Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elite Smuggler

by JosephLittle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pilot your space ship around the system and perform smuggling jobs. Avoid the illegal routes between planets and try to shake off the Space Cops!

You must stay alive and complete at least 6 missions from the 10 planets in the system. Land on planets and access the dock to take on a mission. Ever time you leave a planet a Space Cop will chase you and attempt to kill you. The safest way to travel is along routes (Asteroids will kill you), but periodically some of these routes will become illegal to travel along. When that happens you will be chased by multiple Space Cops if you trespass on an illegal route.

Controls.
Forward = W or Up
Backward = S or Down
Turn Left = A or Left
Turn Right = D or Right
Landing Gear = E
Shield = Q
Pause = Escape or P
Buttons for menus are explained as they're shown

Features.
Space Ships!
Landing on planets!
Space Cops!
Asteroids!
Particles!
Difficulty!
No Sound!

To Run simply extract the zip and run "LudumDare30.exe"

Source code is for Visual Studio 2012

EDIT 26/08/14 [07:53]: Uploaded version of the game with tweaked difficulty (Game is no longer ridiculously hard). If this is against the rules let me know and I'll change the link back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#273Humor2.83
#524Graphics3.14
#668Fun2.91
#684Overall3.08
#721Innovation2.95
#749Theme2.96
#776Mood2.74
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

(+) Nice visual ambiance. (+) Like to be a smuggler :D (-) As said, no music and no sound. (-) Game is a tad too hard.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Unfortunately I suck at this already hard to play game
the controls are just so hard !
Too bad you don't have sound could've been kinda cool

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

A great idea, but there is too much to manage at the same time. I couldnt land on a single planet, my speed is probably too high, or i didnt get my landing gear out. On top of that, cops are strong. I like the idea of mission between worlds, you should tweak difficulty or simplify landing.

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

Thanks for the feedback guys!
I'm going to tweak the difficulty a bit by making the cops slower to turn and upping the maximum speed you can be at when you try to land. Hopefully these tweaks are okay in the spirit of things!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57am

Has the potential for being a very fun game, but right now it's a bit difficult - very hard to steer around, ship movement is a bit fast. I like your take on the theme though. :)

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I really really like this game! Nice work!

I think the level of difficulty at the beginning would fit better as to what you'd see after finishing several missions. I was also a little confused by some missions that said their destination was the planet I was already on.

Overall, though, I think the graphics are consistent and nice, and that the mechanics are pretty solid. It's exciting to avoid the space cops and asteroids and to try to land all at once. Really good! And the perfect scope for a game jam.

Laksen says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Great success!

That was way more fun than anticipated. All that crashing only made it more fun.

Your control scheme is terrible though :P Quitting with the enter key was quite frustrating :)

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Well, I sucked at landing on other planets but its a cool game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]