Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Layer

by Doctor Broccoli - Jam Entry

Layer: A Game.

You are stuck in a room. There are enemies. You must fight them.

...

Okay, fine, there's slightly more to it than that. The world consists of two layers, a red one and a blue one. You may switch between these two layers at will. When you're in the blue layer you get the ability to double jump, when you're in the red layer you get the ability to shoot fireballs.

Controls:
A-D: Move left and right
W: Jump (or double-jump (blue layer only))
Click: Shoot fireballs (red layer only)
Space: Switch layers (you can't switch layers if there is no available space in the other layer)


NOTE:
This game is not done. Not by a long shot. There is no scoring system, no victory condition, no real way the game handles player death etc. I just figured I should tell you before you jumped into this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Graphics(Jam)3.92
#247Theme(Jam)3.46
#282Mood(Jam)3.29
#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#472Innovation(Jam)2.88
#478Overall(Jam)3.08
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

doomista says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Is this game 64bit? 32bit WinXp cannot run it, 64bit Win8 can.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I'm fairly sure it SHOULD be 32 bit, though I don't have a 32 bit computer lying around here to test it... I'll add a 64 bit requirement to warn people for now and I'll see if I can create a 32 bit version tomorrow.

Managore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23am

Wow, the style here is fantastic! I LOVE how the two layers look over each other.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I like it, nice concept, but it does chuck you in to it abit to fast. Once I knew the controllers I did enjoy it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Pretty, stylish, fast-moving. I could see this being a lot of fun with some sound effects and goals. Great work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nicely done so far! just make sure to add sound later! We really like the aesthetics!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

This was a very cool design. Kudos for making this game both beautiful and challenging!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

The idea is interesting and it looks really original, but as a game it desperately needs more polish and balancing.

hadesfury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice feeling and visuals in there, but a bit overwhelming at first !

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Works perfectly under Win7 64bits. (keyboard Qwerty)
Like the graphics style, but yes this game is not finished.
Anyway , it could be a good game.

Robber says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

love the design of the world..

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Not working for me, just get a "game.exe stopped working" error.. Win 7 64 bit :(

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I have Windows 7 64-bit, and it seems to be working.

The graphical effects on the level are really cool and the mechanic of switching between the red space and blue space goes very well with the theme. It was also very fun!

There were a few issues that should be considered in a future version though. First off, the moment the game begins, you are instantly barraged by enemies. Makes the game really difficult from the start.

Also, when you want to switch worlds, sometimes it doesn't happen. I examined this further and realized it was because I was overlapped with a block in the opposite world, preventing the world transition. I totally understand this now, but there needs to be some kind of cue indicating that I cannot switch into the other world on a block overlap. Maybe a sound effect could make a good cue for that.

Overall, awesome game, even if it's unfinished. Making this game further would make it even more awesome.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:30am

I love the graphics, I miss only some music. Good job, the controls are incredible. :)

Fazz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Loved the graphics and the screen tilt. Controls felt very natural. You should develop this post-comp!

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Ah, you are the one getting distracted by particle effects. In fact they are so overdone, I could barely see the actual fireball. Nice rendering engine and smooth controls, but lacking gameplay.

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Looked absolutely gorgeous!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:10am

For your information: this game does *not* run under wine on Ubuntu. Too bad, it seems like it could be easily compiled for linux too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]