
I'd just point out I don't like games going full screen without my permission :( (Still played it quite a bit though :))

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The game may be simple, but the dual screen mechanic with slightly different levels adds enough for it to be fun.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Arcady game, nice music, and good job on level design with the little green hints. Solid game! Congratulations!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28am

Enragingly enjoyable :D The feedback when you hit the wall is so great

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Fun puzzle game. Mine uses a somewhat similar game mechanic.

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

Fun! I feel like there'd be more possibility space if you could get the balls "out of sync", currently it plays as a logical "or" of both collision spaces in both screens, but that said it looked great and played well. Loved the rolling ball effect.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very solid entry!
I wasn't expecting much, but it turns out it's very polished. Kudos!

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

Cool game. I'm terrible at it! :)

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Unfortunately, nothing renders when running this with wine (Mac OS 10.9.4). Just a black screen.

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Split/Maze definitely is an example of an entry done right - a nice concept, works without any problems, has a menu and cool music, and it's not frustrating. Awesome!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

cool game, nice music and sounds. The effect of the ball-hit to a wall is awesome!

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very cool concept.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

This is definitely one of those why-didn't-I-think-of-that game ideas. Good concept, well polished. Good game!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43pm

music and sound are awesome its definitely where i fucked up in my game. the theme was great

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:16am

I liked the textures for the walls and the ball graphics. The wall feedback (Graphics and audio) was nice in case you weren't paying attention to the screen you hit a wall on.

The timed trial mode was fun but I didn't like having to restart the game when lost. I would have kept playing if you could just retry the level you lost on.

The random mode was kinda fun but since you can't lose there becomes no reason to play at all.

anssipe says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

Fun game. Nice old school vibe. Reading the sources bring back memories :)

grayhaze says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Fun and challenging. I liked the obvious thought that had gone into the levels and particularly the animation of the balls. Good work! :)

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Fun game but I miss some enemies

Aomeas says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:19pm

That's fast and fun :D
The indicator of which collision is up on every screen is a cool idea
Nice sounds too :3

jprogman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:09am

Fun game! One suggestion to add: I like to see the green "coins" and the exit stand out more so I can see them in my peripheral vision.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Am I correct when guessing that in Time Challenge game's levels are randomly generated, but always with the same seed?

Anyway, this game is pretty addictive, made it to level 30, but then I decided I'd rather not go further, and it indeed seems like these levels can go on and on.

Also, nice touch with using different soundtracks for different modes; more hectic for Time Attack and relaxed for Endless Mode. I liked the graphics and the fact you can see where the end is located, too.

Overall, very solid, polished entry.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:02am

Quite mesmerizing in endless mode. Love that level complete sound .. satisfying, and familiar in some way but I can't put my finger on it.

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Time challenge makes this good. Great feedback, solid movement, something weird about the audio engine hewhew but really this is a quite a lot of fun.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Great sound effects, makes the game feel very responsive. :) The game gets very hectic fast but that just makes it so much better. I might have ended up cross-eyed after this :D

sol_hsa says ...
Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Thanks to everyone for your kind comments!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]