Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exiled to the Beyond

by Joror - Jam Entry

You are exiled to a sinister Realm, in a war where criminals are just fodder for the unknown - can you survive?

Exiled to the Beyond is a tactical turn based game where resources are limited, troops go mad, and you make do with what you might get from the other side.

NOTE: Webplayer is Unity3D BETA! Try the stand-alone downloadable versions in case you can't load it.

TIPS:
- You can select 'Roles' when standing on a tile with stuff on it (become a guard by pickup up weapons, become a builder by picking up a Hydrofarm prefab, etc.
- Madness cannot be stopped. Minimize the effects by rushing, or pushing on with fresh, not so mad, exiles when one goes mad.
- One exile eats one foodstuffs per turn, a Hydrofarm produces 5 food when worked by a group of exiles, a group can stock up 20 foodstuffs for travel. (food reserve)
- Fences and walls are easy to set up and protect your farms and exiles - the Madmen cannot rush through!
- Laser Rifle are gold. They give you and surrounding exiles hope of survival, and zap units fast. (see 'Attack' button when equipped with them)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#77Mood(Jam)3.82
#298Innovation(Jam)3.18
#298Audio(Jam)3.25
#313Theme(Jam)3.32
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#448Humor(Jam)2.26
#607Fun(Jam)2.61

Comments

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

Cool game, very creepy and atmospheric. Is there a way to prevent madness? Just rush for the enemy base?

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17am

@machabit : Prevent madness? No. You can slow it down though by having weapons, or being close to someone with weapons. They give hope. And a chance. ;)

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:59am

Awesome atmosphere and graphics! Creepy noise things too!

Embrace the madness!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Impressive! Took me a while to figure out how to do anything, but that's probably because I didn't read all the instructions :) Nice graphics and music!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Pretty creepy!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Creepy music and athmosphere. It was not completely clear what to do. I did some exploration, some Gardening, some Building, but followed no real goal...

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

That music was freaky! Great atmosphere and mood.

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Great mood :)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Well I could wander around with my exiles, kill some red men with lasers & build tons of fences around my portal. I tried to bring food to my scout exiles, but when i drop it on the floor all the scout can do is taking and not fill up foodstock. I encouter few ennemies and didnt feel the urge to build defences. I gave up before I found the other portal mostly because the control are a bit repetitive. I wish I could give some waypoint to a unit so I dont have to move it each turn.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:39pm

A lot of work done here in terms if depth. Great job, solid entry!

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:23pm

another turn based game.. cool
music was a bit loud and noisy

CoolIron says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:23am

Apart from UI and controls, that's a very impressive game :)
Atmosphere is great!

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very impressive to see a working turn based strategy game.
Getting the rules and user interface and the abstraction needed for the hex movement, all in the LD timeframe is pretty crazy. I think I got the hang of it after a little bit. It would be great to see a video walkthrough of a little of the game play, just to find out if I'm overlooking anything.

Anyway, very cool. Awesome Job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]